2002 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 73 of 81

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0L from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Fun to drive, but has serious manufacturing issues

Faults:

Rear trunk net broken when new. VW fixed under warranty.

Rear trunk would not close properly when new. VW fixed under warranty.

Air conditioning has never worked well (even when I was in Ohio). My old Ford Escort had fantastically cold air conditioning, so that's what I'm comparing it to.

Moments before a Texas thunderstorm, the drivers' side window collapsed into the door. Upon arrival at the service center, they informed me that this is very common and replaced internal door parts on both doors. While doing that, they got grease on the upholstery, broke the inside handle, and dented the door from the inside out; apparently a screwdriver slipped while the mechanic was pressing hard on it.

General Comments:

In general, my Jetta is very enjoyable to drive. It has good pickup when I need it and it's relatively quiet for the price range.

The front seats are comfortable, but the back seats are very uncomfortable for any passengers. The presence of three headrests implies roominess, but that's exactly what it doesn't have.

The seat warmers work well. The velour upholstery always looks dirty and collects lint and dirt badly.

The Monsoon stereo is fantastic. However, the poorly placed drinkholder makes it virtually impossible to operate the radio system when in use.

The seat-angle adjustment knobs are simply awkward and inferior technology. Most other cars have it right with the lever that allows you to quickly readjust the seat angle. It boggles the mind why VW still uses this non-intuitive way of adjusting the seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2003

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS Wagon 1.9 TDI 90 hp from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI 90 hp Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carJaguar Vanden Plas

Summary:

TDI is great

Faults:

No problems yet. Has not needed anything other than regular maintenance (oil and filters)

General Comments:

Best car that I have ever owned. Fit and finish are nice. Seats are reasonably comfortable. Stereo is good.

Fuel economy is great.

Only complaint is that the tires are a bit noisy on the Seattle freeways; the way the tires are wearing I'll have to endure for another 30,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2003

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance16100 miles
Previous carFord Contour

Summary:

It is a great value and a fine car

Faults:

Daughter broke rear ashtray.

Latch for center armrest broke.

Squeak from rear suspension.

General Comments:

This car has great fuel economy. I've had no problems starting it during the winter, even though it is a diesel. It has great handling and control. The trunk is very roomy for a car in its size range.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2003

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2.0 from Mexico

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance11000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

It's less than what the salesman offer

Faults:

- First of all the dealer give me the car with some scratches in the paintwork, one week later they fix it.

- When the day it's cold or in winter when I start the engine it fails for the first kilometer then when get warmer start to run smooth.

- The sound it's very nice for the cost of the car.

- The car it's very slow even if it has the 2.0 Liter engine.

- The seats get dirty very quick (obvious it's not the leather kit)

- It has very nice handling in the curved roads.

General Comments:

It's a nice car, good looking, even pretty, but the performance has a lack of punch. The handling it's just fine and can effort some mistakes of the driver.

The interior it's not so roomy, but quite comfortable.

For the price I pay for it, I think I won't buy again a Jetta, maybe a Beetle or a GTI, but not a Jetta.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2003

7th Oct 2004, 15:33

The 2.0 is the slowest engine option and the Mk IV body is heavier than previous Mks. This makes for the slowest possible Jetta on the market.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.9 ltr tdi from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 ltr tdi Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired88 kilometres
Most recent distance54000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

Buy fire insurance, the electronics are sure to burn it down sooner or later

Faults:

Blower motor for defrost freezes in cold weather. Will not work until car has been warmed up - this makes it impossible to drive in cold weather.

(Car was built in Mexico)

Alarm system is faulty - does not appear to be connected to drivers door. You can open this door with the car security system armed and the alarm will not go off.

The drivers door will not set off the interior lights.

The headlights can be left on with no audible warning when you leave the car.

The monsoon speaker on the drivers door crackles and ruins the sound of the stereo.

The expensive tires on this car failed at 32,000 Km. The Goodyear Eagle brand retails at $200.00 each, but according to Goodyear, they are rated for only 60,000 Km. Dealers do not warranty tires. Buyer beware - they won't fix your flats for free either. I purchased new tires from Goodyear (Fountain Tire) and they provide free flat repair and road hazard warranty. You should also be aware that the factory tires are only rated for dry pavement (NOT snow or rain). V.W. uses them because the Jetta has no governor and can reach high speeds. These tires will run safely at high speed - when new and on dry pavement.

Fuel injector pump failed at 28,000 KM. VW would not provide warranty. It cost me $3000.00 to replace. This included four trips to the dealer. The dealership didn't provide a rental car until we literally screamed at them. The Jetta was eight months old at the time.

The windshield washer pump reservoir line blew off and emptied the fluid onto my lane way. Car was two days old.

The air conditioner is supposed to signal the engine speed to increase when it cycles. Mine does not work and has caused the engine to stall on several occasions - usually when I try to make a left turn at traffic lights in heavy traffic.

Windshield molding shattered in the cold last winter.

Factory wiper blades failed during first winter - car purchased in December.

Floor mat fasteners continue to break - dealers keep gluing them back together.

Front leather seats are heated on a 1 to 5 dial. Only 3 and 5 actually work.

I am sure there is more that I have forgotten.

General Comments:

I have complained beyond belief.

I called V.W. Canada (located in Michigan U.S.A.) and filed a complaint.

I called V.W. service managers and complained, general managers and complained and changed dealers three times.

I followed all owners manual procedures.

I filed a complaint with C.A.M.V.A.P..

This is the Canadian Motor Vehicle Arbitration Plan. I followed through with a hearing against two dealerships and the provincial representative.

C.A.M.V.A.P. is a scam. These people don't even follow their own rules! My rights were violated several times and I was lied to by their arbitrator. I would not advise anyone to use this option to resolve problems with Volkswagen. GO TO COURT AND SUE!!! C.A.M.V.A.P. is funded by the manufacturers and you wave your rights to go to court when you use them.

The Volkswagen I owned befor the 2002 Jetta GLS was a 2001 Jetta GLS loaded. Almost, identical to my current lemon. I managed to make them take it back at 26,000 Km. It was a electrical nightmare and no one knew how to fix it. The problems were mainly in the luxury package and not controlled by computer. V.W. only employs parts installers, not real mechanics with the ability to troubleshoot - Prove me wrong V.W.!!

Anyone thinking of buying one of these better have won the cash for life lottery to keep it going.

If you find yourself thinking of entering a Volkswagen dealership please keep the following instructions handy.

I) Upon reaching the front, side or rear door of the dealership, rotate your feet (body to follow) 180 degrees.

Ii) Place hands firmly over ears to avoid hearing the V.W. sales propaganda.

Iii) Run, preferably screaming back to your vehicle or current mode of transportation.

Iv) Find your nearest Internet cafe or Internet capable computer.

V) Log back on this site and review my submission again, because your obviously not the sharpest pencil in the box!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th May, 2003

24th Jun 2003, 14:27

I have a 2002 and I am amazed, you are having a lot of the same problems that I am now having.

13th Sep 2004, 17:39

I whole heartedly agree with you! I am currently trapped in a 2000 VW Jetta and it is a pile of garbage! I've had numerous problems with mine. The type of problems I've had, are incredibly difficult to troubleshoot as they are problems that you would never experience with any other car.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 265 reviews