2002 Volkswagen Jetta Gls 1.8t from North America


Hunk of Junk


Ignition coils being replaced 3 times, Power windows going bad. Door handles not opening or having to pull HARD to get it open.

General Comments:

Love it when I first got it. Now I can't wait to see it go!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th June, 2006

15th Jun 2006, 15:30

Maybe you should consider a Toyota Camry. Dull, but reliable.

Me, I love my Volkswagen.

20th Jun 2006, 12:52

02 GLS has got to be the best car I've purchased... I've now moved onto a Touareg, but for the reliability... best VW made.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 turbo from North America


Very poor car and expensive to maintain


Occasionally the vehicle will not start. There is power to everything except the starter. I believe it is the solenoid however the dealer will not change this unless they can make it do it. Have had the car towed in 3 times, but still not repaired. (At times after trying 25 times to start it will start)

Brakes need replacing at 70,000 km. Not just the brake pads, but the rotors and pads for a cost of $900.

Oil change and filter is $120.

A spring in the drivers seat came off. The dealer said the bracket holding the spring broke and it could not be replaced. Need to replace the seat.

The tires that come on the car (Goodyear Eagle LS) separated at 21,000 Km and they wanted more to replace them than I could buy them for at a tire store. (Tires low quality and dealer did not stand behind them).

Major service items are very expensive ie the Bio filter is $40 and an engine air filter is $20.

A 64,000 Km service cost me $700.

You can run a Rolls Royce for cheaper.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive, comfortable and very economical on fuel however the cost of repairs and maintenance use up much more than the savings on fuel provide.

This car is expensive to buy compared to other vehicles of similar size and is the worst vehicle I have ever had.

My other vehicle is a 1998 Toyota Camry. Not as much fund to drive, but it costs less to operate then the Jetta and I have about 200,000 km on the Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th June, 2006

21st Jun 2006, 13:17

I don't know where this guy gets his parts or service, but I have 115,000 on mine with no big problems. I had the power window recall, a couple of glow plugs replaced by the dealer, $130.00 and one wheel bearing, $62.00. My factory oil changes cost under $40.00. As for the purchase cost I ordered it from the dealer w/power everything, sun roof, deluxe rims and heated leather. Total cost just under $23,000. At this mileage I still get 45 to 52 mpg and have lots of power. I think you should research your service station and parts supplier.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8 turbo from North America


Terrible, horrible, can't wait to get ride of it!!!


Bought the car in October 2001. 3 months after owning the car, the ignition coil burned out and the car stopped running. Then less than a year later (summer, 2002) both driver's side and passenger side windows fell off their tracks and down into the doors within 1 month of each other. Then summer, 2003 the entire passenger side airbag system deployed for no reason (going 40 mph down a county road in NJ). My wife and sister wear both injured by the airbag system (not badly - thank God). Volkswagen then investigated me for fraud b/c they claimed that there was no way the air-bag system deployed for no reason. Well - after their 5 week investigation, they ended up fixing the airbag system and my entire interior for free because I was telling the truth. I was without my car for 6 weeks. At 35,000 miles (winter, 2006), I took the car in for an oil change and the MIL light was on. An oxygen censor was bad and there were two exhaust welds broken (who knows why???) That was $800!!! Now just this week at 40,000 miles the clutch went bad and this is costing me $1800.

General Comments:

This car has been a nightmare. RUN from Jettas, NEVER BUY ONE!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2006

11th May 2006, 13:54

Exhaust welds break from the exhaust rattling around and breaking the welds or bottoming out the rear end.

A dead clutch could just as easily be driver error as mechanical. Do your homework before buying new next time as VW Jettas have had crappy realiability for a few years before this 2001 one.