2003 Vauxhall Vectra Reviews - Page 2 of 6

2003 Vauxhall Vectra SRi 2.2 DTI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 DTI Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Never buying a Vauxhall again

Faults:

Front wheel hub replaced after 40,000 miles

Front fog lamps replaced twice due to condensation

Radiator mounts replaced

Suspension mounts replaced

Splash guard replaced

Turbo replaced

Rear shock absorber and suspension bushes replaced after failing first MOT.

Rear brake caliper

Rear brake discs which main dealer failed to spot were worn.

Plastic parts of interior trim fallen off.

Most of the above was covered by warranty - except for the rear suspension where I was 800 miles outside of the warranty period.

General Comments:

The car is quick and economical and never failed to start - though sometimes it requires a lot of turning over if it has been cold overnight. It is quite noisy and is definatly old school diesel.

It handles OK for a big car if a tad vague and the seats are good for motorway driving. Visibility is a bit dodgy out of the rear window especially for reversing, but you do you feel very safe driving it.

The controls are well placed and feel solid, but certain kit does seem to be missing considering the specification of the car (i.e electric rear windows).

The boot is huge, but room in the rear is limited.

But so many things have gone wrong with it, admittedly most of the bills were picked up by Vauxhall except for the MOT failure. I wouldn't buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2007

23rd Feb 2007, 09:24

And now I am getting brake warning lights when I know that there is nothing wrong with them! My mechanic says I have a a 'Friday Afternoon car'. It is going next week...

14th Apr 2007, 14:00

You're getting rid of a car purely because the brake warning light is showing? I recommend a class in basic mechanics or personal confidence. Unbelievable, you must be winding us all up.

9th Jun 2007, 12:10

My Vectra SRI is just over 3 year old, 2 months out of warranty and now the Turbo has gone, car has done 53k - Does anyone know if it is unreasonable for the manufacturer or dealer to replace Free of charge? Other than the above it has been one of the best cars I've driven and I'd have a new one tomorrow, if I had the money!!!

28th Jun 2007, 06:05

I have a SRI140 Estate year 2000, and I have had a lots of sensors go, 6 times to be precise. Latest this month engine management light keeps coming on again, and now I am told it could be the wiring loom cost £600 plus, and that they cannot say that this will fix the fault. Have suggested that I could have the wiring loom repaired waiting on a quote. Latest 2 days ago the electric just died RAC say something is draining the battery big time. Now broke down last night managed to get it going, main dealer has no answer, saying that a wiring loom repair would be one & a half days work cost £900. I am I have had enough. This has NOT been a cheap car to run, I have had it since new and the maintance costs have been very high. My advise if you are having the same problems get ride of the car.

2003 Vauxhall Vectra SXI 1.8 (125) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 (125) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired138000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Omega

Summary:

Refined, comfortable and cheap to buy!

Faults:

I have a slight creaking on the rear suspension sometimes, but apparently this is a common fault.

Cruise control occasionally fails to engage.

Outside temp sensor constantly tells me 87 degrees - will get round to getting a new one soon.

Service indicator display doesn't work.

General Comments:

Bought with astronomical mileage on it for an 03-reg car, but it still feels well built and tight.

I have always liked the way the Vectra C looks, but I do like the SXI as it's cheap for me to insure and costs the same as an LS, but has alloy wheels and front fogs.

Ride is smooth, handling seems to have improved from previous generation Vectrs too, and the performance isn't bad from the 1.8, although I would love to have the 2.2 Direct or 2.2 DTI.

The sports seats on the SXI are great, comfortable and supportive with good lumbar adjustment.

Huge boot, and good space all round.

Stereo/CD is very good quality too.

All in all, I'm very happy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2006

3rd Mar 2007, 20:12

Just brought a 2003 2.2 s x i think its fantastic upgraded exhaust already sounds wonderful no problems what so ever just that I can't find a complete body kit.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 18 reviews