2000 Volkswagen Jetta from North America


Good car with poor attention to engineering of interior items


Driver side window dropped into the door.

Glove box hinge broke.

Front cup holder broke.

Side mirror switch broke.

Center armrest latch broke.

Brake light switch went out.

Had to replace brakes and rotors several times.

General Comments:

I like this car overall, it's just frustrating to see the little things giving me trouble and then reading that so many other owners are having the exact same problem. Obviously these items have design flaws and something should be done to help owners that show up at the dealer for service... warranty or no warranty. I only posted these comments after seeing so many other owners having the exact same problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2006

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLX 2.8L VR-6 from North America


Simply a fun car to drive with great performance


Clutch switch went bad at 2500 miles.

Tensioner at 74,000 miles.

Battery replaced at 150,000.

Engine, water pump, clutch replaced at 158,000 (my fault).

Throw-out bearing replaced at 165,000.

General Comments:

With all these problems, you'd thing I'd hate this car. Wrong, I love it! Great handling, great engine, great ride, and great gas mileage!

Big minus - premium gas (but only 15-20 cents more per/gal, for great engine performance)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th July, 2006

2000 Volkswagen Jetta TDI from North America


Would not recommend


Transmission dead at 12k miles.

Engine clogged up with soot from diesel fuel causing problem with air flow, making car very sluggish at 71k miles.

General Comments:

Great on fuel saver, but has no power, very slow acceleration, noisy, and stinky fume.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2006

27th Jun 2006, 08:08

A diesel will not have the same take off as a gas engine because of the low horsepower rating, but the torque allows you to have a different sort of driving experience. You should have realized that when you bought it.

19th Aug 2006, 13:57

It's a small diesel engine... it's not going to take off quick, just by virtue of what it is; however you get stellar mileage. After the turbo kicks in you've got lots of torque... great for hills.

In regards to the soot, use higher grade diesel...

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS VR6 from North America


Like a woman, a lovable car if you take care of its needs


I had a coolant temperature sensor replaced within days of my purchase. Although I correctly diagnosed the problem and purchased the part using Internet resources, installing it required major front end disassembly (for me anyway), so I had this work performed at the dealership. Warranty took care of it.

Tail light bulbs seem to blow out frequently.

I replaced a clutch on this manual transmission car at about 70000. I've done this on most of my manuals, so I assume its my driving style. Expensive at $950, but not bad given that this has been the only major repair.

General Comments:

I am religious about oil changes every 3000 miles.

At 75000, I switched to synthetic oil, and, no kidding folks, the car immediately felt like a whole new machine.

With Castrol 5W30 (dealer recommendation here in Houston), I saw better, smoother acceleration, and experienced an improvement in overall power. The engine quieted and gas mileage improved by about 3 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2006

2000 Volkswagen Jetta GLS VR6 2.8 from North America


Nothing but a TREND


Minor repairs.

1. Cheap Plastic armrest latch broke at 65,000

2. major rattle in door locks above 40 mph

3. engine sounds like a diesel

Major repairs.

Well non so far.

General Comments:

This car has a somewhat strong V6 engine, but lacks the suspension to support it. I feel as though the car is too jerky between gears. I feel as though the car is reliable, but very very uncomfortable to drive. I'm looking to replace this car for a Honda civic. this car gets terrible gas mileage. 17/30. leather seats are very uncomfortable, they feel like your sitting on a board.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2006

11th Jun 2006, 21:16

17/30 is pretty good for a near 200 hrspower 2.8 V6 you know.

And the rest should be noticed in a test drive, you don't like the seats now? jeez...

6th May 2007, 16:56

What? How come I don't believe the original poster anymore, but some VW fanboy. Realize VW's are pure junk now.

It's the poor quality, not the owners fault.

19th Aug 2007, 17:29

Wow I'm at 107,000 Miles and I just had 3 recalls done to my jetta. it runs better than before not to mention they made my turn signal noise quieter. this car is going to run for ever! Soon I plan on replacing the catalytic converter and O2 sensors. good job VW for the year of 2000!!!