1997 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9L turbo diesel from North America


An Excellent Buy! Affordable and Beautiful!


Nothing has gone wrong. I just recently replaced the timing belt, timing belt tensioner, water pump, fuel filter, cabin air filter, engine air filter, and all belts. However these were just repaced as a precaution to make sure future problems don't arise.

General Comments:

I love the car, great handling! Enough interior room for me 6'2, my wife, both kids in car seats and one in between them. The trunk on this thing is HUGE. Bigger that any other car I've owned even more cargo space that my Lincoln Town Car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2003

1997 Volkswagen Jetta Jazz 2.0L from North America


Great car for someone who has some extra cash to sink into high performance parts


Side strips fell off around 65,000 miles. Seems to be pretty average for this car.

Six CD changer in trunk stopped working around 72,000 miles.

General Comments:

Has anyone else noticed that Jetta's seem to run better in cold weather?

Overall performance has been pretty good. Since I don't really have the money to be regular with the upkeep and the car is still running well, I would say the durability is very good.

The MK3 has great potential for high performance, but lacks in it's stock form.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th December, 2003

30th Nov 2009, 19:14

I have a 97 Jazz and it loves cold days, feels like it has a little more pep!

1997 Volkswagen Jetta GLS from North America


The engine is great, the accessories are disposable


All 4 windows broke within 6 months of the end of the warranty.

Replaced the starter 2 times under warranty.

Air Conditioning issues at 72000 miles - had several issues with dealer workmanship that were not resolved.

The molding on the outside of the car falls off each summer and each winter.

I have had to replace the seat tilt knobs on both sides of the car.

General Comments:

Corporate Volkswagon does not take any ownership to resolve issues with their franchises regarding workmanship.

I am not comfortable buying another Volkswagon since I cannot guarantee the quality of work done at the dealerships.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th November, 2003

1997 Volkswagen Jetta GT 2.0 8v 4 cylinder from North America


This is a great little car that has a playful personality!



General Comments:

This is an awesome little car! The attention to conveniences that VW has given to the Jetta line is awesome. It has many extras that other vehicles don't even offer (such as rear seat map lights, etc.).

I have installed a Bomz strut bar, and have plans on a K&N air intake.

One of the only drawbacks I have for this car is the lug bolts. I wish it had regular studs and lugs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd October, 2003

1997 Volkswagen Jetta Jazz 2.0L from North America


A reliable relatively inexpensive car


Alternator went out at about 55,000.

Plastic strips fell off at about 70,000.

Air condition problems at about 50,000.

Leak in antifreeze/freon tank at 70,000.

General Comments:

Overall, not a bad car. Cars can't be expected to last forever, and trips to the shop have mercifully been few and far between. However, it's a Jetta "Jazz", and bluebook does not list any such type of Jetta. Bluebook lists GL, GT, GLS, GLX and TDI. I have been very disappointed with Volkswagon response to my inquiries. On their website, they solicit email inquiries, yet my inquiries have gone unreturned. Why solicit email questions when you don't return them?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2003

29th Apr 2005, 18:20

Don't waste your time with the company. Find a good Volkswagen dealer and stick with them as good ones are really hard to find. Expect your cruise and ignition switch to go pretty soon if they haven't already!

4th Jun 2007, 17:55

There is no such car as a Jetta "Jazz". Jazz Blue was a color.

1997 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8 from North America


VW should be ashamed to put their name on this piece of junk


The transmission started to slip while it was under warranty. It had a valve replaced and it was running OK.

Transmission now slips again. The VW shop stated it would cost $3000 for a new one. This is more than my car is worth.

I have had the power window motors go up four times. Each time they go up, it costs about $500 to fix them. When they go up there is a horrible burning smell throughout the car. The smell lingers there for months.

The sunroof is now making a noise and creating the burning smell when it operates. I fear that it will start a fire inside my car.

The air conditioning stopped working in 2001, just after the warranty went up.

The coolant system leaks and every two weeks I have to add more antifreeze.

The dash lights flicker on and off by themselves.

The warning light for the emergency brake light comes on by itself without the brake being engaged. When this happens the windshield wipers will not work. The fan running the heater will not work. The rear defroster will not work. If you turn the car off and start it again it will fix this.

The warning light for the air bag is on.

The cruise control hasn't worked for about 3 years.

The computer controls for both turn signals need to be replaced.

The tires wear out very quickly. The VW shop states that everything is in alignment.

General Comments:

I will never buy another VW. This car was supposed to last me 10 years. It is barely making 6 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th October, 2003

8th Dec 2003, 22:11

Your VW has probably got messed up electronics computer in the trunk. $125 of electronics would have fixed all the problems.

When Jettas/Golfs/Polos get water inside the trunk/spare wheel well it leaks into the central lock/electronic unit which will mess up the locks/dashboard displays.