1999 Vauxhall Omega Reviews - Page 2 of 8

1999 Vauxhall Omega GLS 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

The four door muscle car

Faults:

The fuel gauge makes me vomit, but other than that nothing.

General Comments:

Bought the car in August 2006 and its just brilliant.

Great performance from the big v6.

Recently had an encounter with an integra type r when a boy racer tried to overtake. He must have had a 1.8 liter WOW RUN FOR COVER ;-) OK fair enough he could have had it chipped with a cold air intake and a go faster stripe, but I have 2.5 liters and 6 cylinders and that's um... eh.. MORE

Its even funnier with a civic :-}

However there is one huge problem. Every time I go to a garage for petrol I fell like I've been mugged.

I'm going to get a 3 liter next summer HE HE!!

PS. There is no replacement for cubic displacement.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2007

14th Jan 2007, 02:06

Even so, a Civic Type R is far quicker than a 2.5 and 3 litre Omega!

17th Jan 2007, 10:06

What about the 3.2 :)

31st Mar 2007, 16:51

I'm sorry, but I love the omega 3.0 mv6! my dad has one, but an integra type R or a civic type R would leave it for dust: (

11th Apr 2007, 19:36

Big engines - V8s and six cylinders - are the ticket for me personally, but the truth is 4 bangers can be more than capable. They are usually more highly tuned and power markedly lighter vehicles so their power-to-weight ratio is more favourable. I recall an American acquaintance being incredulous about my claim that certain four-cylinder powered cars could out accelerate a V8!

9th May 2007, 02:14

Some 4 cylinder cars can out run a v6 or v8. But if you can find anyone that's doesn't love the sound, the fell or the power of a big v6 or v8 I do not want to meet that person.

1999 Vauxhall Omega cd 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance95700 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Jeckyll and hyde

Faults:

No faults yet, not had car long.

General Comments:

Big comfy beast of a car. handles well for its size and weight. I love dashboard and cream leather upholstery. drives smoothly and quietly, but pulls like a train with that v6 growl if you want it to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2006

1999 Vauxhall Omega Elite 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carFiat Uno

Summary:

The Good, the Bad, and The Ugly all in one

Faults:

Oil leaks. Car was taken to a friend who is a specialist in these cars. When he slowly looked at me, I knew I was doomed. 'Why?' was his first word.

The standard fault was explained as a rocker cover gaskets leak, and is a design fault, so replaced these.. this lead to second fault.

Mis-fire... This was a fault on the leads, that are one offs for these cars ie:- only Vauxhall parts work best, at a huge cost for a lead set for both banks what a rip off!!! Got both fixed £400.00 thank you GM.

It's annoying that a manufacturer will make these, and yet is still unable to design them to repair at a cheap price or make them overcomplicated to repair.

2k miles later, the oil leak returns. Not a happy bunny. It turns out that it might be the oil cooler, but sadly not, it is a suspect head gasket out on to the side of the block. Has not affected the engine YET, but in the end has written off the car..

Total mileage 108k, FULL service history with GM.

All other parts working well, apart from the cruise control, where the connector to the accelerator is plastic. This has hardened and has broken, again poor design and poor choice of materials.

When asked how much to repair the head gasket, my friend just laughed and said go banger racing instead with the car.

General Comments:

It is a shame as the car is very rewarding to drive. It's just a shame that GM still make economic cuts just for the bottom line, and have no respect for the buying public.

PS noticed that a person said that Police were happy with these cars. They have no choice in the end. They drive what they are given and these cars are regularly checked, regardless of cost. Any car is going to be good with a blank cheque book to pay for repairs!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th August, 2006

4th Aug 2006, 16:22

It does sound as if you should have taken the specialist with you when you bought the car initially.

6th Aug 2006, 14:33

I would still question head gasket my friend, we have a website for omega owners and I have heard that the 2.5v6 very very rarely blows head gaskets, they blow rocker gaskets and oil coolers-oil goes into expansion tank NOT antifreeze mixing with the oil.

Double check my friend -garages don't know what they diagnose, i had the same symptoms.

7th Aug 2006, 15:44

I've been a HGV mechanic for 14 years, and seen a lot of head gaskets go and oil coolers, and agree with what you say. Oil in the expansion tank is most definitely the oil cooler. If the head had gone, it would pressurise the head tank throwing water out or drop water into the sump.

25th Nov 2006, 14:16

I just left comments on my omega v6 2.5 cd manual, but forgot to ask about a cambelt change. apparently a special tool is needed. I don't want to be stung by a main dealer. help please?

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 26 reviews