2002 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 20 of 81

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8 turbo from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

I hate it!!!

Faults:

Ignition coils had to be replaced 3 times. Window dropped from the right side into the door. Water coolant leaks.

General Comments:

I should have never purchased this car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2008

2002 Volkswagen Jetta 1.8 turbo from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

I would NEVER buy another German engineered vehicle!

Faults:

Right front door window "dropped" down.

Coil pack (s) replaced - one coil defective again.

Monsoon radio replaced.

Check engine light on often - carbon buildup (??)

Front axle boots need replacing now - torn.

Temperature gauge reads zero most times.

Coolant light stays on - coolant level in reservoir at spec.

"Eats" tires - front end is in spec.

Dash "rattles" constantly.

General Comments:

This is the worst vehicle I've ever owned (can't count the number of vehicles I've owned in my 60 years). The cost to have this vehicle serviced by a VW dealer is a real shock every visit! The car was in the dealer today to get the "must fix" stuff done, and I'm looking at almost $2500 to get it back to norm (including new tires and timing belt). Had a coil and temp sensor replaced and it was $657. Just recently spent $500+ to get carbon buildup cleaned off something???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2008

2002 Volkswagen Jetta from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles

Summary:

Very good car with a bad smell

Faults:

2002 VW Jetta that has the "infamous" crayon smell. The local dealership has not acknowledged the issue however they have given a solution. This is the similar response to replace the Jute and carpet as the adhesive wax has reacted and created this smell.

VW states there is nothing they can do, however there are a few responses of people getting VW to cover the costs. Please send/post your reference numbers with VW so that I may put together a formidable case.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd May, 2008

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles

Summary:

The car is great!! I love it!

Faults:

This 2002 VW 1.9 TDI has been great. I have read other reviews about the car, and have not had any problems to report. I have had the car for 4 years.

The car is easy to work on if you just go out and buy a manual.

It gets around 50mpg.

The car recently got into an accident, but I was able to find replacement parts through certi fit. When repairing the car I used the manual and it was very simple.

General Comments:

This car handles very well and I would recommend the 5-speed over the automatic. It seems to have a lot more power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th May, 2008

2002 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 4 Door Wagon turbo diesel from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

This car is a terrible waste of money and time.

Faults:

Radio failed to work and sometimes came on by itself. Went to dealership and they replaced radio under warranty.

A year later, the car wouldn't start but lights would work and radio as well. Took to dealer and they repaired electric sensor.

A year or so later, the battery went dead. Went to dealer and they replaced it under warranty.

A year later, the battery went dead, car out of warranty. Bought new battery. OK for a while.

Then months later, wouldn't start. Took to good mechanic and he diagnosed it. First tested security locks and left locked at all times unused. Drained battery still.

Then, pulled out the radio and for last 6 months, there have been NO PROBLEMS without THE RADIO. Inspected radio, there was a sticker - the dealership replaced my new radio during the first year with a FACTORY REFURBISHED radio!!!

Now, I am looking to get a new radio, but local audio installers can't find VW harness and can't help me. The dealer couldn't provide harness either, but offered to SELL ME A RADIO! They are nuts!

General Comments:

It is a shame that the dealership was so unhelpful and uncooperative or ignorant. It is also a shame that this manufacturer gets away with making such a poor product and it is also a shame that folks still buy VWs.

I would never buy or use a this manufacturer's vehicles again as long as I live, and I will make sure that I tell everyone that they should never consider buying or using one. I will be trading in or selling this car very soon, and then I will use the proceeds to buy a Toyota - I already have 2 and they are undoubtedly the best value for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th April, 2008

29th May 2008, 14:26

Your Jetta must be a very rare Jetta indeed! My 2002 Jetta TDI wagon has over 87,000 miles on it. As of this date 05/29/08 has had one glow plug replaced. My mileage in city is 38mpg and can get as high as 50mpg on the highway when driven with a little common since.

9th Nov 2012, 12:03

Sorry, I don't buy it. Look at the countless bad reviews. The original reviewer is in the norm, and doesn't have a "rare" case.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 265 reviews