1999 Vauxhall Zafira Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1999 Vauxhall Zafira Comfort 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

A decent sized, comfortable family car, not a bus.

Faults:

I get through headlight bulbs very quickly, and have to pay 15 minutes of mechanic time, making each change £25!

Power steering has failed, but Vauxhall will not accept that this is anything more than fair wear and tear, and have currently offered a 20% goodwill payment. They will not offer anything off if I buy a new one - which I was in the process of doing! I am trying to take it further.

Windscreen washer tank is far too small!

Stalls at low speeds - traffic lights, roundabouts, etc.

General Comments:

Only niggly faults, apart from the current power steering problem.

I love this car, think it's the best I've had since my Mini (less practical for families!)

Come on, Vauxhall, get your act together and sort out these problems!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 2003

1999 Vauxhall Zafira Elegance 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carRenault Espace

Summary:

Engine management warning problems are a nightmare. Come on Vauxhall, own up!!

Faults:

Wow, two other people experiencing similar problems.

Engine revs high when idling, engine management warning lights on.

What a nightmare!

I wonder if this is a recognised problem that Vauxhall know about, but are not coming clean about.

My Vauxhall has been in and out like a fiddlers elbow for repair with this problem.

It's not funny Vauxhall, it's a nightmare, and I feel let down very badly by a car that is otherwise very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th April, 2002

16th Jan 2004, 03:10

I have a vauxhall Zafira 2.0DTi which has a problem with starting if left for more than 4 days. I'm told its common for these diesels as the fuel line lets in air? hence you have to burn out the starter motor to clear it. Also the engine management light comes on when driving o and the power of the car halves. When I turn of the engine and start again its OK for a while?, common faults???

1999 Vauxhall Zafira Comfort 1.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired500 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles
Previous carAudi 80 TDi

Summary:

Mechanically poor

Faults:

At 3200 miles - the windscreen would not demist without putting the air con on. Returned it to the dealers who did something - and it appears OK now.

At 7400, 7500, 7600 and continually up to 13500 miles the engine cuts out under deceleration (i.e. approaching a junction or roundabout). The car has been in to the dealers on six occaisions for this problem and it has yet to be resolved. I was told by Vauxhall that it was the fuel I was using - I don't think SO!!! Still waiting to hear what this months reason is.

Also find that the trim around the ignition and door handle etc gets scratched very easily making the inside of the cockpit look tatty.

General Comments:

Very poor reliability.

Cutting out causes serious doubts in safety of the vehicle.

Dealer slow to respond

Space and comfort in the car is second to none in this class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd October, 2000

4th Apr 2001, 07:32

Your problem is the car's idle control valve, get it replaced. Am I right in saying it only cuts out when not in gear, or whilst changing when the clutch is down?

15th May 2001, 15:58

Interested to hear your comments as looking to buy a Zafira.

Had a '95 1.6 Astra with similar cut out problems. Never solved by dealership or UK Vauxhall central service!

1999 Vauxhall Zafira Comfort 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra Estate

Summary:

Great value, innovative, family MPV

Faults:

Computer glitch caused radiator fan to stay on continually. Fixed by dealer (who unplugged, then reconnected, computer).

Boot release button a little stiff (for my wife).

Heater control switch came loose.

Handbrake needs adjustment.

General Comments:

This car is tremendous.

It is wonderful value for money and suited my self and growing family. The Flex7 seat options mean it doubles as furniture van, builder's lorry, school bus, and holiday transporter.

It is solidly built with good quality fittings.

High-up seating position and bags of room means kids (and adults) love it.

The 1.6 16v engine is quite torquey and well suited to town driving or motorways, but don't expect to win many races!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2000

1999 Vauxhall Zafira Comfort 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Faults:

Rear screen heater failed and rear brake binding, both repaired under warranty

General Comments:

As a MPV this is the tops, as the rear most seats fold flat into the floor for storage, the car performs like an estate car with bags of room for such a small MPV, the only down side I have found with the car is that there is no option of CD changer

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2000

24th Nov 2001, 15:13

Yes, anybody know where I can get the CD changer for this Blaupunkt?

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 8 reviews