2002 Volkswagen Golf Reviews - Page 5 of 18

2002 Volkswagen Golf tdi 1.7 diesel from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance9746532 kilometres
Previous carChrysler PT Cruiser

Summary:

It's a great economical and dependable car

Faults:

The third rear window wiper motor has just been installed, but not bad for almost a million kilometers. replaced front bearing hub on left and right at about 650000km.the emergency switch has been replaced, but afterwards I found out it was a recall item, but I was well over the kilometers honoured by VW. a little under 800000 kilometers the brake master blew and lost all brakes, but thank goodness to a great emergency hand brake.

General Comments:

I found this car to be very reliable. A fun car to drive very comfortable, but don't like the windshield being so close to my face and if I pull the driver seat back then I can't put the clutch to the floor. Guess that's why they nicknamed me shorty. Almost a million kilometers and running very strong looks great in the midnight blue almost looks purple in the day and dark blue at night. I would recommend this car to anyone and a selling point to me was the 1200 kilometers to a tank that's great fuel economy for fuel prices now days. Now my friend has the same year, but a bug with the same diesel engine and he says he only gets 950 kilometers to a tank. I guess with anything you get your good and your bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2007

6th Jul 2007, 04:35

Just curious here -- exactly HOW did you manage to rake up 970K-plus kilometres over a period of 6.5 years? My calculation says that driving the car every single day, you average 416 km/day or about 52 km/h if you drive non-stop for 8 hours per day, not even stopping for Christmas, 48 20,000-km oil changes, and 9 timing belt replacements?

2002 Volkswagen Golf 2.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Decent car for the money

Faults:

Taillights went out several times within the first year.

Had to replace the oil pan because it was stripped by a Jiffy Lube. It cost me $400 USD to replace.

Brake light sensor went bad 5 times.

New tires at 45,000 miles.

New battery around 20,000 miles.

General Comments:

This was a very reliable car for me.

I specifically liked the seats. Wide with lumbar support. Very comfortable.

The automatic transmission would slip from time to time, but no major problems otherwise.

Seemed a little sluggish on take off, but at higher speeds this thing was quick. I did a lot of distance driving and this car never had a problem passing.

AC was the best. Super cold very fast, which is nice in the Florida heat.

The blue dash lights inside define comfort in a vehicle to me. Very soothing interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2007

2002 Volkswagen Golf GL 1.9 TDI from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Do not plan to own a reliable VW for more than 5 years, and do not buy as used one

Faults:

1) Rear window washer line failed and saturated head liner.

2) CEL for glow plug code. Changed harness and plugs, later CEL comes back. Turned off with VAG and still comes back.

3) Air bag fail light. Known issue, VW feels no obligation to fix. 500$ dealer charge; I just leave it lit.

4) Auto trans failed at 67k. 5k$ for complete fix cycle. In 2001 the drivetrain warranty was 10/100k, in 2002 it was changed to 5/60K. I should have taken the hint.

General Comments:

With the repeated electronic/CEL issues and the transmission failure, VW looses all credibility with me. Readers are advised not to purchase a VW without a comprehensive after-market warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th December, 2006

19th Dec 2006, 13:26

I see your previous car was a Grand Marquis why the odd change?

2002 Volkswagen Golf GTi 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

A lousy car with many problems

Faults:

Brake discs warped

Clutch cable stuck

Electrical faults (numerous)

Rattle from drivers door

Rain water leaks from doors

Central locking failed

Rear screen washer came off inside boot & filled boot with water

Knocking from suspension

Permanent flat spot never properly cured

Interior trim broke off under footwell

Seat seams split

Electric windows burnt out twice

Air con had to be fixed twice

Excessive oil consumption.

General Comments:

GTI handling OK, but 2.0 115 bhp is a joke in a GTI. Has to be worked really hard to go at the expense of fuel consumption (35mpg at best)

Front wheels lose grip easily pulling away from a stand. Handling is very sloppy for a "sports" car.

Terrible reliability. Dealers were friendly, but never actually managed to fix very much. Sometimes the car came back worse than it went to them.

Dealer courtesy car was a 1.2 Polo and it spent months in the dealer. I paid £18000 to drive a GTI not a Polo!

Drank oil like it was going out of fashion. Almost 10 litres between services! Dealer said this was within "acceptable limits".

Several faults were never cured until I traded it in (for another Ford. I never had these problems with my old Ford Focus).

Bad car, badly made, bad dealers, bad experience.

No more VWs for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th July, 2006

28th Nov 2006, 16:09

Welcome to the VW "I've been conned" club.

I too had one like this. It was broke more than it ran.

Dealers did £4500 worth of warranty work on the car in 2.5 years before I sold it and took the cash hit.

Dealer offered peanuts trade in so I now have an Astra which is wonderful and doesn't break down (at least not yet).

19th Mar 2011, 18:34

VWs are terrible, have been for a while in fact. Bought a Golf new back in 1993, and was shocked continually how poor it was; rust along the bottoms of the doors at 18 months old, constant electrical failures, trim falling off everywhere, cheap brittle plastics and countless examples of poor design (e.g thin flimsy door winders that bent and eventually fell to pieces (that had to be fixed 3 times by a dealer) gearbox bearings failing after 18k miles, fuses and bulbs blowing constantly, juddering clutch and a throttle that seemed to be either on or off, with no control or smoothness...)

I've owned 3 VWs since then (yes, I'm a fool!) and they have all disappointed me... Japanese from now on!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 59 reviews