2005 Vauxhall Corsa breeze Easytronic from UK and Ireland - Comments

31st Aug 2005, 02:10

I totally agree with the original reviewer.

I had a Corsa 1.0 Easytronic (with 7600 miles on the clock) as a courtesy car for two days and did around 150 miles of varied driving.

I can honestly say that the Easytronic gearbox was the worst gearbox I have ever used without any doubt whatsoever.

In auto mode, the car was painfully jerky changing up (so much so it hurt my neck). The jerking got worse as acceleration increased, so it was necessary to drive the car really slowly - dangerously slowly in fact.

Even changing down, the car jerked a little as you slowed to a stop.

So, the only reasonable way to drive the car is using the manual mode. Even this was difficult to drive smoothly, the changes up have to be carefully synchronised with a small drop off from the accelerator to avoid a jerk in the neck.

To be honest, if you can't drive it in auto mode at all, what's the point? If you can't use a clutch for any reason then just buy a proper automatic and avoid this Easytronic rubbish.

The car itself was also pretty bad, suffering from an unnerving amount of understeer and really poor driving position.

Avoid the Easytronic like the plague! I've driven an 1.8 Astra with a regular auto and that was fine, I suspect the normal Corsa auto makes much more sense if you really want a Corsa.

28th Sep 2005, 09:41

Well... I've just recently bought an Easytronic and I think it's great. Absolutely right... it's not a super smooth gear change (but I did take a test drive and knew exactly what I was buying), but I certainly haven't experienced the symptoms described above. It's fun to drive and great on fuel economy. If you want a super smooth ride - buy a fully automatic or a straightforward manual - easy really!!

14th Feb 2006, 16:15

Have just completed 1300 km around the Netherlands and Belgium in a hired Meriva 1.6 EasyTronic (with 21000km on the clock when I collected it) and I have to say the gearbox impressed me. None of the drag or woolly throttle response you usually get with autos, and gearchanges in both auto and manual modes were no more jerky than those of an average driver in a manual car.

If they could speed up the shifts slightly it would be nigh on perfect as autoboxes go. It's also ridiculously cheap for what it is.

25th Feb 2007, 10:41

Would not touch an Easytronic again with a barge pole! I had two near misses when pulling out of an opening, the Corsa Easytronic felt like it was taking off in second gear! I asked the salesman for an Automatic, I got a pretend car. Nothing was explained to me that the Easytronic was different to a regular automatic. I traded in a 2 litre engine car for a 1.2 Corsa Easytronic, boy did I get a big shock! After seven months of ownership, I have traded the Corsa in for an Astra 2004 1.6 8v Club full automatic. A dream to drive, very comfortable, no jerking or having to slow down to a crawl to get round a corner.

3rd Mar 2007, 03:15

Does anyone know of similar problems like the Easytronic equivalent on the Smartfor4? I also feel it was sold to me as a "pretend automatic" but that was never pointed out. It immobilises itself from time to time on start-up, and nobody, including Smart engineers, can explain why.

19th Mar 2007, 03:32

You say it demobilises itself - mine has started to do this and it refuses to change up from 2nd-3rd gear - the engine just revs away and the gear does not engage.

Any one have a clue as to why this is happening as the Vauxhall garage don't seem to understand why.

31st Aug 2007, 07:30

You can't be surprised of the car's performance if you change from a 2.0 to a 1.2 engine. You didn't try an Easytronic with a more powerful engine, which you were used to. The car isn't only the shift, and as the quality of the car, you changed the Corsa for an Astra so it seems you are satisfied with Vauxhall. The Easytronic has the advantages regarding traditional automatic transmissions, that in special situations you can use it manually, and that it has 5 speeds instead of 4 I've driven with traditional automatic transmissions, and the gears don't change when you expect them to, either, you have to drive in a different way and lose performance. ¿Why should Easytronic be expected as an automatic shift to give the driver the same response as if you were shifting gears manually?

10th Oct 2007, 09:05

2001 Vauxhall Corsa 1.2 with Easytronic transmission. The above car was purchased secondhand a month ago. It is an easy vehicle to drive and the drive-train does not display any problems such as jerkiness or early/late gear changes. Overall it seems to me that Easytronic transmission works well.

The vehicle has covered 52k so longtime durability has yet to be verified. I find the auto/manual function interesting and useful.

1st Nov 2007, 16:09

Help.

Sometimes won't pull away in auto or manual.

Sometimes slows down when accelerating.

Jerking.

Transmission fluid black?

Vauxhall dealer cannot find the fault. Thinks it might be the clutch. If so, £670+.

Can anyone help?

14th Nov 2007, 16:02

I recently purchased 1.6 Easytronic Astra.

The semi - auto gearbox is a bit strange at first. The auto is slightly jerky, but if you ease off accelerator at the right time it changes gear seamlessly.

The Easytronic gearbox in manual mode is a much better drive on main roads as you get a better response.

Occasionally when stuck in jams the LED screen for the gearbox flashes F (i assume this is for failure) and service issue light flashes temporarily. So far this error has gone away once I start to accelerate or place the gear into neutral.

Has anyone else had this issue and should I be worried.

G

28th Jan 2008, 10:52

I bought an Easytronic for my wife. She was used to a full automatic and the salesman I bought it from said don't worry you will get used to it. We have had the car 8 months; I have had the car back to the main dealer twice; both times it would not start and I had to get the AA to tow it back. They said it was the computer and charged me £196.00 the first time and £180.00 the second time. They said it is because you don't drive it so often. How can you when it will not start; it has a flashing F.

It's a nice looking car, but a real nightmare.

13th Apr 2008, 08:11

Well having read all the above comments re-easytronic Trans. I can honestly say that my wife's Opel Meriva 1.6 easytronic, has changed her life. she enjoys driving again as do I when I'm allowed to borrow it!

I have noticed that the gear-change, before the engine is up to temperature, can be a little more noticeable, but once warmed up it is nearly as smooth as my old 1977 Jaguar!

The comments made by other contributors suggest that it takes a little getting used to, I do agree there. This transmission doesn't like aggressive driving, but a more sedate and gentle approach is very rewarding. It is also very, very economical.

We bought the car last October on an '04 plate, and 59k miles on the clock. OK she doesn't use the car a great deal but it has been nothing but reliable.

Overall then, in my opinion, an interesting, and reliable alternative to the "luddite's" macho manual box, and the heavy old full on auto of yesteryear. I for one am impressed.