2003 Vauxhall Signum Reviews

2003 Vauxhall Signum Elite 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles

Summary:

Really comfortable car - shame about some of the reliability issues and costs

Faults:

Two sets of shocks.

Don't ask about the cost of the exhaust system!

Rear hatch switch sticking.

Lost power steering, light on dash, drove home just! Left for a couple of hours, and OK since.

Engine lost power on the motorway; dropped out of Cruise - pulled onto the hard shoulder. No warning lights on the dash. Would not turn over or restart; seemingly no ignition? - Battery OK I think as all the lights were OK and no dimming when the key was turned. Left for 20 minutes and tried again; started OK and drove home OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st July, 2010

2003 Vauxhall Signum Design 2.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Manual
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Faults:

When we use the remote to open all locks, the boot 'pops'. It doesn't open. You have to crawl in to the boot from the car and insert the key in the back of the lock. You need a second person to lift the boot lid when you push it from inside.

We have had the spanner symbol appear on the dashboard and paid £350 to have a new fuel pump fitted. The dealership replaced it free of charge within 6 months as the spanner reappeared.

General Comments:

When we first bought the car in 2004 it was a great head turner - we saw several drivers/passengers swan necking at the car. Now they are lots more on the road.

We love the comfort/performance of the car, but am losing patience with its problem with boot - especially when you have a full boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2009

27th Dec 2009, 18:47

Nice to read somebody is happyish with their Signum. Mine has front end noise, garage said it's nothing to worry about?? And other issues.

2003 Vauxhall Signum Elite 2.2 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Signum

Summary:

I like it and would have another

Faults:

Crank shaft pulley failed at 39000 miles. The same happened with my previous Signum (same model and type)

General Comments:

Plenty of room

Very comfortable

Able to hold its own

The only worries I have are that the crankshaft pulley fails

Also the handbrake disengages on its own (no problem with the automatic in park though)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2008

2003 Vauxhall Signum Elite 3.0 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.0 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156

Summary:

Great idea for a car, but it is truly awful

Faults:

Two suspension springs have broken.

Alternator excessive noise, dealer wants to change approximately every 18 months.

Injectors need to be replaced (£3,444.00 just for the injectors) labour and extra parts will cost more.

General Comments:

This car handles like a boat.

The turbo lag is massive, many times have started to pull out, then had to brake just as the turbo starts to kick in.

Every time I have gone to Vauxhall dealer, the car has always needed another visit, they can never get the work completed in a day.

3.0 diesel returns less than 30mpg.

Servicing costs very high, I think they think it is a prestige car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2008

2003 Vauxhall Signum Elegance 2.2 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired6100 miles
Most recent distance6800 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Cumbersome brick!

Faults:

Not had the car long enough for anything to go wrong.

General Comments:

I've had the car on loan for a week and the only thing I can say it does for me is to give me a headache, which was also a complaint from my passenger. For a 2.2 turbo diesel, it has the performance of a brick, which may not be helped by the fact it is an automatic. There is no noticeable difference between normal acceleration and kick down, apart from a bit more noise. The engine pitch is the thing that I think gives passengers the headache, although relatively quiet, it is there in an annoying way.

Rear visibility is appaling, not helped by the small rear window and rear headrests, with terrible (almost dangerous) blind spots at the sides.

The seats are about as comfortable as a park bench and the fuel consumption is not good for a diesel (average 33.7 mpg on a run). I didn't find driving this car at all relaxing.

The only good thing I would say about it is that it had a good hi-fi!

If I was spending that amount of money on a new car, this wouldn't be on the shortlist.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th December, 2003

7th Dec 2003, 12:40

Did you liked the car; Yes or No?

Would you recommend this car to anyone?

20th Feb 2004, 03:48

I've just had a signum for a few days as a hire car. It was the 2.0T version and had a reasonably quiet and effortless engine which had reasonable fuel economy. But for comfort (supposedly what it was designed for) it was appaling. Park bench was too kind a description for those seats. I normally drive a Laguna which is on a different planet for comfort. The Laguna also has a proper boot! The Signum is not a great effort. And for a brand new car it had some really annoying rattles.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews