1999 Volkswagen Jetta GLS from North America


Never again will I buy European!!


Air bag replaced.

MAF sensor replaced.

O2 Sensor replaced.

Cat. Converter replaced.

Window regulator replaced.

Throttle body replaced.

OEM tires replaced 20K miles (poor wear)

Moon roof fell off track.

Back middle seat belt stuck so tight I cannot pull the back seat down -- ruined the leather.

Interior plastic peeling.

Front cup holder broke.

Rear cup holder broke.

Rear ashtray does not shut.

Excessive oil consumption (1qt every 1500K).

Trunk light does not work.

Heated seats only work sometimes.

Blinkers only work sometimes.

Battery died in 2 years -- FYI VW OEM batteries are not maintenance free. You have to check and add water, which I thought was done when you took your car in for the service. Anyway I bought a new battery from VW that the service adviser said was maintenance free. Less than one year later (in the winter) I was having problems with hard starts. So I purchased from VW my own battery to install myself and I found out the so called "maintenance free" battery I had purchased was not "maintenance free". I just added water and it started every time with no problems for the rest of the time. Just a little irritated when I look back at that!!

General Comments:

When not in the shop, it handles and drives great. It is a fun car to drive.

I had it regularly serviced at the "stealer"ship, but despite that it had too many non normal wear and tear problems.

I finally sold the car this past weekend and resale value stinks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th December, 2005

1999 Volkswagen Jetta GLS TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America


Broken Cup holder

I had to replace the diesel injection system for the second time, costing me $2300.00

The window fell out as I was going down the road - quite embarassing I may add, due to broken clips and a regulator.

The coating on the door panels peels like sun dried skin.

Replacing timing belts every 50k - and a serpentine belt @ 116k

Brakes wear unusually quick

Oil pan came off when I hit a small -and I do mean small pothole in a urban road.

General Comments:

These cars are over priced and VW has a few kinks I think they need to work out as far as mechanical issues - but despite my bad luck, I still love my VW, its just the times it leaves me with $2k in debt for repairs that I'm dissatisfied. I just love the looks and the way the car drives, not to mention the mpg is amamzing - I've been getting about 48 - 50 mpg, and with my daily commute to and from work being about 134 miles one way, it really has payed for itself, as my Mustang Cobra only averaged about 14 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th December, 2005

9th Jan 2006, 15:58

My 99 tdi Jetta car as the mechanics have said, requires a new diesel pump as well as injectors!

I wonder whether to ditch, looks like pouring money- any alternatives.

26th Jan 2006, 16:21

It really depends on how much you like the car. With what it costed me to replace the system, I later realized that would have been a handsome down payment on a new one. I only decided to go ahead and replace it because I plan to make the car last me a few more years, but then again you have to wonder just how many times it'll have to be replaced after this one...

1999 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0L Gas from North America


A true money pit


Blew a spark plug at a stop light at 99000.

Rust in fenders, bottom of doors and corners of windows.

Clear coat peeling.

Inner tie-rod end needed to be replaced.

Bearings in both front wheels needed to be replaced.

Breaks and rotors needed to be replaced twice since I owned the car (Drove less than 50000 km.

Brake lights burn out regularly (every 2-3 months)

Driver's door lock not working properly.

Key in ignition/lights on/door open alarm/light does not function on driver's side.

Rear door, driver's side doesn't open properly.

New Strut mounts needed to be installed.

Bumpers have pulled away from body, not flush anymore.

White plastic showing though interior dash buttons and knobs as paint is flaking.

Seats hold lint and hair like a fly trap.

Shift Linkage needed to be adjusted at 89000km.

Driver's heated seat never worked.

Driver's mirror rusted.

Timing belt and water-pump needed to be replaced and cost over $800.

Lost a VW emblem off a wheel... cost $30 to replace.

Antennae base keeps turning white.

Inside of VW emblem on trunk turned white.

Ceiling material falling apart at rear driver's door.

Replacement parts cost a fortune (After-market are almost half the price most of the time)

Paint has dulled dramatically and needs to be re-painted top to bottom.

Holes Rusted through Rocker panel (Dealer would not replace as they say it was damaged and never properly fixed.)

Gas Mileage has plummeted in last 3 months by over 100km per tank. Dealer can't explain why.

Re-sale value is the pits these days.

General Comments:

Car has not been abused at all and needed all this work at a cost of over $5000 in the whole 1 year and 8 months that I have owned the car.

Drives well and feels solid.

There is no need to spend this much in repairs on a car that is 6 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th November, 2005

28th Nov 2005, 02:18

It was made in Mexico, but we must always remember that it's a German design, built to German specifications with the quality overseen by Volkswagen AG. The head office in Germany deserves blame just as much as the factory in Mexico if they allow substandard cars to be manufactured.

28th Nov 2005, 10:19

I totally agree. There is no excuse for shoddy quality regardless of where the car is made, and it is appalling that even Mercedes and BMW can't get their factory transplants right.

What I find equally insulting is that VW is making cars in Mexico yet charging euro-adjusted prices for them. If I am going to pay nearly $30K for a new Jetta it had better be made in Germany! Otherwise its price should reflect its shoddy quality, just like the Koreans used to.

28th Nov 2005, 10:36

Sounds like the first owner didn't take too good of care? But that said, most of these problems are typical VW issues, which is why VW is one of the poorest rated cars on the market today.