1999 Vauxhall Omega Reviews - Page 8 of 8

1999 Vauxhall Omega CDX 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carHonda Legend

Summary:

Not quite the best executive car, but certainly the best value for money

Faults:

Climate Control sensor failed at 28,000 miles. Cost was £700, but Vauxhall paid 70%.

Battery went flat very quickly even at 1 year old,. Replaced May 2002.

General Comments:

The car is smooth quiet and comfortable. I have taken it on long runs in Europe on three occasions and it has been perfect on Autoroutes, using Cruise Control much of the time. We went from Perpignan to St Malo, 750 miles at an average of 80 MPH and 30 MPG.

At the same time the car is nimble enough to cope with four weeks in the Pyrenees, with endless hairpin bends.

Fuel consumption according to the on-board computer is 24 locally, and 30 on a long fast journey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2002

6th Jul 2002, 05:38

Pity about its resale value though? As a Company car its £48 per week? Sold a T reg with 47000 miles got £4000.

1999 Vauxhall Omega Elite 3.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Nice car, shame about the ride

Faults:

Front driver's electric seat does not work.

Both front wish-bones replaced.

Both front disks and pads replaced.

Both front shock absorbers replaced.

Idle air flow value replaced.

General Comments:

All the new parts above have been replaced in an attempt to stop vibration through the driver's seat and steering wheel at motorway speeds.

Dealer is not able to cure the problem and even though there are four new types, tracking has been done as has the balance many times, and all of the above has been replaced, the vibration still exists.

If anyone has any suggestions then let me know.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2002

1st Mar 2002, 11:34

Why can't Vauxhall fix the problems with the front seats. I have read a lot of complaints on this site alone.

Paying this much money for a car, I would expect them to get the seats right,..at least.

1st Mar 2002, 15:37

Getting tracking done is a dodgy business. Most garages pretend to do the tracking, when they have not done anything. Make sure you actually witness any attempt made by a mechanic to change the tracking. I rememember driving many Vauxhalls in the past and the tracking used to mess up very easily.

Other than that, you can only try and replace the wheels - one of them may be buckled.

10th Jan 2005, 15:32

Hmmm - tracking, eh?

I got my first Omega about a year back; first "Quick Fit" centre I went to were very reluctant to look at it, citing all manner of excuses. Several other Centres were equally reticent.

Eventually took it to a well trusted and extremely competent mechanic at which point all became clear; his response was "I won't touch it - it'll take 2 hours to do, and still be as bad as before"...!

Suggest asking a Bona Fide Vauxhall dealer to do the job, bite the bullet on the bill, and trust in their integrity that they do a good and thorough job.

31st Mar 2005, 05:52

On my Omega V6 2.6 Auto 51 reg. with 76,000 miles (which I have had LPG converted) I have also has some front end vibration at 70mph. Wheel balancing helps, but I have worn two sets of front tyres down to the cords on the inside and am just about to get the front geometry checked by Vauxhall body shop. I will post results here.

Also worried by an automatic transmission problem. The car drives well out of town, but has jerky changes when just cruising in traffic. It also finds neutral on occasions which is a little worrying.

My rear offside door lock now fails to react to the key and refuses to unlock or lock. Any ideas please.?

Apart from these little niggles a first class car and with the LPG a very economic cruise to work and back (270 miles round trip)!!

1999 Vauxhall Omega CD Estate 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

A powerful, comfortable, load carrier and tow-car

Faults:

Clutch slave cylinder failed soon after purchase.

General Comments:

Very comfortable long distance tourer.

Plenty of power and torque for caravan towing.

Gear change notchy, especially between first and second.

Brakes felt rather spongy compared with my Carlton, but they are effective.

Roadholding surprisingly good for a large car.

No major problems so far, but I wonder whether the build quality is good enough considering the fairly complex design. Still, it's a lot of car at modest cost if purchased used.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2001

24th Oct 2001, 11:20

This car has a manual gearbox. I bought a manual because I thought it would be better for towing and more economical than an automatic. I am getting up to 35mpg on a long run and about 32mpg on local journeys. Towing a caravan weighing around 20cwt plus two bikes on the roof rack gives about 23mpg which I think is good. I am assuming that the trip computer is accurate!

1999 Vauxhall Omega CDX Estate 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carBMW 323SEi

Summary:

A practical family car, not for the young guns

Faults:

Quirky problems with the climate control, it seemed to have a mind of its own. All fixed now.

General Comments:

Lovely car for motorway driving. I recently drove from the south of France to Leicestershire in one go, and finished with no back ache or other pains. Not many cars you could say that of!

Being an estate the load capacity is enormous.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2000

1999 Vauxhall Omega CDX 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
Engine and transmission 2.5
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

A big car that takes time to get going, unless you over rev it. Can recommend the CRT 7000 stereo with incorporated mobile phone! It has every gadget a boy could wish for!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th August, 1999

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 26 reviews