1995 Volkswagen Golf Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1995 Volkswagen Golf GTi 2.0i 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0i 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired95800 miles
Most recent distance96700 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Babe magnet

Faults:

Noticed a gash in a breather hose a few days after purchasing it - didn't affect the drive as it was only a minor replacement needed, but dealer charged me £24 for a little piece of rubber!!!

Immobiliser is temperamental - need to wait a few seconds for it to fully disable or fuel cut-off causes engine not to start (which is embarrassing when your in this car ;op).

Boot sometimes fails to open using remote central locking which can be annoying, but this doesn't happen often.

Interior can rattle a bit at times.

General Comments:

This car is extremely quick although you do need to get those revs up to find out just HOW quick.

Factory top speed is around 132-134mph -I've taken it up to 120 but then bottled it as the pick up is so quick even at high speeds! (I haven't once floored this car or red-lined it)

I love the sound of the engine - I have a 8 speaker system installed, but so many times I have turned it off to listen to the engine instead cos it's so deep and boomy with the twin exhausts!!!

The interior is just what I love - It's black and sexy just like the exterior and the sports seats are extremely comfortable.

The electrics all work wonderfully and I was particularly impressed by the efficiency of the heater as it heats the car up extremely quickly even when it's just been started - much more effective than any other car I've owned.

Driving it is like a dream. It's very smooth and you can feel the 150bhp propelling you up the motorway. Power steering is very useful - I was very thankful for it when I first drove it, thought I might need to do some weight training to handle the power!!

Can be difficult to get it into 2nd gear sometimes although the close ratio gear box is nice.

Parking is very easy.

People just can't stop staring!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

16th Oct 2002, 06:52

Go drive one. 150bhp is enough power for me :)

26th Jan 2003, 16:13

Obviously the 16v late model Golf is quick that's because the body is much lighter then the newer models these days so it's quicker. But the VR6 models have way more power and torque then the older versions therefore will not stand a chance in a drag race.

1995 Volkswagen Golf Match 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired39700 kilometres
Most recent distance40500 kilometres

Summary:

A personal sporty car with elegant style and no pretensions

Faults:

My clutch feels hard, I use my car mostly on the motorway.. in the traffic it tends to be difficult to keep pressing the hard clutch.

General Comments:

I'm happy with the good engineering behind the car.. working well whenever you give the right pedal a boost.

The car is smooth, and the engine feels as if its giving out oomph all the way to the redline, but completely without fuss.

The suspension matches the car's ability to be urgent, yet retains the comfort.

Its shape is enhanced by that wide track and the big wheels.

The front seats are also pretty good giving adequate support and comfortable.

Overall, the driver feels that the Golf was specifically made for them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2002

1995 Volkswagen Golf GTi 2.0i 8 valve from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0i 8 valve Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carMazda MX5

Summary:

Very overrated

Faults:

Wheel bearings.

Genuine VW exhaust corroded.

Air con just packed up.

Fault on power steering (goes heavy in heavy rain).

Various interior trim and external. Badges required replacing.

General Comments:

This has got to be the most disappointing car I've owned. No where near as quick as the mk2 GTi's. Handling is far too soft for a "hot hatch". My local dealer is a waste of space with servicing prices on par with BMW's but without the excellent customer care. If you were considering one of these, consider something else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th May, 2000

1995 Volkswagen Golf GTi 2.0 8 valve petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
Engine and transmission 2.0 8 valve petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10

Faults:

The electronic ABS controller went ballistic at 13,000 miles and was over-riding the normal braking system which was pretty hairy. VW sent two replacement controllers to the dealer which were also wrong.

The part cost over £400 without labour. VW would not accept that this was a whole-of-vehicle life, safety critical item and insisted on a token payment of some £23 to get a measly 1 year warranty on the part. I refused and the dealer paid it, bless him as he was as embarrassed with the VW attitude as I was angry.

General Comments:

Apart from the above, not much has gone wrong, but pretty boring all round.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st March, 1998

13th Aug 2001, 06:27

I do not know what kind of cars you are used to, but unless you have driven Ferraris all your life, I don't know how can you say that a VW GTI is "pretty boring all round"...

I'm a Spanish rallye racer and, amongst others I own a VW Golf GTI (8v - 115CV), and even though it's not the best car I have driven/owned, nobody that has a minimum idea about cars, can say that is a boring car.

So long..

7th Sep 2001, 06:01

Try driving an Alfa 145 Cloverleaf, eats Golf GTIs for breakfast and has loads and loads of character. Gorgeous sound when you hit the high revs, great alt. to the Golf ;)

23rd Nov 2001, 06:11

I have a good friend who has changed from a heavily modified, but getting old, Mk1 GTi to a tidy Mk3 Golf GTi 8v (for practical considerations).

Suffice it to say that he laments the sale of his Mk1 every time we go down the pub, and hankers after a decent Mk2 GTi as a possible replacement! Clearly the Mk3 has got a bit lardy.

29th Nov 2006, 05:07

I've got a '99 T reg Mk4 2.0 Golf GTI which as done just over 151000 and is still going strong on the original clutch, engine and even exhaust! This car may not be the fastest of the bunch by any means, but I am very impressed with its build quality. It hasn't been totally without its problems though, the water pump went at 82000 miles and I've had problems with the cooling fan wiring corroding, but nothing too serious yet.

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 30 reviews