2002 Volkswagen Jetta turbo from North America


Super fine


Before buying a used 2002 Jetta, have the dealer clean the drains from the sunroof. My car began flooding with inches of water in the passenger rear floor and a lap full of water from the sunroof.

General Comments:

Overall I love the car. The 2002 standard Jetta leaves much to be desired. That's the rental they gave me. No sunroof, no cd player. At least the a/c works on both, and WELL!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th June, 2006

12th Jan 2007, 15:30

I would like to warn any Volkswagen owner about a problem with the sunroof drain. Not only you should have it checked to avoid major water infiltration, but if you already have infiltration, or have a bad smell in the car, or have condensation problem, ask the dealer to fix the drain and to replace the carpet and sub-carpet of your car. The leak may have been there for a while without you noticing it. I am trying to get Volkswagen to pay all the costs involved with this since it is a hidden flaw.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0 gasoline from North America


This car is very solid


Due to improper maintenance by a non-authorized mechanic while the car was owned by the previous owner, the transmission had to be replaced at 62,500 miles.

General Comments:

The engine lacks serious power, but makes up for it with excellent low end torque.

The interior is a very nice place to be. The seats are comfortable, visibility is good, and there are no rattles or squeaks.

This car is very agile. Steering response is very good. It's great fun to drive.

Gas mileage is slightly less with the four-speed auto as opposed to the five-speed manual or 5-speed Tiptronic auto, but it is still very good.

The air conditioning is very cold, and the heater heats the car quickly.

The styling is excellent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2006

30th Jun 2006, 11:51

Unfortunatly, I think the transmission had to be replaced because of the car not the previous owner or mechanic. I know as the original owner of my jetta since it was new, I had to have the transmission replaced 3 times, all done by the volkswagen dealer. I finally gave up on the car at 50k miles and got rid of it. My jetta has never even seen a different mechanic other than the dealer. It was prob. the car, they are notorious for those problems.

6th Jul 2006, 16:12

I agree with you. My Volkswagen has also been a GIGANTIC disappointment and will be replaced with less than 56K miles on it.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8 turbo from North America


Amazing car, everyone should buy one!


The only thing wrong with this car is that the center console lid came off which was easily fixed by calling the dealership to get another. Besides that everything about it is great. Some parts of the din panel wouldn't light up, but I fixed it myself in half an hour be READING the owners manuel.

General Comments:

I love the fact that stock it has 180 HP. It's a great car, nice smooth ride with great power to get you going. Even in 5th gear (Manuel transmission) at 75 MPH it feels like your going 45, which can be good or bad, but it just proves how smooth this car really is. It takes corners very well, now I'm no street racer, but I do like to test my stuff out. It handles almost as well as an Audi A4. It has lots of trunk space, I can fit atleast 4 golf bags and still have room for more. The black leather seats are comfortable and even come with seat warmers, which are great for the winter. There isn't enough to say about this car besides it's a great vehicle for the preice and I would by another one without even thinking about it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2006

26th Jul 2006, 11:05

VW Jetta JUNK.

I have 32,000 KM and it has problems by the week. The car is not dependable enough to go any distance, and not worry about having it start again and make it home. The car has had all of its services done, and is well cared for.

VW make poor quality cars, and there WILL NEVER BE A VW auto in my driveway again. Not only have we had problems, but other people we know as well. Anyone posting good news stories in here, I would question their affiliation with VW.

We are trading ours because of quality issues and for certain we will never ever look at another VW product.

11th Sep 2006, 20:51

I have a 2002 VW Jetta GLS and have had no problems whatsoever. I also have a 92 Jetta GL, also with no problems.

No, I don't have any affiliation with VW and must wonder about others who slag car-makes when they themselves probably have an "affiliation" with a japanese or american co. ...so, typical.

30th Nov 2006, 21:44

I too have a 2002 Jetta 2.0L wagon + LOVE it. Have had VERY LITTLE probs and am actually sorry to see so much despair here. I do not like the new body styles tho...