1996 Vauxhall Calibra Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1996 Vauxhall Calibra 16V Ecotec 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Not one of Vauxhall's best

Faults:

Central deadlocking failed after approx 6 months, but fixed under warranty.

Problems with stalling at idle (especially when engine warmed up). Idle control valve cleaned and then modified before being replaced under warranty.

Repeated stalling problems so idle valve adjusted, I believe.

Brake wear indicator problems, fixed under warranty.

Excessive oil consumption.

Alarm faulty and untrustworthy.

Most recent service 61000 miles including:

New cam belt and rollers.

Replacement of rear brake pads.

Front suspension bushes? (Total beginner when it comes to these kind of things).

All in all a two page list totaling nearly £750.

Return of the stalling problem I had earlier.

And also various minor and wear and tear problems.

General Comments:

The car is not as quick as I first imagined and the performance does not match it's stunning looks.

Numerous garage visits in the 3 years I have owned it, but I was highly impressed with the after sales service.

All in all it is a pity the car has not met the quality of the dealer I purchased it from and I regret buying it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2004

19th Sep 2004, 08:34

Hi there.

I have a calibra 2.0 16v 1997 model and I bought it for £2.000 pounds, so far no problems apart from alarm that was not working when I got it from the garage, they told me that it could be a fault code in the ECU or Engine Manigment system.

Anyway I know that it is running fine as I have just been to skegness and opened it up a bit on the M180, I'm pleased with this car I can say, if you know why this alarm may not be working please could you help me try and fix the problem thanks for reading this, TO FINNISH, CALIBRAS ARE FANTASTIC CARS THAT IS WHEN THEY DRIVE OK.

22nd Sep 2004, 08:44

Hi, the 97 16 valve Calibra that I own seemed to be a bit breathless above 5000rpm. Unlike the old red top engine, the Ecotec produces more low down torque, but less wallop. I found it makes a lot of difference by doing the following mods.

Full Janspeed exhaust.

K/N filter with a good large dose of ram air.

Shell Optimax fuel.

I now have more whack and wallop through the rev range up to 6000rpm; enough to diss V6 Calibras, Cavs and Vectras, and it will find the rev limiter in top gear. All this cost under 400 quid.

So get on with it.

Regards Calman.

1996 Vauxhall Calibra 16v 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired78000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 306

Faults:

Clutch went at 85,000.

Head gasket went at 87,000.

Tires are scrubbing out at three or four month intervals!

General Comments:

The car looks great and has a great balance of speed and style for the money it owes me, if anyone has any ideas on how I can stop my tires scrubbing out then please speak up, the car is lowered, but surely these companies wouldn't sell lowering springs if they're going to wreck your tires?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2003

12th Dec 2003, 05:42

The problem you have with your tires wearing out is due to camber problems. When you lower your car your camber angle changes. there is a camber adjustment kit for sale from regal that should sort this problem out for you. It costs £180 which may sound like a lot of money, but when you think of how many sets of tires it will save you it's worth every penny.

18th Aug 2004, 00:56

Just got hold of a calibra last week one major problem, it stalls sometimes when its at idle speed can anyone help, if you could pm me at the_celt_2002 on yahoo messenger,

Cheers.

10th Oct 2004, 14:25

If your car keeps cutting out at idle or on start up, then try cleaning your carb out, fuel regulator and air intake system which will cost you (DIY) £10 for chemicals, marks out out 10 for doing the job 10 being the hardest I would say 4 and that should sort your problem.

20th Mar 2005, 15:35

I have had my calibra lowered 40mm and never had a problem with scrubbing tyres! It may be that if the wheels are a different offset? Also, I assume you have got the tracking checked out? And in response to the stalling problem, its more than likely the airflow mass meter, if an ECU light has lit up, take to Vauxhall to sort. That's one of the few sensors that will cause that.

13th Feb 2009, 09:47

Hi to all, I have a 95 Calibra 2.0 16v ecotec. The problem I`m having is that my tyres, front and rear, are scrubbing out on the inside edge, apart from the n/s/f tyre, which is even wear.

The car was fine when I bought it a few years ago. I`ve replaced the wishbones, rear shocks, drop links, rear arm bushes, and track rod ends. Also, when driving, whilst holding the steering wheel the car drives straight, if you let go of the steering wheel the car will pull to the left.

Any advice or help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

1st May 2010, 12:43

I have a Vauxhall Calibra 2.0 16v. When I put an induction kit on it, it keeps cutting out and I'm not sure why. Anyone got any idea why?

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 15 reviews