1999 Vauxhall Omega Reviews - Page 5 of 8

1999 Vauxhall Omega CDX 2.5 V6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

The car is a serious bargain for the specification although faults will be very costly to rectify

Faults:

Shortly after getting the car it seems to have developed a gearbox fault when low power is applied, for example crawling in traffic/roadworks. The car sometimes fails to be in a gear and other times changes from what I think is second gear to fourth gear with a loud clunk. Most times the "Automatic Gearbox" message appears.

General Comments:

After owning a 1994 Omega 2.0 CD Estate (manual) and considering this car as one of the best cars I have ever had I decided to buy another Omega and chose the feature filled Omega CDX on a V Registration.

This year I believe the last one with the original style interior before Vauxhall destroyed later models with cheap and nasty plastic interiors.

I am a little disappointed with the performance of the car and while I like the concept of an Automatic gearbox for ease and comfort, the power doesn't seem to be any more than my 2 litre manual Omega was.

The car also has a potential gearbox fault as I have noted other people mentioning on this model (and I would appreciate any advise on what it can be).

I have been using my Local Lookers dealership for many years and I am very pleased with the service they provide and their knowledge of the vehicle, however I visited another lookers dealership in my area some time ago and I was less than impressed - I think it depends which one you go to whether or not they do a good job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2003

24th May 2003, 13:06

At this mileage expect the gearbox to need replacing. If you find someone with the skill and knowledge to do it properly then go for it, but take lots of cash when you pick it up. This gearbox has something that needs rebuilding PROPERLY, if it isn't done right it will last a week like mine did. People in the trade for years think they know how to repair it, but they don't.

8th Jun 2003, 12:13

All I can do is speak from my own horrible experience with this car. Could be the gearbox repair garage that has caused the problems leading to us using our omega for four days from the last twelve weeks.

1999 Vauxhall Omega Elite 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Carlton

Summary:

Overall, an excellent car and I would have another

Faults:

Intermittent starting problem. In the 12 months I have had the car I have called the AA out 7 times due to complete starting failure. The diagnostic computer states a crank shaft sensor problem, but Vauxhall says this appears until the car fires up. I think it could be the immobiliser. Any help here?

Climate control reverts back Zero whenever the ignition is off for over 50 minutes so when running on 'ECON' I have to reset by pressing the 'Auto' then the 'ECON' buttons. Niggly! Any help here?

The dashboard eats bulbs both behind the dials and in the computer and climate LEDs.

Eats tyres (225/55 R 16)

MPG has dropped to 26 since new plugs have been fitted.

Local main dealers are worse than useless very expensive and very unhelpful. However, I have found a performance Vauxhall specialist who now maintains the car (at a fraction of the price).

I would go for leather next time. The car has a light beige velour trim, which does show the dirt.

General Comments:

The car is extremely comfortable and roomy. It offers great value for money. I bought the car as a work horse (It does 40,000 miles a year) and I can drive it 600 miles in a day and still feel fresh.

All the 'toys' help in particular the facility of running your mobile through the stereo by placing the SIM card in the unit.

The boot is very large (estate) and will allow most loads.

Having had an older Omega some years back, I can sympathise with those who complain about the headlights. However, the Xenon units offer fantastic illumination - needed on such a fast car at night.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2003

13th Jul 2004, 05:08

The starting problem could be the fuel relay fuse there are 2 of them I had the same problem they cost about 15 pound each, but well worth it.

31st May 2005, 15:24

My advice is run it in AUTO as it was intended. Fuel consumption is virtually no different and comfort is much greater in winter and summer. Also the seals in the refrigerant system stay lubricated so your system will stay charged longer.

18th Sep 2005, 08:14

I have read your comments dated 13 July 2004.05.08 regarding intermittent starting. I also have a 1999 Elite, which is my second. (My first was 1995 3 litre model a real honey). My 1999 Elite also has intermittent starting. I found also that by changing the two fuel relays the problem was solved.Unfortunately, 1000 miles later the same problem has occured. I am now off to buy two more relays. I have to ask Vauxhall whether they could have overloaded the fuel relays? If so how can we prevent this happening again. Can we fit upgraded (current load) relays?

19th Sep 2005, 07:50

With regards to your problems with starting.

Have you actually changed the crank sensor? Very easy job, should take about 20 minutes.

5th Nov 2007, 15:47

I have had many Omega's, mostly Elites, and I have to say it's the best value for money car. For general info on the Omega, try www.omegaowners.com.

12th Aug 2008, 09:00

Mine would not start half the time it was the crank shaft sensor £300 from vauxhall once done it was spot on.

29th May 2009, 11:38

£300??? They`ve conned you... sue them!!!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 26 reviews