2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg Edition 1.8 T from North America


Best car buying decision I've ever made


Transmission would pop out of/grind in 1st and 2nd. Dealer replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car. Its agile handling and quick response is like a breath of fresh air in the morning. Turbo lag is noticeable , however it takes off like a rocket around 2.5-3k rpm.

Interior appointments are upscale (even the cloth seats have a substantial feel). Blue lit gauges and displays are a nice touch, very easy on the eyes while driving at night.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2005

13th Jun 2006, 20:10

I am thinking of buying a 2003 Jetta Wolfsburg 5 spd with 47K miles on it from an aquaintance. Unfortunately, it had been totaled once and indicates that on the title, but has been totally fixed. We've checked it out and it seems real sound now, but there is a dash light that stays on that he says is the "stabilizer and/or traction light". Is that major?

2003 Volkswagen Jetta GL 1.8 turbo 4 cylinder from North America


I worship this car


The small air vent located on the front passenger flooring comes off easily, and some occasional vibrational noise emitted from the left rear door when driving over rough asphalt.

General Comments:

The car is quiet, and very quick. The turbo has such a sweet addicting sound to it. It seats two adults and three kids very comfortably. I used this car to commute from Laredo Texas to San Antonio Texas for work. Distance between the two cities is approximately 150 miles. It uses a quarter tank one way at 75-85 miles an hour. Conquests include a friends 2000 BMW Z3 which I smoked from takeoff. Top speed is 135, could have gone faster if it weren't governed for 135. I've driven it at 125 miles an hour on cruise control while out on I-35 on short 20 mile hops. The engine is so smooth, and the car is so agile and steady at high speeds that it dares you to drive it faster. In short this car is one of the most gas stingy cars I have ever owned, and the fastest I've owned as well. Also the interior has a rich feeling to it unlike my previous Honda Civic. The 8 speaker 200 watt stereo Monsoon system is also a blast... This car is a joy... and I bought it brand new for $17,400. I highly recommend this car to anyone who wants European refinement at an affordable price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2005

24th Sep 2005, 14:47

One should only worship the Lord God Almighty; anything else is idolatry. I do understand how one can love a Jetta. I've been an owner too.

29th Dec 2007, 13:38

It sounds like this post has been created by an employee of Volkswagen. With words such as "refinement" and "worship", you think you are listening to a VW commercial. There is no way you can own a Jetta and have NO problems whatsoever.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8T from North America


4-door rocket


Nothing has gone wrong with the car.

General Comments:

This is a very underrated sports car.

It has excellent handling.

After accelerating from a stop, the turbo lag is noticable for a moment.

It has very quick acceleration afterward, very quiet too. Often I don't realize how fast I'm going until I look at the speedometer.

Tons of trunk space.

It looks amazing with the 17" wheels.

The only negative I have is the poor placement of the cup holders.

My friends are amazed after test driving it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd April, 2005

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg Edition 1.8 turbo from North America


Great design and engineering


Soon after I got it the wire to the third stoplight was frayed and the dealer repaired it.

The rear spoiler broke in the center - probably because friends use the spoiler to open the trunk.

The BBS wheels corrode easily - I clean them regularly with a gentle cleaner and take them off in the winter, but one is starting to corrode already.

General Comments:

I think it's great.

The engineering on the engine is superb, and wins many awards. It's power output is high for its size, yet it's efficient and smooth. The gears are spaced well, but the shifter action is too sloppy. I changed to a performance tranny oil which helped.

The car is fast, efficient, quiet and comfortable on the highway. I cruise at 85 like it's nothing, and still get 29 mpg at that speed. It's stable - I came across a bunch of deer in the middle of the highway and swerved and braked, and the car was stable and safe, and slowed and turned without drama. Many other cars I've driven would have killed me. Crash test safety is excellent, and my insurance costs are low as a result.

Around town, it is small and parks easily, has a tight turning circle and still has room for four people and their luggage or groceries.

I think it's great looking, the interior design is comfortable and ergonomic, and there are many thoughtful luxury touches.

My only disappointment is that the shifter is still a little sloppy and the rear axle is a little too slow to react on twisty roads - it's probably the best torsion beam ever made, but it's how VW cut costs. After two years, I'm still surprised that the features and design quality rival cars that cost twice as much. I'm planning to put 250,000 miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th April, 2005

2nd Jul 2009, 21:44

My 2003 Wolfsburg is at 91,000 km. On checkup the dealer informed me; a new timing chain (band), water pump, battery and stabilizer bar plus brakes. The bill would be over, $3,000. Needless to say I chose two other opinions and all I needed was a new air filter and the battery corrosion gunk cleaned.

10-20,000 Km later was advised the new timing belt and water pump would be required - the cost approx $1,000. I learned these timing chains were bands or belts, but for the new Jetta they will be actual chains. I was prepared to trade the car for a Hyundai, but it will be good for another 200,000 KM.

I like the way it handles it's just a little light with the Rockies strong winds. Also, the standard gear shift - the fifth gear is too close third.