2003 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8T from North America


Best low cost compact sports sedan on the market!


All 4 interior Door panels not mounted correctly from factory causing clicking noise.

Intermittent Rattle from Sunroof.

Loose plastic trim underneath car (I probably hit something in the road).

General Comments:

The car has the Sports Suspension and 17" Wheels. Despite this the car rides Beautifully for a car this size.

Best looking car in its class.


The build quality has definitely improved from earlier Jettas. I had a 2000 Jetta.

I have had no coil problems, window problems, dashboard rattles etc. (most of these issues were addressed by 2003.

Dealer service is not great. It sometimes takes 2 attempts to fix a problem, but they always cover the repairs even when you are past the warranty in some circumstances.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2003

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Luxury VR6 from Mexico


Do not buy it!


- Springs came out from under chairs, can no longer be adjusted.

- Car consumes oil

- Power window regulators have failed.

- Center armrest broke!

- Cup holders in rear broken.

- Sunroof not water proof. 1 cm of water on the car floor after a heavy rain fall!

- Car "creaks" when going over speed bumps and up driveways.

- Entire dashboard area creaks will driving.

- Door panels creaks will driving.

- Gas flap door.

General Comments:

Nice looking car, but that's it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd July, 2003

9th Aug 2003, 13:53

Wait a minute! It's a 2003 Volkswagen Jetta Luxury VR6 and you bought it in 2002???

I didn't understand, nothing! Could explain to me, how did you get a 2003 Jetta in 2002?

16th Aug 2003, 11:29

Most cars come out a few months before their actual model year. that's how it was bought in 2002. I know the dealerships in my area are already selling 2004's.

7th Aug 2008, 12:10

Just to reiterate, the automobile model year does not correspond to the calendar year.

New cars typically start coming into car dealerships in the Summer and begin to be sold in earnest in the Fall.

Thus sale of the model year 2003 begins in August/September 2002.

And manufacturing of new car models starts even earlier!

2003 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.9 liter turbo diesel from North America


The Jetta GLS TDI is an excellent and economical performer!


My 2003 Volkswagen Jetta GLS TDI has performed flawlessly thus far. I've owned it for almost four months, and have put about 6,300 miles on it during this time.

General Comments:

I'm a tall person, and previously owned a very spacious sport utility vehicle which was very comfortable, but returned only 13 mpg in my city commutes. Although this car was in perfect condition, I found the fuel economy abysmal, and the preventive maintenance requests excessive. I began looking for a car that would be considerably more economical.

I looked at the Toyota Prius and Honda Civic Hybrid. Although both reportedly get great gas mileage, I found both rather dull. There was insufficient leg room in the Prius driver's seat for me. I also thought that the Prius' instrument panel was unnecessarily "unique."

The Jetta GLS TDI was an excellent alternative. Mine gives me between 39 - 47 mpg in city driving, and thus far between 42 - 50 mpg on the highway. It's extremely comfortable up front, although space is skimpy in the rear (as it is with most cars this size). The trunk is absolutely huge, and with the rear seat folded down, can hold nearly as much as my former SUV did. I wish I'd purchased this car much sooner!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2003

27th Aug 2004, 19:52

I have a 2003 Jetta Diesel. Since I drive quite a bit (in 18 months of ownership I have 50,000 miles on it), I can only speak highly of this car. I only get the oil changed at the dealership, I am wary of taking a diesel car to a "Jiffy Lube" type place. The dealer charges a whopping $60.00 for a synthetic oil change (Jiffy Lube here charges 24.95), but the fuel savings make up for it. I average 50 miles MPG without the A/C on, and have averaged about 42 MPG with the A/C on constantly. The power is fine, and is easy to start in the winter.

24th Nov 2005, 19:47

My 2003 Jetta TDI has been absolutely wonderful so far with 51,000 miles. I have required no unforseen repair costs other than recommended maintenance (synthetic oil change every 7500k). Averaging 47 mpg mixed city/highway. While the vehicle was assembled in Mexico, I have found no compromise in build quality!

2 aspects I would suggest improvement. Stiffer suspension and thicker sheet metal (dents easily). Other than that... a fun car to drive!