2001 Volkswagen Jetta WOLFSBURG 1.8T from North America


You got to play with your toys


Ignition coils, wire-harness problems and at no fault to the manufacturer the previous owner installed a chip, turbo, springs, and a beautiful set of 17" oz superlegga rims, and they've caused me headaches.

General Comments:

This car is too fast I've had it up to 190 mph and it showed no signs of slowing down it was still accelerating takes hairpin corners at 40 mph, but could use bigger breaks the heated seats are a must, but the monsoon sound system had to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th February, 2007

11th Feb 2007, 15:39

190 mph?

I sincerely hope you mean km/h, because no Jetta can go 190 MPH.



2001 Volkswagen Jetta GLX VR6 from North America


Not a good year, but good for a 16 year old's first car!


My red 2001 VR6 jetta doesn't smell too bad of crayons. but I HAVE had to spend about 5,000 on repairs. Everything from the windows, to the sensor, to the oil pan, to too many brake lights, from the center console, to the heat vents. it's ridiculous. these are not a good year.

General Comments:

Very pretty, and quite fast!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th January, 2007

25th Jan 2007, 00:51

In all honesty, 2001 seemed to be a banner year for poor quality at VW. Curiously, it was also the height of their recent sales spike - 355,000 VWs were sold that year.

25th Jan 2007, 11:28

I guess I'm confused. Why is it good for a 16 year old to spend $5,000 on repairs? Is this car located in the Hamptons or Beverly Hills?

2001 Volkswagen Jetta GLX vr6 from North America


We thought we were getting a great deal! Now we wish we would have kept looking!


We saw the car on Ebay and thought it was the most beautiful jetta ever. The color, the rims, cosmetically everything got an A+.

Drove to Kentucky to check the car out. It drove very well and it still looked great in person. We filled out all the paperwork and bought the car.

We got about 100 miles out of Louisville, the check engine light came on and it started missing. So we called the dealer and they pretty much said "Well, you own it..." However the salesman said he'd pitch in $100 of his own money to help fix it. So we towed it back and the salesman had it checked out.

The coil pack had went out.


Drove back up to KY to pick it up, towed it back just in case. Got home and started driving it and it dropped a cylinder. So we replaced the bad spark plug wire for $30 and the car behaved itself.

I was very disappointed when I first got on the highway in the Jetta. In my opinion it accelerated worse than a 3-cylinder Geo Metro.

The check engine light came on again about 2 weeks later. But there wasn't anything noticeably wrong.

Yesterday, it started flashing and felt like it was missing again. Now we have to replace the rest of the wires and spark plugs, there's another $200.

General Comments:

Beautiful car.

Awful performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2007

24th Jan 2007, 05:21

If you are getting poor performance from a VR6 there must be something else wrong with the car. I owned a 2002 Jetta VR6

Wagon and it was very quick. Pretty close to my 205 HP Saab Turbo.

2001 Volkswagen Jetta GLX V6 from North America


A great looking, but disappointing vehicle!


The car has been towed into the shop 4 times in the past 24 months. The car was purchased at 38,500 miles from a VW dealership in Dec. 2004. Within three months, the car completely shut down on me in the middle of traffic. It was towed into the shop, and the dealership determined it was due to a malfunctioning sensor. 4 months later, I attempted to leave work and was unable to shift my car out of park. Again, the car was towed into the shop and the dealership determined I was in need of another sensor being replaced. 3 months later & while driving through a busy intersection, the car began violently shaking. I was able to pull into a shopping center and once again had the car towed into the shop. This time the dealership determined the car needed new spark plugs, wiring, and 2 new sensors. 5 months later, the car died on me as I was pulling into my neighborhood and I was able to coast into the driveway. Again, the car was towed into the dealership for more faulty wires and another sensor. As I was waiting for the car to be finished, a mechanic informed me that it is critical to have my shocks replaced at 48,000 miles. (which I have never heard of) Needless to say, I will never purchase another Jetta or VW automobile. The repairs and quality of service I have received should be an embarrassment to VW.

General Comments:

Overall, I would never purchase another VW automobile. However when the car is functioning properly I love the handling and cosmetic appearance. I think the car looks sharp and drives excellent. Unfortunately, the reliability of the car ruins the overall Jetta experience.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st January, 2007