2001 Volkswagen Jetta 1.8T Wolfsburgh 1.8T from North America


An almost total deception



I bought Jetta 1.8T Wolfsburgh 2001, brand new from dealer in january 2001. This car is an almost total deception in its reliability, motor and accessory aspects.

Every fall to spring season, when cold and humid, motor stalls, kicks and highly consumes gas. Check engine light is On most and all the time. Dealer changed valves, coils, catalyst, computer, rings... and I still get the check engines light. Warranty is over, I have check Engine on I'am afraid of my next bill!

Dealer says it's my driving style and doesn't recognize the obvious problem with this motor. I've searched web and quite a few others are having same symptoms and problems.

I've filed a complaint to dealer, Volkswagen Canada and Consummer protection agency in Qc.


-some accessories are falling off (buttons coming off or stuck, ash-tray cover, unable to close hand-glove...).

-BBS mags are deteriorating at a very very fast pace.

-wiper motor had to changed twice... in summer.

I do mostly highway traveling; little city and country.

Rest of car is very good : comfort and driving.


Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th February, 2004

11th Mar 2004, 22:24

Hi. Sorry to hear about your deception, although I know someone who actually had the same problem as you. Well, dealers love to take money from people and from my experience their mechanics rely on computers (not all, but majority have no clue). The car being two years old would definitely not need new catalytic (only if you drove over 60k, or ran over a couple of curbs). Rings and valves weird, engine would tap, for the rings it would seize. Although, coils were the problem of most 2001 Wolfsburg. Go back to your dealer and make sure that they changed all your coils. If they refuse call VW. USA and complaint about it. Their fault not yours.

4th Jun 2004, 14:53

I have the same problems I have a 2001 1.8t and it's having problems with it's check engine light too. I am dealing with the dealership right now about this car being a lemon.

13th Sep 2004, 10:00

I also drive a 2001 Volkswagen Jetta GLS. I chose to buy this make due to hearing that they are high quality cars. Unfortunately my Jetta has yet to substanciate this. Since purchasing my Jetta 3 years ago I`ve had a fuel relay problem, a light relay problem, my drivers side window has jammed & once even smashed back into the door. I`ve had to replace my brakes (routers & all) in the back 2 times & now the most recent problem my wipers stopped working in the middle of a rainstorm, which turned out to be clip(NOTE: VW did agree to meet me half way on fixing this & only charged me labor but still what`s up with wipers failing on a 3 year old car). I still love my car, it drives beautifully & I love the look, however I just wish VW would stand by their product more. If you`re gonna pay more to drive a quality car, they should make sure their product is of the quality we expect when buying.

1st Sep 2009, 07:43

My Jetta has the same problems; check engine light, oil light, trunk latch broke, arm rest broke, sun roof jammed open and is now broke, and to top it off the turbo or rings are going and it stalls every time you come to a stop. I hate this car, and don't understand how anyone can like it. Grrrr.

2001 Volkswagen Jetta TDi 1.8 turbo from North America


Don't buy this car!


The brakes went bad at 26,856 miles.

I had problems with the engine coolant system, also at 26,856 miles.

A piece of the sunroof fell off into the seat. I rarely even use the sunroof, so I'm not exactly sure why this happened.

The oil pan pick-up fell off.

The passenger side window fell into the door and had to be replaced.

Another problem with the oil pick-up valve caused the engine to run without oil. Thus causing major engine damage at 31,986 miles.

The turbo seal failed at 47,450 miles, resulting in turbo failure. Exhaust system filled with oil.

The catalytic converter was bad and replaced - twice. This also occurred at 47,450.

At 52,160 miles, it had a bad mass air flow sensor.

The car has been in the shop this time for a month so far. Apparently, the oil pick-up valve and lack of oil pressure is the problem - AGAIN. (Current mileage is 61,000 or so).

General Comments:

This car is a terrible vehicle. And the worst part is that the dealership is refusing to honor the warranty and Volkswagen of America is backing them up on it. I am very disappointed with the lack of quality of this vehicle and the subsequent lack of support and customer service from VW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2004

4th Mar 2004, 18:35

It's really sad to hear such a poor review for such a great car. I think this car one of the best cars I've owned (5 so far).

I get 40 MPG in the winter and 49 MPG in the summer. The 90 hp engine has plenty of power and I've had great luck starting the engine during cold weather (-30 degrees F).

The mass airflow sensor failed, but was covered under the VW warranty (7 years or 70,000 miles). I also had clogging of the intake manifold, common for diesels, but I was using the wrong motor oil. I fixed it myself for $40.

Overall, I love the car!

2nd Sep 2004, 16:02

I've heard bad things about VW, but have yet to experience them myself... I have almost 200 000 km on my TDI and have only replaced the brakes once and performed regular maintenance (ie. timing belt (a little pricey - why no chain?) and oil). My window did drop into the door, but you can easily pressure the dealer to cover this cost since it is a common problem.

29th Jan 2005, 10:46

I agree with your assessment. My 2001 diesel has had nothing but problems. With the cost of the car and repairs we could of had a Mercedes.

Truman Reid.