1993 Vauxhall Carlton Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1993 Vauxhall Carlton diplomat 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 miles
Most recent distance128688 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

Cheap, but very very cheerful

Faults:

Fuel tank leaks if I fill it up. so three quarters full maximum.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car on long journeys. Drives really well. About 32 mpg which I am happy with for such a large car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2004

1993 Vauxhall Carlton GLi 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

Superb car, great value for money!

Faults:

No faults.

General Comments:

Great car, I always wanted a carlton. I found one with low mileage - only 62,000 miles on a ten year old car!

Looks great, nice sleek lines, also handles great. Performance good too, 0-60mph in only 9 seconds, top speed 125mph.

Fuel consumption can be a little high, but its only a 2.0 litre, and can get nearly 40mpg on a long run. It does not like stop/start driving in cities! Its more a cruiser.

Great value for money - I only paid £600 for mine, and it cost nearly £20,000 new!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2003

1993 Vauxhall Carlton CDX 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance434000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Starship enterprise on wheels! Would take you to the moon and back!

Faults:

Incredible car, I am determined to see half a million on the clock and so far there's no signs of it not doing so! Drives beautifully. The only faults I've had are (besides usual wear and tear items) were a new alternator, new water pump, new handbrake cable and a hazard light switch!

General Comments:

Smooth and comfortable cruiser, engine whispers along like it doesn't want to be switched off. Lacks the prestige and image of modern cars, but this car has a character you will adore. Always liked them since I stepped into a few taxis and realised they were probably vauxhalls best. Would happily buy another if they still were made, though expecting to keep this one for a lot longer!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

1993 Vauxhall Carlton CDi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired93700 miles
Most recent distance93880 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 115 SD

Summary:

Great car, but watch out for those chassis rails!

Faults:

Alternator at 180 miles.

Alternator fly lead caused the death of said alternator.

Rear lock servos work when they want to.

General poor build quality.

O/S/F chassis leg corroded.

General Comments:

If you want know what a £30,000 car drives like! Buy a £1500 Carlton!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2001

21st Jun 2001, 14:56

After the few problems I had to begin with, the Carlton has just completed 7,500 trouble free miles returning 35-40 miles per gallon. The Carlton is everything I hoped it would be and more.

1993 Vauxhall Carlton Lotus 3.6 twin turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.6 twin turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance71000 miles
Previous carCaterham Seven

Summary:

Great car if it's running right

Faults:

Misfire (ignition leads).

Misfire (spark plugs).

Water pump failure.

Battery failure.

Aircon refill.

Tiny spots of rust where there wouldn't be on a Porsche.

Lots of expensive preventative maintenance: new cam chain, new clutch, new brake pads, very regular servicing.

General Comments:

Great car when they're running properly, but prone to usual turbo/performance car problems (misfires, clutch faults etc).

Only 13 dealers in the UK can service them, and 60 quid an hour is the norm. There are a number of parts that can no longer be supplied.

Performance is good as the Lotus Carlton legend dictates, with little turbo lag from the twin turbos. Feels sluggish at lower speeds, but really nails Imprezas etc above 120. A Lotus test driver got 187 from the standard car on a straight road (the 176 figure usually quoted was achieved on a bowl, albeit the large one at Nardo).

Very comfortable, but doesn't do corners all that well. Rolls a lot, but this makes it safer than you may expect in the wet. Think of it as a massively-quick tourer.

Attracts a certain amount of unnecessary attention from Boy Racers (especially Skyline owners for some reason!). The plod tend to follow you, but I haven't been pulled yet.

Oh yes, and the front end is a great big stone chip magnet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000

1993 Vauxhall Carlton GSi 24v 3.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance99000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Luxury, fast and good fun, and kills Fords at the lights

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong so far, but parts can be like rocking horse droppings to find. And somethings like exhaust pipes are very expensive and have to be made for the car to make it worth the while eg. standard tail pipe, £200 hand made, stainless steel one £150 and as the tail pipe rots every 3 years it's worth looking around.

General Comments:

The car is good fun to own and drive and I love it, it's the car I have always wanted to own since I was 18 and one dusted me at the lights when I was in my Renault 5 GT Turbo so they are quick cars, and not bad considering the GSi is nearly 2 ton in weight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2000

5th Feb 2001, 15:59

I have just acquired a Vauxhall Carlton GSI 3.0, I've always wanted this car and it took me a long time to find one, but I'm pleased with it, a lot of car for a small layout.

I bought the car, a '91 J reg, digital dash, fully loaded - a lot of car. Seeing it cost over £24,000 new, I'm very pleased.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 13 reviews