2000 Volkswagen Bora Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2000 Volkswagen Bora GLS 2.0 from Dominican Republic

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Very unreliable car but fun to drive

Faults:

Transmission differential broke down leaving me stranded, spark plug core blew out leaving me with little power (lucky I was in the city not on the highway) ; A/C compressor and evaporator stopped working; Engine needed piston ring replacement; shocks/bushings had to be replaced; jerky transmission throughout ownership; interior very worn.

General Comments:

I loved driving my 01 bora but the problems were too many to count. I had to sell within a year of buying it because it just couldn't be trusted and I didn't have enough time to fix all of the problems. I would consider buying another VW though because I really liked the way the car drove (when it drove:P)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st March, 2008

2000 Volkswagen Bora Saloon 1.4 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Excellent car; won't buy any other car

Faults:

Gearbox is a bit sticky.

Car scratches easily.

General Comments:

The car is very reliable, and I would recommend it to anyone else who asks.

I have had no other problems with the car.

The suspension is very smooth.

The seats are very comfortable, and I suffer with lower back pain.

I will now always buy a Volkswagen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2007

2000 Volkswagen Bora 2.0 sport 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23856 miles
Most recent distance24956 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

LOVE IT

General Comments:

This car is seriously quick and handles like it's on rails.

The night blue lights in the interior are beautiful looks stunning must see.

All electric little things look great in this car.

Lots of room for bigger people in back of car,which was surprising as it looks so tight in the back.

Boot space is huge can't fault it.

When travelling long distance, I still feel fresh when I arrive, the cab of car is so comfortable I was not aching like I used too.

And the heating is so good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

2000 Volkswagen Bora 4motion 2.8 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good, but let down by interior and electrical build quality

Faults:

ESP management was faulty when test driven.

Air mass meter failed on first day of ownership.

Fuel computer fails now and again.

Central locking has intermediate fault.

Various, odd, electrical glitches.

Seats mark if they come into contact with water.

Various rattles on interior.

CD player only works on right channels.

General Comments:

I sold my Escort with 180,000 miles on the clock. I bought the VW for the build quality.

The car handles, accelerates and stops very well. The 4 wheel drive and ESP make it almost fool proof to drive.

It is a very good car for long distances. After a 400 mile drive I still felt very comfortable, with no aches etc, at the end.

The car is generally built to a high quality, which main stream manufacturers can't match.

However, the rattles in the interior drive me mad!! I have stopped some with wedging match sticks between panels. Not what I expected from a German quality car. The Bora is no great leap forward than my 1994 Escort for rattles.

The car feels great if I turn the CD player up to drown the interior problems. But now the CD player has got a fault.

A friend, who has a Skoda, thinks his is better quality. I don't disagree.

I hope my car is a Friday lemon becuase, if not, VW are in trouble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2006

2000 Volkswagen Bora Tdi 115 SE 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Good looking, fast, economical and reliable

Faults:

In the year and a bit I've had the car the only thing that has gone wrong with it was a faulty brake pedal sensor, which meant that the brake lights weren't working. A dashboard warning came up so it was not too dangerous. Apart from that the only thing I've done to it is service it with oil and filters etc. Touch wood it has been by far the most reliable car I have owned.

General Comments:

The car is a January 2000 SE model Bora Tdi, with the Pump Duse engine putting out 115 bhp. It has a six speed gearbox, and all the SE toys such as a fuel computer and A/C etc. Overall it is a very well equipped car for the money.

I went for this model primarily for the engine / gearbox arangement. To get the same engine in a Golf would have cost me probably two thousand pounds more! I like the fact that if you get a 1999 Bora and a 2006 one, and take the numberplates off them, park them up to next to each other, only a trainspotter could tell them apart. I'm sure that will change in the near future though!

Not having owned a VW before I can confirm that this one certainly lives up to the VW tradition of being solid, chunky and well put together. The switches have a solid feel and the seats are comfortable.

I find this model to be a very strong performer, pulling strongly from low revs (that all important range). How many people actually redline their cars from sets of red lights in all gears? (Too many possibly I know). Anyhow in the real World it's more than adequate. I've no complaints, the car pulls off quick, and surges forward with the slightest lag. On a brim to brim check of my fuel consumption with mixed driving I was avergaing 49.8 mpg. Not bad for a car of this size.

The only gripes I could mention are the gearbox and suspension. When cold the gearbox feels notchy and doesn't like quick changes. You learn to live with this and take your time, which resolves the problem. I have been told that the problem comes from trying to cram so much into a small box. As for the ride, the car can seem to clunk over potholes sometimes. I don't know why that is. Some big potholes don't phase it, but other smaller ones shake the old bones?

The car has airbags coming out of its ears, and as I'm about to become a Father I will be much more comfortable putting a child in this than something less substantial.

Overall the car still looks brand new, is fast when you need it, is very economical and has lots of nice touches such as the 6 speed gearbox which mean its virtually silent at 70 mph (just on 2000 rpm). I also like the indigo dials. I intend to keep mine for a long time, and if they are all as good as this one I would deffinately get a newer VW diesel when the time comes. Thanks for reading.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2006

22nd Feb 2007, 06:21

Excellent write up on the VW Bora 1.9TDI PD 115 bhp (115 CV). I am comtemplating buying one pretty soon.

22nd Feb 2007, 07:16

Do NOT BUY THIS CAR... gave me nothing but problems... worst investment ever!! Buy a Chevy.

28th Feb 2007, 10:15

The car is great. I have had mine for 13 months now, with 13 months trouble free motoring. Also the car is very tuneable with a simple remap you can get over 40bhp. Very quick when remapped.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 14 reviews