1993 Vauxhall Cavalier Reviews - Page 5 of 13

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier GLS 1.7 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.7 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Very nice car, extremely reliable and very economical

Faults:

Needed a new alternator after 170,000 miles of having the car, cost me £70.00

A water pump with the alternator, cost me £40.00

Some new tires every 30,000 miles.

General Comments:

After 100,000 miles of driving the car, that's all I had go wrong with it.

It isn't to slow for a 1.7 Turbo Diesel, I had about 122MPH out of her.

Lovely car to drive and very smooth

A bit noisy in the mornings, but that's expected from a Diesel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2004

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier SRi 2.0L 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L 8v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

A great cheap fun family car.

Faults:

My cavalier has been really reliable, on a few minor faults:

Front Wheel baring.

Roll bar mounting snapped.

Radiator fan jammed and started smoking.

General Comments:

My Cavalier is a serious fun family car to drive, that combines space and practicality with a bit of grin factor.

The engine performance is quite rapid although a little harsh on the ears when you push the rev range. I have cained my boy racers in the fiestas escorts and 306's. Don't pick on escort turbo's though.

Taking corners is great fun, but it can eat tyres if you drive it like a hooligan. My wife once blitzed a set of Pirelli tyres in just over four thousand miles. Latest set of Good Year have lasted 14,000 miles.

The front seats are slightly sporty which is grate for me as I sometime get back ache from other car seats.

This current car is a replacement for a previous SRi that was stolen. I could not find a better replacement in any other marc that combines low running costs, cheap repairs and warm hatch performance. I'm now looking to upgrade again, but finding it really hard to find a up to date successor to my beloved Vauxhall Cavalier Sri.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2004

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier 4x4 Turbo 2.0 16v turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10900 miles
Most recent distance11700 miles
Previous carPeugeot 309

Summary:

I waited for 12 years to buy one!

Faults:

Blew head gasket & split cylinder head.

N/S/F ABS sensor failed.

Brake servo burst.

Transfer box failed at 117000.

Retains 22mpg on a good day.

General Comments:

Who cares about the above... It does 155mph+, 0-60 in under 6 seconds and has 250bhp+. Where else can so much speed, comfort and power be had for so cheap and yet remain as nondescript as a 1990 1.6 saloon. Its the ultimate wolf in sheep's clothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st February, 2004

8th Mar 2006, 08:16

Sounds nice, I'm sure it would do 60 in under 6 seconds and has 250 bhp. Their also a lovely looking car. But standard one is 204 bhp is'nt it, not sure about 0-60.

25th May 2006, 03:26

If you've tuned it 250BHP is possible. But it would need serious work to get the 0-60 time down to under 6 seconds.

25th May 2006, 09:15

The transmission fails on these with the standard 204 bhp, so I would start praying if I were you.

The Vauxhall 4wd system is specifically excluded from the RAC's used car warranties. I believe it's the only manufacturer specific exclusion in the whole warranty which says it all really.

1993 Vauxhall Cavalier LSi 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles

Summary:

Cheap, reliable, comfortable, great car!

Faults:

Brakes needed replacing at 100 thousand miles, which was done (not particularly expensive, can't remember exact cost) - and the very next day, at 50mph, the brakes failed. This was found to be a problem with the garage rather than the car, I went back to a different garage the next day who said the brakes had been overtightened, so were rubbing (although not quite enough to be noticeable), and eventually got so hot that the brake fluid boiled, and pressure in the hydraulic system was lost. After having replaced a second time, by a competent garage, have had 8 thousand miles of trouble free stopping!.

Dashboard lights blow constantly, gave up replacing them.

Sports mode transmission light occasionally flashes intermittently on dash, which apparently indicates electrical transmission fault. The gears will not change automatically when this happens. They do however still function perfectly if changed manually, so gearbox appears to be mechanically sound. Switching off the engine and turning back on seems to rectify problem. Seems more common when engine is cold.

Drivers side electric window sticks at halfway mark, will eventually move when pushed!. This can be sorted simply by lubricating rubber seals surrounding window.

Fuel gage is about as honest as a politicians tax returns.

General Comments:

This car has been generally very sound, it may not be the best looking car on earth, it may handle like a blancmange, but I would struggle to find any other faults.

It is a very comfortable car with buckets of space. The back seats drop down to reveal the boot, which; when coupled with a duvet or two; makes a very effective mobile hotel for you and your girlfriend! :) Even at 6ft2 I find myself with far more space than I could ever require.

The car is adequately fast, although never much fun. 0-60 in about 12 seconds. The only reason I'm selling this car is because I've been seduced by the 2.5 liter V6 diplomat!.

The ride feels safe, secure and confident. Miles just melt away on the motorways, feels comfortable at 115, will do 130 if pushed. Allegedly.

I think for the 900 pounds I payed I would struggle to find a car half as reliable as my cavalier, apart from a few niggling problems like dash lights not working, the car has never been problematic. At 108 thousand miles; it has never broken down. If amazing reliability, low running costs, motorway mile munching and masses of space are what you want; you want a vauxhall cavalier!.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2003

29th Oct 2005, 08:36

The reason your transmission light comes on is down to the ECU, it's probably faulty. If you replace it, it'll reove the problem. Or try disconnecting the battery for half an hour to 'reset' the ECU. Make sure you have the code for the radio :)

9th Nov 2008, 00:10

My 1.8 Automatic (1994) will be lucky if it sees 110 MPH and that's downhill with the wind from behind!

It's 14 years old though, so I just stick to cruising along between 70 and 80, much smoother and the car will do that all day long. Vauxhall auto boxes are very reliable - made in Japan. Try a Ford Mondeo (93 - 00) automatic - they are the worst on the market - VERY unreliable (CD4E Transmission) - I've had one of these as well on a 2.5L 1999 Mondeo, got rid of it when box failed and was going to cost a second mortgage to replace.

I drive my old Cav as a runabout and love it to pieces, it's a great old car. Vauxhall 10/10, Ford 5/10

But, there is no way on earth the 1.8 8v will do 130 with the Auto transmission!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 50 reviews