2002 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 23 of 81

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8 turbo from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.4 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Jetta: why lemon laws were created

Faults:

During low speeds or gear, my Jetta will randomly (about once every 3 weeks or so) start jerking, resulting in a complete shut-down of the car. The ABS and engine lights turn-on. This happened recently on the San Francisco Bay Bridge. Luckily, I was near Treasure Island and was able to pull over, but it really scared me. Thank goodness, my kids weren't in the car or something else like that. I have all those other problems have, but have not heard about this one yet.

General Comments:

I think this might be the biggest lemon ever made. I bought into the marketing hook, line, and sinker. I will never buy a Volkswagen ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd January, 2008

2002 Volkswagen Jetta 1.8 turbo from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles

Summary:

This might be the worst car ever built

Faults:

Water pump broke at 70,000. This was a $800 repair.

Convenience control module (the electronic chip) went bad at 80,000. Because of this, my passenger side blinker stayed on and burned out. This caused damaged to the body of the car. This was an $800 repair.

Trunk latch broke at mile 85,000. This was a $350 repair.

Brake hoses went bad at 122,000. Resulted in replacement of the whole unit. A mere $900 repair.

Water pump broken again at mile 124,000. This is another $800 repair.

Interior rubber around handles have worn off.

Both keys have broken latches where it goes on the key ring. I was told it cost $125 per key to fix.

General Comments:

I bought my 2002 Jetta 1.8 turbo 3 years ago with 55,000 miles. This car has been a nightmare. It looks nice and drives nice, but car repairs are costly (because all parts can only be replaced with Volkswagen authorized parts) and unpredictable. I would never buy a Volkswagen ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2008

2002 Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired52000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carHonda CR-V

Summary:

Expensive and not worth the money

Faults:

Lug nut that needs to touch metal for the car to start fell off resulting in car not working.

Car was slow to respond to shifting of gears. (Ex.: Going from reverse to drive, there would be a delay in recognition of change of gear. Car would therefore keep going in reverse for a little then drive)

Vents in the front of the car fall out constantly.

Seat stains are hard to nearly impossible to remove.

Cup-holders are not reliable and flimsy.

General Comments:

Good brakes.

Big trunk space.

VERY expensive to fix.

Seems to have many problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2008

2002 Volkswagen Jetta gls 1.8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Love the car. But I'm broke from trying to drive it

Faults:

The first week we had it the check engine light came on. They said the Engineers couldn't develop software to accommodate the Reformulated gas in the North east. You would think they would make a car that can be driving in all states. (If they told me the truth) My number one problem is with VW; Not the dealership. They should stand behind there product. I got the run around from them every time.

I SOLD THE CAR, cause I’m broke, and discussed. Never Again will I send money to a company who can’t face the issues of there product. That is my only recourse.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th January, 2008

7th Jan 2008, 16:22

You had the car 6 years and didn't put any miles on it???

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carNissan Frontier

Summary:

If I trusted this car I would absolutely love it

Faults:

Sunroof leaked.

Sensor failed.

Stereo failed.

General Comments:

I love the economy and handling, as well as the cargo space.

Interior is well-appointed.

I'm getting worried about electrical issues.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th December, 2007

2002 Volkswagen Jetta from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance92000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Could not be more disappointed

Faults:

Transmission failure at 90K miles.

Doors seals not working properly.

Problems with the seat springs.

Automatic windows not working properly. 2 Instances.

Had to replace the wiring to spark plugs.

Glove compartment handle broke.

Problems with brake lights.

Electrical problems with the radio.

Turn signal sound comes on when not turning or using turn signal.

General Comments:

My 2002 Jetta Wagon is always in the shop! I thought that I was buying a reliable car with a good brand name when I purchased my Jetta, but if you look at the list of problems that have occurred, there is no denying that this is not a reliable vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th December, 2007

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 265 reviews