2003 Volkswagen Jetta GLS base engine from North America


Looks and feels great; but only average when it comes to performance; Need the bigger engine


The only issue I have encountered is that on very cold days, the Jetta is difficult to start (I turn the key and I get nothing). I have found a way around this, I simply heat the key up and then insert it and the car starts. I called Volkswagen to have work done on it; but they said they could only repair it if the car did it when they had it. How am I suppose to predict when its going to be 10 below zero? Why would I make a story like that up. Just fix it!

But all in all, no problems.

General Comments:

The interior lights are Money!

The heated seats are great on a cold day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

6th Apr 2005, 20:00

I'm trying hard to figure out how a heated key could have anything to do with a cold starting problem.

Could you try to explain your problem in more detail?

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg 1.8 turbo from North America


Fast and the Furious, without the NOS


There is nothing wrong with the car so far, thank goodness. Turbo lag is very noticeable. I have a beach house and the hurricane really messed up the driveway with sand. Needless to say I got stuck. How do I know if the clutch is shot? Is the smell a good enough representation? It still works though so I guess I should keep running it.

General Comments:

I love this car! It is really quick once the turbo kicks in. I drive my car like a maniac and love every second of it. It is very practical and the BBS wheels are sick! Too bad the exhaust looks like noodles. I'm just too broke to get a new fancy one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2005

2003 Volkswagen Jetta Wolfsburg 1.8T from North America


Very reliable, fun, nice ride!


(6 Months) The passenger side-rear door lock bracket broke. No problem. Took into dealer, they had me fixed in one day.

General Comments:

One thing they fail to mention to you when you buy a VW is the fact that the coolant systems are "open" meaning that over time the anti-freeze will evaporate. I took my car in after 1.5 years of owning it when the low-coolant light came on. They checked it and said that because I do my own service to the vehicle, the coolant wasn't topped off everytime. So if you don't plan on letting VW do your scheduled maintaince, make sure you top off your coolant.

One reviewer did point out that when you go over a speed-bump or any large object that will cause the car to "flex" you will hear something that does sound like cracking or rubbing. Actually it's the rubber seals that seal the doors shut. As the car is flexing over the bump, the rubber moves around and makes a small noise. You can only hear this if it is completely silent in the car and you go very S-L-O-W over the bump.

My only complaint with this car would be the 13 gallon gas tank. The 1.8T combined with the auto-tiptronic tranmission can be a little thirsty. I average around 25mpg, and I am a VERY easy driver. So it seems that you have to make more trips to the gas station.

If you've never driven a VW you must try it. My Jetta Wolfsburg is one of the most fun cars (as far as everyday driving is concerned) I've ever driven.

One thing though, the service schedule is intensive. So if you plan on letting the dealership do your scheduled services, break out your checkbook because it's not going to be cheap...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2005

9th Jan 2006, 11:44

No car has a completely closed cooling system. Most vent to atmosphere above a designed operating pressure, through the cap. VW, just incorporates the the reservoir into the pressurized loop.

What does the owner's manual say regarding the frequency of checking the coolant?

Regardless, If you lost enough coolant in 10-15k miles to trip the coolant level light, you have a problem. It could be as simple as a reservoir cap to as complex as a head gasket... but I'll bet you just have a faulty hose clamp.

12th Jan 2006, 11:58

VW and audi have different cooling systems.

Their antifreeze is very different from what you get at Jiffy Lube. You do have to top off the coolant. I just found this out on my Wolfsburg after 20k miles. My father who's 60 yrs old told me the same thing the first 2 commentors have said, but you know what? VW and Audi is not a same car as your Chevy or Ford.

12th Jan 2006, 16:09

I'm confused after reading the last comment. Who made a comparison between Ford, Chevy, and VW? The previous two comments simply stated that you need to check all of your fluids routinely. What is it, exactly, that you're trying to argue about?

13th Jan 2006, 11:22

The coolant you need is G-12. It is stamped right on the reservoir.

You also need special power steering fluid. Pentosin CHF 11.S or equivalent is what you need. Ford & Chevy PS fluid will ruin the pump, rack, & hoses.

You also need particular motor oil that meets specific VW specifications. See VW's website for the oil info to keep your warranty valid and 1.8t sludge-free (hopefully).

Don't skip on timing belt changes either!