2001 Vauxhall Corsa Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2001 Vauxhall Corsa Comfort 973 from UK and Ireland

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 973 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired33500 miles
Most recent distance35557 miles
Previous carRenault 10

Summary:

A good family car

Faults:

Had a gear leakage.

General Comments:

The car is very nippy in town, also no problem parking in small spaces.

I think that the radio feature should have a CD player. The stereo is good.

Also the rear boot should be a bit bigger, for the family shopping trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2005

2001 Vauxhall Corsa Comfort 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 Semi-Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Faults:

My easytronic gearbox is in need of a new clutch. A repair bill of £600 is estimated.

General Comments:

The car is 3 years old in September 2004,it has only covered 29,000 miles.

I have asked is this a common problem, no it is not.

I have asked whether 29,000 miles from a normal clutch is acceptable,no comment.

I have asked for some explanation about this premature failure. It is because I do a lot of town driving. I was not asked about my driving, just a guess.

Vauxhall have agreed to pay 30% towards the cost, as a good will gesture.

Has anyone else had this problem??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th August, 2004

2001 Vauxhall Corsa Club 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 600

Summary:

An economical, refined small car with sensible running costs.

Faults:

So far, nothing has gone wrong with the car.

The only minor problems I've had are cabin rattles on poor road surfaces and slightly disappointing fuel consumption on long journeys.

General Comments:

I read a review saying that the Corsa was for people who didn't really like driving. Having owned one for a year, I can say I enjoy driving a bit more now! The Corsa is easy to drive and own.

Considering all my previous cars have been 1.6 - 2.5 litres, the Corsa's 1200 c.c. engine has impressed me with its refinement at most speeds. It feels like a much bigger car when it's cruising along A roads, a feeling that fades on faster highways.

The gearbox is smooth and I particularly like the reverse gear selection collar that prevents accidental engagement of reverse.

The Corsa negotiates twisty country roads very well and irons out bumps and potholes surprisingly well.

I've driven long distances with no ill effects, the car cruising comfortably at anything up to 85 mph.

I've found the Corsa Club to average 35-40 mpg (but no better on long motorway journeys).

I've found the Corsa to be a generally quiet and economical performer unless being pushed hard, when both noise and fuel consumption rise fairly sharply.

The cabin, though cramped for rear passengers, is quite pleasant, if bland, and for a small hatchback the boot space is reasonable.

The standard radio-cassette and speakers are excellent.

The seats are very supportive, and better for long journeys than my previous car (Rover 600) which had far larger, but softer, seats.

The real advantage is running costs. I spend half as much on fuel and insurance as I did for my previous car.

I can also park the Corsa anywhere, even in busy town centres and cramped car parks.

Compared to previous cars I've owned, this car feels solid, safe and well built - despite its small size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2003

1st May 2005, 15:45

Update: I have now put on over 25,000 in the two years I have owned this car, with no particular problems. Fuel economy has remained around 40 mpg, somewhat disappointing for a small hatch. I am currently considering replacement with either a Honda Jazz or Toyota Yaris.

2001 Vauxhall Corsa Easytronic 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Not up to Vauxhall's usual standards

Faults:

We had a replacement clutch fitted at the first service - we were told that one factory-worker had been "over-greasing" the mechanism & many had gone back, although we hadn't had any re-call.

From the outset, the petrol consumption has been appalling - urban drive, 28mpg, average for a mixed drive 32mpg & maximum ever (200 miles at 50mph) has been 43mpg. We raised this at the first service, when my driving was checked, & at the second. No mechanical fault can be found & despite accurate records of fuel consumption from scratch, both the dealership & Vauxhall have washed their hands of it. Apparently, fuel consumption of over 25% extra to published guidelines isn't considered considerable. To add insult to injury, I've just been charged £34 for the check that the garage suggested. If there had been a fault, the guarantee would have covered it - but "there isn't one".

We loved our last Corsa - it was comfortable, reliable & economic. This one is costing us a fortune. I've checked the web and found other write-ups saying the same thing about the 1.6X.

General Comments:

How far off guidelines can fuel consumption figures vary, before the trade descriptions act comes in?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

3rd Sep 2004, 15:45

Had our SXi easytronic since new - now 3 years old with 51000 miles on. Brilliant car in black with irmscher kit & wheels. Absolutely no problems whatsoever & fuel consumption always 40+ mpg - I think you got a dud!

16th Sep 2004, 05:37

Purchased Corsa Cosmo in Belgium in Dec 2003, 1.2 litre engine, + easytronic. At first I loved it, good fuel consumption, and nifty transmission. After 4,000 Kms wheelarch trim came loose, replaced two plastic clips. At 6,000 Kms very annoying rattle from somewhere in instrument panel, so far dealer unable to locate. At 8,500 Kms complete transmission failure! With no warning the instrument panel simply displayed 'F' which inhibits starting and of course driving car to dealer. Although supposedly covered by full European warranty this happened in Ireland, and I will have to pay the 84 Euro recovery charge. It will be fixed under warranty, but I no longer trust this car now, which is a pity, as otherwise it is well made, quiet, comfortable especially with leather seats and full environmental control. As an engineer I am sympathetic, as the warranty is intended to cover the "infant mortality" failures which I hope is what this is, but my faith has certainly been shaken at this very early failure.

29th Nov 2004, 07:10

I added a comment before about my Opel Corsa with an "Easytronic" transmission which failed at around 8,500 Kms. The complete electronics package was replaced under the warranty, but sadly it has now failed again, this time after only about 500 kms, leaving my wife stranded once again. Yet again, the supposedly "Full European Opel breakdown service" was not available. As you can imagine, we no longer trust this car. As an engineer, I might accept one failure of an item which is supposed to last the life of the vehicle, but to have a second unit fail in such a short time seems to indicate a serious problem.

20th May 2006, 12:18

This also happened to me with my Corsa 1.2 at 100.000 km. Still waiting for the car to be fixed.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 18 reviews