1994 Vauxhall Corsa Merit 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good first or second car, but definitely not for the over 25's

Faults:

Wheel balancing and alignment. Fault manifested itself in shaking steering wheel above 65 MPH.

New bushes and hub.

When the engine is cold it takes longer than it should for the auto gear box to select second gear.

Window seals poor. In rainy weather and with passengers, it's always misting up.

General Comments:

Not a scrap of rust on the car; even the wheel arches.

However the auto gear box gives very little control over the car, especially on declines. Thus, you're driving on the brakes which of course, wears them out quickly. Plus the brakes seem a little 'skinny' to me.

Pleasant drive on the motorway and can cruise at 80 MPH easily. London driving a little more arduous, though it does have a 'nippy' engine.

The interior is laughably poor. No clock or rev counter. No back speakers, but plenty of flimsy plastic. Certainly no good for impressing the ladies.

Overall, you get what you see. A reliable, unremarkable run around that is economical on repairs and fuel, but doesn't handle as well as its Japanese counterparts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th July, 2005

6th Nov 2007, 04:40

I agree.

Although mine has done very little miles (13, 000 when I bought it not even 6 months ago) there seems to be a fault with the steering-very shaky when reached 70 mph, accompanied by a worrying engine sound.

May have something to do with the wheels, I think they need balancing, or maybe the fact that it only has 4 gears?

1994 Vauxhall Corsa LS 1.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Its fast off a cliff!

Faults:

It's a dog. endless problems with it. rocker gasket got a leak at 55k.

Drivers seat worn.

Tape deck poor quality.

General Comments:

For a car this size the fuel consumption is terrible. I get no more than 30 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2005

5th Jul 2005, 11:58

With the amount of wear on the driver's seat and engine problems, perhaps the vehicle has been clocked at some point in its life... Either that or driven very badly indeed by someone who shuffles about a lot??!

I certainly wouldn't expect gaskets to start blowing on a well driven car with a modern engine (where engineering tolerances are tight) at such a low mileage. I reckon it's likely the car has been driven 150 to 200K, and badly at that.

1994 Vauxhall Corsa LS 1.4 injection from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A good run about

Faults:

The head gasket had gone at 96,000 miles and was repaired.

Sump gasket started leaking, but wasn't too bad.

Rust started appearing on the bottom of the front doors, under the boot lock and just above the windscreen.

Spoiler on the boot started peeling.

At 100,000 miles the sump gasket needed replacing.

The fabric on the seats appeared to be stretched.

Plastic wheel arches faded.

Windscreen wipers have a lot of play in them and tend to lift at about 50mph.

Motors in head lamps sometimes have a mind of their own.

General Comments:

This car is OK for driving around town, but when it comes to long distance driving can tend to be dozy as acceleration is slow.

The engine seems to be noisy if revved to high, which makes me a bit scared to touch the accelerator as there is no rev counter to assure me that I'm not revving the engine too high.

The car is fairly comfortable on both long and short distances.

The controls such as the ventilation controls aren't lit up which means if you don't know you way about the car, driving at night can be dangerous through fumbling trying to find them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2004

24th Feb 2005, 12:57

The heater panel should light up; if not the bulbs have gone behind the panel!

21st Aug 2007, 06:40

Hi, can I please just ask what LS means on the Corsa as I noticed yesterday that it says it on the door of mine! :) Thanks, Laura x.