2003 Vauxhall Vectra LX 2.0DTi from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Performance, economy - excellent!

Faults:

There is a problem with the suspension, but this is going to be fixed by the dealer we bought it from (thank god for warranties!).

General Comments:

Other than the suspension problem, this car is refined and very economical, without being a slouch. When the foot goes down, the performance is excellent, even for a diesel.

I would not hesitate to buy another vectra, even after my experiences with the old model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2006

2003 Vauxhall Vectra SRi Edition 100 2.0T from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Middle rear seat belt wouldn't pull out of holder from new - replaced under warranty.

New modified aux belt pulley fitted under warranty at 34k - original squeaked on cold start up.

General Comments:

This is a good car. Not as good to drive dynamically as a Mondeo 3 but much better quality in terms of it's construction.

The 2.0T engine is a SAAB engine and has plenty of power and is an excellent motorway cruiser when mated to the six speed box. Economy isn't brilliant at a combined 32.3mpg, but acceptable.

The SRi Edition 100 has some good extra features over the standard SRi - half leather seats, rear spoiler and 17" multispoke alloys. IMO the car looks really good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2006

10th Feb 2007, 19:27

The Vectra C SRi 100 turbo is a Saab engine, because I spoke to LMF Vauxhall down in England to get a Baileys dump valve, and when LMF phoned Baileys, they said it was, and Courtney Sports will tell you the exact same thing.

10th Feb 2007, 19:28

The vectra has the z20net engine not the z20let.

27th Jul 2007, 04:52

Actually it is Saab who are now using GM ecotec engines since 2003 in the 'epsilon' platform cars.

2003 Vauxhall Vectra 2.2DTi SRi 2.2 122bhp turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Great used buy, but pretty uninspiring

Faults:

Occasional knocking from the front n/s wheel, only after the car hasn't been used in a while.

Cruise control sometimes fails to engage.

General Comments:

First off the 122bhp 2.2DTi engine is very impressive, with a smooth band of power, unlike the Toyota Avensis D4-D I tried recently which had immense turbo lag.

With this engine you're truly getting supermini economy with V6 punch, on a very quick motorway/dual carriageway run the average fuel consumption wouldn't drop below 50.4mpg, and on the country roads it's generally in the high-40s. Driving at high speeds and overtaking is effortless, and sticking at the speed limit the rev counter will barely reach over 2000rpm. Although the engine is an "old" design it's still pretty damned good.

The interior is well-appointed and specified, with leather heated seats, electric front windows (why no electric rear windows, Vauxhall?? Even ancient mid-range Rovers have this), cruise control, air conditioning, etc. and comfortable on long journeys, however there isn't much legroom in the rear when a full-size adult is in the seat in front of you. The boot as you'd expect is very large. The dashboard seems to be made of good quality materials in most areas, but the silver-painted plastic panel across the dash is scratched already. All the instruments and switches are clear and easy to use.

The car is somewhat "leaden" to drive, with awkward and eagerly self-centring steering, lumpy ride, and a rear end which likes to lose itself over difficult country roads (admittedly it was a big bump and I was travelling quickly, but it's not something I'd expect of a modern car). It has plenty of grip though and despite my best attempts the traction control light scarcely ever flashes.

To sum up I respect it as a machine for economy and long distance, but it doesn't inspire at all. Oh and don't buy new! It'd be like throwing £10k in an incinerator.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2005

2003 Vauxhall Vectra Elegance DTI 2.2 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Like an old secretary - not much to look at, but a good reliable work-horse

Faults:

Turbo went wrong at 2,500 miles and was replaced under warranty.

Despite not having any further problems, Vauxhall have twice recalled these cars to have the turbo software changed, but each time I have not noticed any difference.

Windscreen split after stone chip and cost over £350 to replace - lucky it's a company car, but two of my colleagues have had new windscreens due to the same problem.

I think that there is a weakness in the windscreens near the pillars.

General Comments:

I am not a fan of these modern looks and I think it is the ugliest car on the road along with the Toyota Avensis.

If it were my money I would have bought a Rover 75, but judging my how many of these cars I see with bonnets up at the side of the road, they are about as reliable as Peugeots. I think that the hard shoulders of the motorways were invented for these makes of car, judging by how many of them I see parked there each day.

Happy to report that Vauxhall Vectra is as reliable as my old Cavalier, so I have managed to avoid this problem.

Even when the turbo shut down, the car switched to an emergency program and allowed me to keep driving instantly.

This car is surprising fast and pulls all the way to beyond legal speed limits effortlessly.

The only thing stopping the car going any faster is my self-control and realisation that I am only mortal.

Fantastic fuel economy, considering what it delivers in power and acceleration.

Fabric cloth is a type of velour which although comfortable does seem to get dusty very quickly and is difficult to get clean.

Rubber football style dashboard took some getting used to, but I like the brown wood effect, even though it appears to be an after-thought.

Trip computer is ideal for monitoring fuel consumption since I have to use BP garages for company fuel card.

Nice powerful air conditioning unit, but would still like a sunroof as well like the old Cavaliers.

Cruise control has saved me on the speed cameras many times and idea for long trips, but sadly this does make you realise just how inconsistent motorway driving speeds are as I am constantly having to adjust it thanks to Mr 55MPH and Mr 90MPH.

Controls are awkward and indicators are annoying as they cancel when you don't want them to and don't cancel when you do.

Many times I have been behind another Vectra and witness the poor driver's indicators flashing left, then right then left as he fights to turn them off.

Since ordering Star Silver, I now realise how common they are, especially at the annual conferences when silver fills the car park.

I now hate the colour Silver on any car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2005

22nd Feb 2006, 11:51

I got one seven mouths ago and it's been in getting fixed eight times.

I hate this car now and can't wait to get a new Honda as soon as I can.:- (

1st Sep 2006, 16:39

Well the Star Silver Vectra has now gone after 3years of ownership and I have since changed jobs and been given a temporary replacement - a black new type astra SXI which I prefer to the Vectra despite qualifying for a larger vehicle, I think I will buy this one next year for the wife and order an SRI Astra XP and relive my youth.