1993 Vauxhall Carlton Diplomat 2.0i from UK and Ireland


Wish they made the same car today


2 timing belts snapped. But just put another one on - very solid engine 8v.

Fuel tanks - 2 rusted throught, common problem.

Rust in general, doors, around engine.

Lights on dash.

Electric rear window motors.

General Comments:

Watch out for back end spinning out on roundabouts with rear wheel drive.

If they made the dashboard exciting on later levels it would have been a mint car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2005

1993 Vauxhall Carlton Diplomat 2.6i from UK and Ireland


A lot of motor for the money


The air conditioning has not worked since I bought her, but, living north of the border, that is no great problem.

Brakes wobble a bit and squeal when they get too hot. They have yet to fade though.

Apart from that, save for the money spent on mot items, nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This car is an absolute gem!

The six cylinder engine is smooth and has enough grunt to entertain.

When I add helium to my right boot the fuel returns are impressive for a big auto (30-40 miles per gallon).

However, when I have the red mist or do town miles this can fall sharply (17-22 miles per gallon).

Top speed so far (on a private road, obviously) is 135 but it was still eager.

The original alloys are back on and a black leather interior has replaced the velour that was in there when I bought it.

Just need to plumb in the playstation.

Shaping up nicely now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th August, 2004

1993 Vauxhall Carlton diplomat 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Cheap, but very very cheerful


Fuel tank leaks if I fill it up. so three quarters full maximum.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car on long journeys. Drives really well. About 32 mpg which I am happy with for such a large car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2004

1993 Vauxhall Carlton GLi 2.0i from UK and Ireland


Superb car, great value for money!


No faults.

General Comments:

Great car, I always wanted a carlton. I found one with low mileage - only 62,000 miles on a ten year old car!

Looks great, nice sleek lines, also handles great. Performance good too, 0-60mph in only 9 seconds, top speed 125mph.

Fuel consumption can be a little high, but its only a 2.0 litre, and can get nearly 40mpg on a long run. It does not like stop/start driving in cities! Its more a cruiser.

Great value for money - I only paid £600 for mine, and it cost nearly £20,000 new!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2003

1993 Vauxhall Carlton CDX 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Starship enterprise on wheels! Would take you to the moon and back!


Incredible car, I am determined to see half a million on the clock and so far there's no signs of it not doing so! Drives beautifully. The only faults I've had are (besides usual wear and tear items) were a new alternator, new water pump, new handbrake cable and a hazard light switch!

General Comments:

Smooth and comfortable cruiser, engine whispers along like it doesn't want to be switched off. Lacks the prestige and image of modern cars, but this car has a character you will adore. Always liked them since I stepped into a few taxis and realised they were probably vauxhalls best. Would happily buy another if they still were made, though expecting to keep this one for a lot longer!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

1993 Vauxhall Carlton CDi 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Great car, but watch out for those chassis rails!


Alternator at 180 miles.

Alternator fly lead caused the death of said alternator.

Rear lock servos work when they want to.

General poor build quality.

O/S/F chassis leg corroded.

General Comments:

If you want know what a £30,000 car drives like! Buy a £1500 Carlton!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2001

21st Jun 2001, 14:56

After the few problems I had to begin with, the Carlton has just completed 7,500 trouble free miles returning 35-40 miles per gallon. The Carlton is everything I hoped it would be and more.

1993 Vauxhall Carlton Lotus 3.6 twin turbo from UK and Ireland


Great car if it's running right


Misfire (ignition leads).

Misfire (spark plugs).

Water pump failure.

Battery failure.

Aircon refill.

Tiny spots of rust where there wouldn't be on a Porsche.

Lots of expensive preventative maintenance: new cam chain, new clutch, new brake pads, very regular servicing.

General Comments:

Great car when they're running properly, but prone to usual turbo/performance car problems (misfires, clutch faults etc).

Only 13 dealers in the UK can service them, and 60 quid an hour is the norm. There are a number of parts that can no longer be supplied.

Performance is good as the Lotus Carlton legend dictates, with little turbo lag from the twin turbos. Feels sluggish at lower speeds, but really nails Imprezas etc above 120. A Lotus test driver got 187 from the standard car on a straight road (the 176 figure usually quoted was achieved on a bowl, albeit the large one at Nardo).

Very comfortable, but doesn't do corners all that well. Rolls a lot, but this makes it safer than you may expect in the wet. Think of it as a massively-quick tourer.

Attracts a certain amount of unnecessary attention from Boy Racers (especially Skyline owners for some reason!). The plod tend to follow you, but I haven't been pulled yet.

Oh yes, and the front end is a great big stone chip magnet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2000