1997 Volkswagen Jetta JAZZ 2.0 liter 4 cylinder from North America


My reliable green box on wheels


AC went out to the tune of $1,300... I'll roll down the windows...

Moulding on the drivers door came off and I've not glued it back on.

A leak in a vacuum hose set the Check Engine Light off once.

General Comments:

I like the car a lot. It's certainly not glamorous, but I enjoy driving it. Although my previous car (a Mazda) was more reliable and fuel efficient, I feel the VW has more character and I'll probably replace this car with a Golf or a Jetta wagon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2002

1997 Volkswagen Jetta GT 2.0 8v from North America


A small car with a lot of potential


The throttle body wasn't acting right. The dealership replaced it free of charge.

The rear cup holder broke while holding a small Gatorade.

Rear defrost button stopped working. Replaced for free by the dealership.

Exhaust leak in the resonator. I had it replaced at a muffler shop with just a pipe.

New clutch at 75,000 miles.

Major 60,000 mile tune-up done at 75,000 miles.

General Comments:

Replaced the stock air box with a K & N filter and a bracket to hold the filter. I received better gas mileage, and performance after I applied the filter.

I replaced the stock chip with a Garretts chip for quicker throttle response, and better gas mileage and performance.

When I had the exhaust leak, I replaced it with a pipe. I also put on an after market muffler for less back pressure and better gas mileage.

I bought a pair of Morong shocks and Neuspeed sport springs for better stability turning. That allowed the car a 2 inch drop in the front, and a a little over an inch and a half in the back after the suspension settled.

For the tune-up I ordered Neuspeed plugs, Bosch Super Platinum spark plugs, and an MSD ignition, which creates a better spark, better gas mileage, and better performance.

All of these parts came to about $1,000. That isn't a bad price to pay for better performance and gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

5th Jan 2006, 15:26

How do you find the stock horsepower if a 97 jetta gt.

9th Jan 2006, 06:49

Stock HP of a 1997 2.0l is 115hp.

But with your air filter, exhaust system, and chip, you must have nothing less than a 210hp rocket sled.

With all the improvements, my calculations suggest you should be getting 76 MPG?

How are you running Neuspeed AND Bosch sparkplugs?

1997 Volkswagen Jetta GT 2.0lt 8v from North America


Great car and Very affordable


The only thing that has gone "wrong with the car, is that the engine light went on because it was low on oil. But I suppose that was my fault.

The driver's side seat has worn on the edge closest to the door because it's where I sit in the seat.

General Comments:

I love my car it handles very well at all speeds, it also handles every thing I have thrown at it. The fit and finish on this car is the best I have ever seen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th April, 2002

1997 Volkswagen Jetta GT 2.0 from North America


A mediocre project car


The passenger seat foam broke and in turn broke the plastic tray below it.

The battery went dead at 35000 miles.

The glove box can hold about 5 sheets of paper, but not the manual for the car. It takes a heavy hand to close.

Both rear brakes seized at 50000 miles. I had to have them entirely replaced ($700).

The antenna has dried and split even though I coat it in Armorall every time I wash the car.

Both O2 sensors were replaced at 55000 miles. ($700) I now have to replace the mass air flow sensor. ($350)

General Comments:

Be very cautious buying a Volkswagen. I replaced the entire suspension with after-market parts to help the car at highway speed (Cost: $2500). It is now lowered 1.5" with anti-sway bars front and rear, Eibach springs, and Koni shocks. If anyone wants any performance out of a Volkswagen, prepare to pay for it. The cars are somewhat "loose" over 70 MPH.

I am trading mine in for a BMW 540i. I've had enough 'pretending' to drive a performance car. Buyer beware.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th February, 2002

17th Dec 2002, 16:47

The Volkswagen Jetta GT '97 looks kind of cool, but it has not been a pleasant experience.

Mine has auto transmission and currently has about 80,000 miles (drove it from the West Coast to the East Coast a few times)

There's constantly a problem with the wheel alignment - after close to $1,000 worth of repairs!!!

Acceleration is terrible!!!

The glove compartment has become disabled!!! It cannot be opened, and no one seems to know what to do.

2nd May 2004, 10:59

No acceleration? I'm assuming you drive a TDI, or maybe the 2.0L base engine. If you chose to drive a diesel-powered car, or bought a car with a 2.0L 115hp engine, expecting to get acceleration, you, my friend, are looking at the wrong engines.

1997 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0 from UK and Ireland


The Czech built Bora (Jetta III in US) comes nowhere near its predecessor in build quality


At 31 months old relays controlling the engine management system and auto box needed replacing. The fault finding took a very good VW dealer (Smith Knight Fay - Manchester UK) 2 weeks to effect for an unexplained random engine cut out. Otherwise superlative reliabilty and performance.

General Comments:

Peerless build quality - the best car for this I have ever had. The Jetta (Jetta II in the US) had only two faults.. the climate control became less efficient with time - probably because the dealerships do not know how to service them and it is not done as frequently as is needed.. also the driver seat was literally crippling.. three years of back-ache for which my only explanation is that the front seats are US sized to take larger sized Americans. Thus the Jetta seats were very very bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2001

1997 Volkswagen Jetta TDi 1.9 turbo diesel from North America



General Comments:

The TDi motor is the best kept secret around.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 1999

1997 Volkswagen Jetta Jazz 2.0 from North America


Not a thing.

General Comments:

This is the best car in the world. Fun to drive, and can fit all my animals!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 1998

13th Feb 2001, 07:53

I bought a 2001 VW Jetta brand new. It burned so much oil that the oil pan emptied in 2000 miles.

At 8000 miles, when VW would not help us, I traded it in for a Toyota RAV4 and took a big financial hit, but I refused to make payments for a junky car for 5 years. VW told us it was normal for this car to burn oil and the trunk being stuck and the blower making squeeking noise. What a pity! VW has such low quality standards. I also have a 88 Honda Accord with 289k ORIGINAL miles on it and still a sport.