1993 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 12 of 13

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier LSi 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carpeugeot 205 DSL

Summary:

A great family saloon!!!

Faults:

Radiator.

Dash bulbs, touch wood nothing else.

Oh, just a few small rust spots above the front screen.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, great on motorway.

Couldn't get another car for the money I paid anywhere near this condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2000

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier 4x4 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 205 GTi

Summary:

Nice car

Faults:

Water pipe split, trouble with the ABS, not much else really.

General Comments:

Good all round car, with the comforts to match, it's also pretty good on petrol considering the car is capable of 150mph and does the 0-60 in 6.8 sec's, so my advice to anyone who reads this is make sure the 4x4 system is working OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st August, 2000

18th Apr 2005, 16:05

I have recently bought a cavvy turbo which is completely standard no mods at all and I have achieved a speed of 150 mph no problem at all. also a 0-60 time of 7 seconds with a car full of passengers.

These are real performance cars any cavalier enthusiast with the the need for speed should own one.

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 16v 2.0 16v C20XE from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v C20XE Don't Know
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier SRi

Summary:

Provided the weaknesses dealt with, nowadays a real high performance bargain

Faults:

Radiator and power steering rack replaced under Network Q warranty.

Cylinder head replaced at 80,000 miles - letting oil into cooling water.

Steering rack again at 82,000 miles.

General Comments:

Bodywork much better than previous Cavalier. Weakpoints obviously cylinder head and power steering rack. A real pleasure to drive, brilliant for overtaking and motorway driving, whilst still quite at home in town.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2000

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier LS 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta XR2

Summary:

Best car I ever bought

Faults:

Nothing to date.

General Comments:

A very comfy and reliable car. Full electrics and full leather make for a very enjoyable drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2000

21st Sep 2001, 10:15

Full leather and full electrics, sounds great, lucky you. I'm looking for one like that with fairly low mileage, but I must have leather cause its such a luxury.

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier Diplomat 2.0i 8V from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0i 8V
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10

Faults:

Only minor thing's, bulbs etc. Have covered over 100,000 miles and has never let me down. Very economical to run for a 2 litre car.

General Comments:

The best car I have owned with excellent spec including leather and air con. Good handling and nice to drive although I am told it is not that comfortable travelling in the rear. Not a slow performer and great on motorways. Easily capable of burning off your average 'boy racer' and with a bit more refinement. Good quality original audio system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2000

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier LS 1.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

None, I have owned this car for the last two years since I passed my test and my father owned it before me.

General Comments:

A cheap to run car that looks newer than it is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2000

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 16v 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Water pump gave up the ghost. Generally very reliable for a car that's done 80k.

General Comments:

Very rapid, and esp. suited to A-roads, can be a bit of handful on country lanes. Ride is hard, but not hard enough for a sports model. Has the 148bhp lump, which has more omph than later models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 1999

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 16v 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

New front brakes, new oxygen sensor (replaced under warranty), starter relay failed so had to have a new starter motor because it was trying to start itself while it was running.

General Comments:

A great all round car, the engine is absolutely fantastic, it's got loads of torque, loads of power, and goes on forever - mines done 90K now and it's only just starting to loosen up.

They're really easy to work on, and because I keep going to the same Vauxhall dealer I get everything cheaper than trade price, it costs me less than 30ukp for all the servicing stuff. Can't give the car enough praise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 1999

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 16v 2.0 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Bought the car in June '97. Exhaust tailpipe and centre section needed replacing. New front discs and pads required. New timing belt. Engine had bad oil leak which turned out to be a faulty oil seal. Wiring problems - wires were short-circuiting in the engine compartment. New tyres required. Have spent nearly 1000 UKP on this car so far.

General Comments:

The 1993 SRi has the pre-ECOTEC engine and is a stormer. 150bhp, 0-60 in 7.5 seconds. Pulls very strongly from low revs and has excellent fuel economy. Also has a sports-ratio gearbox which makes it fantastic at overtaking from 50-80mph.

Downside is the handling. It is too softly sprung, despite having sports suspension. Rather twitchy on country roads - more suited to fast A roads and motorways. Also the ride is very harsh which causes various parts of the interior to rattle. Good looking car with extended sills and 'fan' alloy wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 1999

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 50 reviews