2001 Volkswagen Beetle Reviews - Page 14 of 14

2001 Volkswagen Beetle GLX 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz Mercedes-Benz 300D T

Summary:

Not a good value

Faults:

Driver's side window switch broke at 14500 miles and had to be replaced.

Could not shift automatic transmission out of "park" and had to be towed to dealership at 15300 miles.

Oil lamp comes on and alarm sounds on an intermittent basis since purchasing the used car at 13000 miles. Warranty had expired.

General Comments:

This Beetle is becoming expensive to own and operate due to frequent repairs. The down time and costs are becoming very annoying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2003

20th Nov 2004, 09:33

What was the problem that caused the intermittent flashing oil light?

2001 Volkswagen Beetle GLS TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance17500 miles

Summary:

Great performance and unmatched fuel economy

Faults:

Fuel Pump and Instrument Cluster replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Excellent fuel economy and great handling. Impressive power on highway inclines. Can run on petroleum diesel, biodiesel (made of vegetable oil), or any blend of both.

Very comfortable interior excellent front seats, great headroom), except back seats. Great materials all around. Great visibility due to large windows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2003

2001 Volkswagen Beetle from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Rodeo

Summary:

A money pit

Faults:

My brakes had to be replaced at 18,000 miles.

My side window wouldn't roll up.

The fuel door wouldn't open.

My alternator had to be replaced.

Both of the headlights burned out.

The left turn signal light burned out.

The rear tail light burned out.

The radio and CD changer had to be replaced due too bad wiring.

General Comments:

This car is a money pit. In eighteen months, I have had to pay about $800. in repairs. It is fun to drive, but I can't wait to get rid of it!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th March, 2003

2nd Sep 2004, 05:50

I have a 2001 Beetle and I have to agree with the review I just read. I have never been more disappointed in a car than I have with this Beetle. I have replaced the battery and the alternator recently, as well as the driver's side window. Then two weeks after the replacements, my car decides when and if it wants to start at all! The status today?: Dead. I've spent a lot of time and money on this car and would love to get rid of it. My gut said Honda Civic three years ago, but my heart said Beetle. I'm going with my gut from now on!

2001 Volkswagen Beetle from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance17500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Sentra

Summary:

The worst automobile purchase I have ever made!

Faults:

The driver side window broke twice. The car alarm goes off when it rains. The hatch open indicator light comes on when it rains. The battery had to be replaced at 15,000 miles. It wouldn't hold a charge. The gas cover broke and wouldn't lock one time. The car was recalled and had to be brought in to be repaired one time (yet another day showing up late at work & without a car).

General Comments:

The car handles very well. It's a fun car! My only concern is the amount of money I'm going to have to come up with once my 2 year warranty expires next month. The amount of repairs on this car in the past 11 months is insane!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th December, 2002

13th Feb 2003, 10:32

I have had my beetle for less than a week, and it is raining like crazy, here in Los Angeles. I was a little concerned because my hatch open indicator light came on, too! I pulled over off the highway, thinking my trunk was open, when in fact it was not. That very same day, I went to lock my car and the little beep came on (You know, the one that notifies you that your car is locked.) I turned my back, and not a second later the alarm goes off. Quite strange!!! I'm not upset...I'm just concerned. Other than that everything is going fine. I thought I would get better gas mileage, but oh well.

2001 Volkswagen Beetle 2.0 2.0 115bhp from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 115bhp Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance150 miles
Previous carFord Puma

Summary:

Nice car with character

Faults:

Nothing as yet - too new.

General Comments:

Nice build quality and finish.

Good low-down torque - a car for cruising in rather than thrashing.

Comfortable and roomy in the front.

Dealers pretty average.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th April, 2001

2001 Volkswagen Beetle GLX 1.8 turbo from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance412 miles

Summary:

I am glad I waited for the turbo!

Faults:

This car is a dream to drive! Although I have had it less than two weeks, I have found absolutely nothing wrong with it. The other cars I currently own/drive? 1994 Suburban, 1995 Mercedes E320 wagon, and 1980 Mercedes diesel.

I worried about the fact that this car was manufactured in Mexico, but it seems to be just as well-made as the German-made VW's I have owned in the past (1972 VW bug and 1975 VW Scirocco) and much superior to the 1979 VW pick-up that was manufactured in the USA. It will be interesting to see how I feel about this car a year from now...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2001

2001 Volkswagen Beetle GLS 115 HP from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 115 HP Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired67 miles
Most recent distance200 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

This car makes me very happy!

Faults:

I've only had it for two weeks, not much time for anything to go wrong. I've had a lot of fun with it, though! I bought it mainly because I've been so happy with my '99 Passat.

General Comments:

It's a wonderful car to drive. The manual transmission is very smooth and 'friendly.' Very easy manual transmission to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2000

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 47 reviews