2001 Vauxhall Corsa Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2001 Vauxhall Corsa SXi 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3300 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova

Summary:

A Superb budget pocket rocket

Faults:

'Knocking' coming from steering. After 3 visits to Vauxhall, they replaced the steering rack! (Bear in mind this car is only a year and a half old).

Noisy wiper blades - Bought replacements from Halfords, only to find you need different sizes for each blade.

Not as quick as my old Nova 1.3 SR, although makes up for it in every other aspect.

General Comments:

Even though the SXI is only a 1.2 16v, it is surprisingly quick.

The handling is sharp due to slightly firmer than average suspension and wider wheels.

Fuel economy is pretty good too.

Hats off the the people at Vauxhall who decided to make a 'budget' version of the SRI.

Seats have a sporty, but comfy feel to them, white dials and alloy effect gear lever and handbrake add to the effect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2003

2001 Vauxhall Corsa 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance500 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Rubbish

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, although it has struggled to start once, however, it is uncomfortable and the driving position is awful. The pedals are small and slippery. Visibility is fairly poor.

The car is only a 1 litre, but my old Micra was too and that had far more power. I have no confidence in the car, it has no power, I am not able to pull away fast in it at a traffic island like I could in my Micra.

Reliability wise, I drove it somewhere, it ran fine. I stopped the engine for about a minute, and it didn't want to restart. Well, why not? It is unpredictable and unreliable. It really is a terrible car. Stick to Nissan!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2001

3rd Aug 2003, 05:56

Maybe you should have stuck with a Micra.

The reason it won't pull away like the Micra is, have you felt the weight of the doors. The have side impact bars in them. I know which car I would rather be in in a crash... if any!

Tip: Try getting a 1.4 16V.

That might go.

2001 Vauxhall Corsa Comfort 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance5955 miles
Previous carFiat Cinquecento

Summary:

Excellent value, comfortable, small car

Faults:

Juddering windscreen wiper.

General Comments:

This is an excellent car to drive. It is very comfortable, especially on long journeys. I had the CD player, electric pack, ABS brakes, alarm and air conditioning fitted as extras and it has turned the daily commute into a much more pleasant experience.

The Easytronic gearbox is just the most amount of fun you can have in a car. Choosing between automatic transmission or semi-automatic transmission can be done on the fly. Automatic works well around town although it can take a while to select the correct gear after sudden deceleration. The semi-automatic mode is a joy to use and lets you get the very best out of the gearbox. In fully automatic mode I get around 50 miles to the gallon around town.

The only down side is that it is a little underpowered. I wish Vauxhall would provide the 1.4 with the Easytronic gearbox.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2001

10th Oct 2001, 12:07

I have had the same problem with the windscreen wipers. I just put on some different rubbers and it was sorted.

15th Oct 2005, 11:32

I also had the same problem when I first acquired my Corsa. New good quality arms and rubbers sorted the problem and wipers now operate silently.

2001 Vauxhall Corsa Comfort 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance1600 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Fantastic little silver car that is fun to drive and looks great too!

Faults:

Nothing as yet!

General Comments:

Very nippy in city traffic yet also holds her own on the motorway.

Value for money.

A CD player is a necessary extra!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2001

2001 Vauxhall Corsa SRi 1.4 unleaded from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.4 unleaded Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Quick all-rounder!

Faults:

Only major problem was that the motor on the wind-screen washers died within a month of ownership, though that was under warranty and was fixed at the main dealers, the day it happened.

Squeaky clutch after long journeys, this is quite annoying, even after internal lubrication from the dealers, this continued to happen.

General Comments:

Overall this is a comfortable, nippy car with a bright and fresh interior, probably the best layout in any small car.

Power is more than capable, even surprising when the seats are fully loaded, and even competing with the likes of some GTI's!

Though with slightly lowered suspension, the ride can be rough at times, apart from that and the few bad points, this is an great all rounder, that gets the job done quickly.

Ideal for new drivers as it has free insurance for the first year and has a reasonably low group (8).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2001

1st Jun 2001, 03:12

You will find that the insurance group is not 8, but a much better group 5 for the 1.4 SRi.

16th Aug 2001, 07:32

On mine, the break pedal squeaks, and the seat moves ever so slightly under breaking, making an audible clunk.

Took some effort to get the driving position comfortable, what with the different adjustments of seat position (forward/back, up/down, and back tilt) plus steering wheel up and down!

Apart from that, a nice little car!

17th Aug 2002, 09:23

The 2002 SXi 1.2i is only group 3 insurance.

14th May 2003, 10:01

I Work for Direct Line Insurance

The actual insurance group is 14 out of 100 which is rated dif to the ones you see in parkers guide.

1st Apr 2006, 20:44

Hi do you know the exact specs of the 1.8 sri by any chance? like the 0-60mph and topspeed many thanks.

2001 Vauxhall Corsa Comfort (Air Con) 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance3200 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

A great little car for the commuter!!

Faults:

The only little niggle with the car is a squeak from the driver's door when going over any slight bump in the road. I haven't as yet had a chance to take it to the dealer to get it rectified.

General Comments:

A great little car that handles well.

The interior is great with loads of gadgets.

The electric pack and compact disc player were options and well worth it.

Its just a little low on power but that's not a requirement on the jouney to work due to traffic.

Its only sips the petrol, I spend about £25 for 320 miles, not bad!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2001

2001 Vauxhall Corsa SXi 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance502 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Nippy little sports car for under nine grand

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

Great car, lots of power.

75bhp for 1.2 Corsa... same power as a 1.4 - Clio/106/206/Saxo/A2/Rover 214/Seat Ibiza/Polo.

Nice sports seats.

Lots of rear leg room.

Rear view mirror is a bit big.

2 weeks after getting the car Vauxhall dropped the price by £250... grrrr.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2001

29th May 2001, 13:39

I'd have to agree, the old style was bad at handling and didn't look that flash.

I have a feeling you've never driven the new model.

With the deals they have at the moment, you could trade in your brown lada... there is a light at the end of the tunnel!!!

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 18 reviews