1996 Vauxhall Calibra Reviews

1996 Vauxhall Calibra 2.0 XEV from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 XEV Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance124000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Calibra

Summary:

For the money you would be hard pushed to find a better car

Faults:

Gear box failure at 124.000 miles.

Rev limiter comes in at 4500 rpm for some reason.

General Comments:

My third Calibra, the others being a 2.5 and a C20 LET.

Handles great on low profile 17"

They still look good! Even now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2008

15th Jun 2009, 10:25

The limiter came it at 4500rpm because it was in limp home mode. The ECU detects a fault and won't give you full power so you don't do more damage.

1996 Vauxhall Calibra 16v 16v ecotec from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 16v ecotec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

Looks good, sounds good, and poke it and it will go like the clappers!

Faults:

Lambda sensor which to be honest was wrong with the car when I bought it (the bloke said it was a minor fault) £80.

When I MOT'd it the 'ABS lamp did not illuminate' it was just bulb though (although in fixing it I broke my speedo)

If anyone else has had problems with these please comment.

General Comments:

It looks pretty damn good considering it's a Cavalier underneath.

130 mph... enough said.

It's not that common.

Most major problems are fixed under warranty (so I didn't have to worry)

It's 12 years old and no rust!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2008

1996 Vauxhall Calibra 2ltr 16v Ecotec Auto 2Ltr from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2Ltr Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles

Summary:

Lovely mid table great looking car

Faults:

The car had the normal problem of running lovely until warm and then cutting out. I had it on an independent machine which showed no problems so ultimately took it to Vauxhall main dealer. After paying £500 it was returned to me, but after a few days it started again. Changed ICU and airflow meter and cam belt sensor to no avail, then quite by chance found that a rubber air hose under the ICU was perished. When cold it worked correctly, but once it had warmed up it was causing a massive air leak which would not be detected by the ECU. Replaced at the cost of £5 and the car now runs absolutely perfectly. Hope this helps someone spending money that is not required.

General Comments:

This car has never let me down other than above now runs perfectly.

Super performance and good fuel consumption.

Handles superbly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2006

1996 Vauxhall Calibra 16v ecotec 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Great car, but very unreliable

Faults:

I had two petrol leaks due to hoses breaking.

Plastic bottles on the side of the radiator cracked and leaked.

The gear box leaked all it's oil out, but it was spotted before to much damage occurred.

Water pump fell apart which caused the timing belt to slip, I was lucky the engine wasn't damage. I was told that the pistons were touching the valves.

The crank shaft sensor went and now the oxygen sensor is gone.

The cat converter burned up and fell apart which clogged the exhaust. So I had to replace the exhaust and cat. Expensive.

Brake were very poor so I replaced the pads and disks which made a difference, but not as much as I would have liked.

I constantly have problem with the car cutting out when idling. I get it fixed, but it starts doing it again after a month or two.

The key got stuck in the ignition which stop me for being able to start it. I had a job taking it out, when I did I took it to a lock smith they didn't do a good job cause it happened again two months later.

The electric problems never end, i.e. electric windows, central locking, heating fan inside the car, lights on the dash board, indicator and the head lights.

General Comments:

Even though I had a lot of problems with my car, I love the car it's great looking, fast and the leather inside makes it look more expensive than it is. I get a lot of interest from people because of the car. If you are thinking of getting one it would be more suitable to someone who knows a lot about fixing cars, most of my problems I fixed my self, other wise the car could cost you a small fortune.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

12th May 2006, 17:07

Hi!I think you are very anlucky person or maybe you both your Calibra for very cheap. I got mine from 1995 for about 2 years and I replaced the back box, the luggage compartment bulb,3 bulbs from the instrument board, I did all the services (oil and filters) and I replace the wheels for 17".I like to drive faster and I do not complain about the brakes. I Wish you a good luck for the future with your MACHINE.

6th Jan 2007, 16:10

For any help with Calibra problems, you could try www.clubcalibra.com. They have a lot of answers to problems.

3rd May 2007, 12:26

I own a 2.0 16v auto. The car has been brilliant with me. The sports button proves to be a lot of fun... and the kickdown one to! Maybe your car (if it had a previous owner) was abused. Overall, their mint cars and catch peoples eye. I would keep a hold of your Calibra mate, they will be worth a bob or two in the future!

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews