1996 Vauxhall Calibra 16v Ecotec 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Bargain basement performer


1) Camshaft sensor

2) Water pump

3) Engine cut out after it warmed up and stopped at junctions - but fixed its self

4) £60 for a heated wing mirror glass when someone broke it. OUCH.

General Comments:

Excellent car very comfortable if your in the front not to sure about the back seats due to head room.

Reasonably quick on the road, I find the handling very good for a car of this size.

Fuel economy is great from the ecotec engine for a car if its size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2003

1996 Vauxhall Calibra ECOTEC 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland


A powerful and eye-catching car


Cam belt was due for a change, a process which cost nearly three hundred quid once they had changed the jockey wheels it runs on.

General Comments:

It is a very comfortable car as well as deceptively spacious.

It is very impressive at high speeds - 100mph at 4,000 rpm, accelerating to 120mph in seconds from that speed.

It could do with being less combursome at slower speeds - the clutch is a nightmare to engage on cold mornings from a standing start.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

1996 Vauxhall Calibra V6 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland


A surprising stylish car that goes well from Vauxhall


Cam shaft sensor went and it cost £170.

General Comments:

Nice smooth toque curve and the kickdown is great. Go for the cream leather seats as they are a lot better.

Avoid the Turbo as it has lots of problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

1996 Vauxhall Calibra V6 3.0 V6 from UK and Ireland


Fairly good performance, let down by unreliability


Practically everything that is mega expensive :-

Both front lower arm bushes £145.00 each.

Traction control actuator @ £600.00.

Alternator £250.

Air conditioning compressor £1000.

New alloy wheel???!?! £140.

Air con water leak £350.

Exhaust £300.

Oil Cooler £300.

Expansion tank £35.

Hand brake welding failed £200.

The list goes on and on...

General Comments:

Despite this car having relatively good handling, performance and fuel economy, the same cannot be said for reliability.

It seems such a pity that a car with such great looks should be condemned to a reputation of persistent faults and dealers who simply just don't understand the simple mechanics of these vehicles. For example in the case of the air conditioning compressor this is a problem which doesn't appear to affect the Calibra. A colleague of mine has an X reg Vectra which has developed the self same "rattle of death". Needless to say he won't be paying the £1000 bill. To sum up, if you must insist on a Calibra, consider purchasing a third-party warranty!

This will definitely be my last Vauxhall car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th January, 2002

28th Apr 2004, 08:49

£145 for lower arm bushes???!!! You can buy new arms with all new bushes & bottom ball joint in for about £40 a side.

28th Nov 2004, 10:54

I am sure that he placed the cost of 140.00 per side including the labour from a main dealer and not just the parts on their own!

If you look at the entire list they must be including labour!!!

27th Jun 2005, 16:25

Looks like you got hold of a bad example, I have a 1994 v6 manual and have had almost no bother with it at all, a few minor niggles that were easily sorted, but then again I have had the car from its Fourth year and the previous owner took the same care of it as I do, when you service a car regularly you will avoid big surprises. I have a Remus full stainless system, OZ 17" wheels, and a Pi lowering kit fitted.

26th Jan 2006, 08:35

Yep that £140 for the bushes seem steep even including labour. The front wishbone complete is £23 from a motor factor and takes about 15 minutes a side to fit. Someone ripped you off mate.

1996 Vauxhall Calibra 16V 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


Fast, comfortable and looks the part


Crankshaft sensor failed twice.

Rear boot catch need tightening (noisy).

General Comments:

1) I'll miss it greatly.

2) I guess I'm a bad driver because I don't complain about the handling - I have never thrown another car so hard into corners so safely - it eats it up - must be a moan from rear wheel drive fans?

3) Great comfort on the motorway all day.

4) 8 seconds to 60 puts most new cars behind it.

5) Why are they making an Astra version?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2000