2003 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8 turbo from North America




What a piece of JUNK. Remember the Jetta back on September 3? We got the car back last Monday and the car is already back in the shop for the same thing! The dealership out here in Columbus, OH is awful and I wouldn't recommend them to anybody who wants to have a good experience buying a new car. Nobody wants to hear anything about the car and the dealer actually said to us that we may have to do a dealer buy back on this. The car has been in the shop 12 out of the last 19 days, I see that as being a big problem. I would not recommend VW to anybody. There customer service is the fourth worst customer service in the industry and I now see why.

General Comments:

Don't buy VW if you want quality!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th September, 2003

16th Sep 2003, 18:06

Amen! I feel sorry for all the VW owners out there! It will never be me again!

8th Dec 2003, 12:21

I agree. Nothing but major PROBLEMS with VolksWagen jetta. I don't wish this car on my worst enemy.

30th Sep 2006, 20:09

I love mine. I also love VW's and have owned many for years never getting rid of one because of problems, just for a new model. I am anxiously waiting the new 2008. Our 2003 tdi wagon is awesome and our dealership is also awesome. Sorry you all have had bad experiences.

6th Nov 2006, 13:54

I had a 2003 Volkswagen Jetta up until 3 weeks ago. Some problems I had with it were...

Center console broke, but it was fixed under warranty.

Seat heaters were recalled - fixed no problem.

Passenger door locks recalled - fixed no problem.

Some creaking in the dash.

Transmission slipping badly - I took this car into the dealer several times and they said nothing was wrong with it. It would only slip every now and again at first. Two years later it would slip all the time from 2nd to 3rd gear and from 3rd to 4th.

I traded this car in for a Suzuki Grand Vitara!

On the plus side I always loved the way the Jetta looked on the outside and it was peppy and handled well. Lots of extras for a good price. Wish it would have worked out.

26th Jan 2015, 04:22

The only people who have issues with Jettas are the ones who believe they know it all and don't follow what's said. Mine has 165000 miles, I pound on it daily, but take care of it also.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8T from North America


A High Performance Sport Luxury Unparalleled Vehicle


No problems.

General Comments:

Get armorgloveif available in your area!!

The perfect blend of sport/luxury. Engine/transmission perfect match.

I've gotten up to 33mpg on the highway!!

Definitely get the leather seats - and condition them - it is worth it.

All the negative comments about Volkswagens are from whining people that are never happy and usually are non-Volkswagen people buying Volkswagens - you know what I mean.

Happy motoring and drive safe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th September, 2003

10th Sep 2004, 13:19

Actually, all Jetta Wagons are assembled in Germany, not just the TDIs. If the first character of the VIN is a "W" then its final assembly was performed in Germany.

2003 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8 turbo from North America


Cute and fun, perfect for a college student


The driver's seat sometimes makes a squeaking noise.

General Comments:

I loved the Jetta from first sight, but I read many user reviews and got nervous. About half were very positive and the other half were negative. I was concerned, but bought the car anyway. I have had no problems with the car at all. I think that people who have engine problems may not be breaking in the car properly. The only person I know who has had a problem with a VW had a Beetle. I love my Jetta, and the turbo engine is so fun to drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2003