1994 Volkswagen Golf CL TD 1.9Turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


VW - I want my money back!


Jerky throttle response.

Knackered suspension.


Wheel cylinders failed.

General Comments:

Our 8th VW/Audi product with service history and it stands out from the rest as a total turkey. Appalling brakes and ride. Noisy, so-so economy (suspect the injectors need replacing, but the rest of the car is so disapointing I don't want to spend the money) Flat un-supportive seats, equipment level is nil. In comparison to our Passat the later Golf design is a total joke. Wind noise is dreadful whereas the Passat has none. The Passat ride is a bit harsh, but the Golf rear end bottoms out even with new gas shocks!!

Rust on a 8 year old VW is simply unbelievable. The Passat is 13 and rust free.

2 redeeming features:

Variable intermittent wipe for front screen.

You can change the colour of the radio illumination!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2002

1994 Volkswagen Golf VR6 2.8 from UK and Ireland


Buy one, you will not regret it


No problems.

General Comments:

A pleasure to own, very reliable and good performance. Servicing cost are the only expense in three years except petrol. Buy one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

23rd Aug 2008, 05:56

Test drove the 94 Golf VR6 today, what a little pocket rocket, looking forward to picking it up, for a 14 yr old car it's a ripper. Just worried about parts in Australia, doesn't seem to be many around.

1994 Volkswagen Golf Match 1.4 from UK and Ireland


A dream of a first car, still slow though!


The handbrake sticks when it is left on the drive for too long!

General Comments:

I find the Mk3 Golf 1.4 very sluggish, strange as this is my first car and I haven't passed my test yet.

The interior is awful in the 'Match' edition. Looks like it was taken out of a retirement home!

Very responsive steering, always feel in control of the vehicle which good!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2002

1994 Volkswagen Golf GL 2.0 from North America


A solid, reliable little car


Distributer went out at 90,000 miles.

Intermittent electrical problems.

Driver seat is broken.

General Comments:

The Golf is a good, solid, and reliable car.

It isn't fast, but it runs like new, even with 145,000 miles.

Overall, even with some of its quirks, it is a very good car and I would buy another Volkswagon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2002

1994 Volkswagen Golf GL 1.8 from Turkey


The most durable and enjoyable car of modern times


Fuel pump broke at 115000 kms.

Rubbers on the front axles (for cornering balance) needs to be replaced often.

General Comments:

This car has the accessories many 0 km cars don't have today. ABS, electric windows and mirrors etc. Excellent driving position and viewing angle, unmatched handling, wonderfully tuned steering, long life parts and better looks than the current Golf are other pluses.

The engine runs smoothly, like a clock after 117000 kms.

Weight-engine power rating is better balanced than the new Golf. I drove the Passat, new Bora (Jetta), Opel (Vauxhall) Vectra, and Seat Leon for long distances, and none of them give the taste it gives.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2001

28th Oct 2010, 09:26

I have an M reg Golf GL colour blue, and it ran out of MOT. So I went to get it an MOT and it failed because there was something wrong with the fuel commission, something like that.

I only paid £170 pound for the car a few days ago so I brought the car back to the MOT place and gave the guy there £20 to pass the car. Now the header tank busted so I paid 20 pound to fix that. So the car is costing me 260 pound LOL. I'm going to sell it for 600 pound LOL.

1994 Volkswagen Golf CL TD Estate 1.9 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland


3/98 Replace drive lock barrel.

97 Loudspeakers disconnected.

General Comments:

Loads of room.

Very economical.


Limited features.

Feels rock solid.

Handles v. well for an estate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 1998

1994 Volkswagen Golf CL 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland


Clutch cable went at 27k (apparently common, great). Nothing else major.

General Comments:

Fine car. Good and solid but VASTLY underpowered at somewhere between 60-65bhp. Holds it's value well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 1998

23rd Apr 2001, 08:39

I've had my Golf since January 2001, not a long time admitedly, but I don't find it to be vastly under powered at all. It's a '96 Golf 1.4 SE, 29500 miles on the clock, 3500 of which have been driven by myself. The car has given no hassle so far, not even a hint. Everything is solidly put together, and although it isn't a fast car it is certainly more than adequate at keeping up with traffic, in fact I find myself overtaking all but the idiots in life (100mph drivers) on the motorway. Fifth gear is not quite geared correctly in my opinion since the engine is at about 3500 RPM at 70mph which makes overtaking easy, no need for gear changes, but slightly noisy motor-way driving, good job I don't do too much of it.

I've read a lot of articles and comments on how sluggish and slow the 1.4 Golf is, but I find it nippy, agile and more than up to job. And, touch wood, hassle free so far.