2004 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 16 of 16

2004 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9PD TDI from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9PD TDI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance7800 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Sunbird

Summary:

I love the car, but the jury is out regarding reliability.

Faults:

The car did not start at 1200 km. The engine rotated when attempting to start the car, but would not start. One of the sensors, I believe the crankshaft motion sensor failed. It was replaced at the dealership after extensive troubleshooting.

The cruise control operates intermittently and was first noticed at about 2500 kilometers. This has been reported as a fault and will be investigated at the first 8000 Kilometer scheduled maintenance visit. The dealership says this problem nay relate to poor dealer prep since one of the actions of the dealer when delivering a new car involves a setting that effects the cruise.

The sun roof control failed in the open position at 7700 kilometers. Fortunately it closed when the security system was activated using the key remote. The problem is reported to the dealership and is supposed to be repaired at the first 8000 Kilometer scheduled shop visit.

General Comments:

When working, the cruise control is the best I have ever used. The speed is controlled within 1-2 Km per hour under all conditions. I travel on business renting cars every second week so I have many experiences to compare with.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th July, 2004

21st Sep 2004, 15:01

You did not mention how you drive your car.

16th Nov 2008, 18:33

2006 Jetta TDI

We are having problem with the battery holding its charge.

We are on our third battery (last one was free, dealer thought it was a dud). We drive with a battery charger and use it at least twice a week. Anyone else having this issue? The dealer even kept the vehicle overnight to try to solve this issue, but no luck.

2004 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.9 TDI from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance3800 miles
Previous carAudi A6

Summary:

A Baby Audi Avant

Faults:

Electronic control of glow plugs failed twice.

General Comments:

After owning 4 Audi's over the years, this Jetta TDI Wagon is no doubt a baby Audi. Performance and handling are amazing, especially for a diesel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2004

2004 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8T 1.8 turbo Gas from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo Gas Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

A small, fast, cute car

Faults:

The sunroof switch cover is coming loose. That is all to date.

General Comments:

I love the performance of the car. The way that the car handles in curves. And the image that the car puts off turn heads and gets me looks from many other drivers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th April, 2004

1st Sep 2004, 12:25

I totally agree! This car takes off! It's spacious, cozy, and cute. Everything I've ever wanted in a car. The seat reclining process is annoying... I have to turn some knob on the side of the seat to get it to recline. Not like other cars where you just pull the lever on the side. Other than that...awesome!

2004 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Year of manufacture2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Faults:

Nothing yet... I haven't actually purchased the car, and will not be purchasing it either! This was just a story about my test-drive!

General Comments:

I love Volkswagen's more than any other car ever made! I grew up in a VW household... everyone in my family drives them and they are all as crazy for them as I am!

I own 2 VW's at the moment. An 89' Jetta GTX 16 Valve and an 83' GTI. Both of these cars are amazing... they drive well, feel solidly built and have been extremely reliable (knock on wood!) I finally decided to buy a new car, and I wanted a turbo diesel Jetta for 2004...I did my research and finally made an appointment with the dealer and this is what went down!

After being ignored on the lot for about 15 minutes (Speedway Motors in Victoria is not known for their service!) I finally approached someone and got on the road. I love the performance of the new 100hp diesel engine... the car was beautiful looking and surprisingly powerful! However, the interior (again, beautiful looking) seems to be made from cheap material... every time we went over a groove in the road, I could hear something inside the dash rattling. When I got onto the hi-way, the wind noise was so loud that it felt like the windows were going to implode. The whole time the sales person sat there saying that the sounds were normal and she drives a Jetta too and that this one is superior sounding to hers! I personally couldn't stand it My 89' Jetta is way smoother and quieter and never makes a sound when I go over bumps in the road! Then, already unimpressed, I turned around and went back to the dealer. When I was turning into the dealership, I depressed the clutch and it stuck to the floor! I couldn't even get it up the slight incline until a minute later when it slowly returned to normal position... the sadDest thing is that the sales rep did not looked surprised. After I parked, I looked at her, handed back the keys, thanked her for her time and marched straight to my car.

I am so disappointed... this is not what I would expect from a car that is $30,000 CAD! VW quality has diminished and when I was researching them, I was assured that their factory in Mexico was among the best in the world! I don't think so, I think they should inspect their factory! What am I going to buy now... I can't stand Honda's or Acura's. Guess I will drive my old school VW's forever!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2003

7th Jan 2004, 21:58

I've just purchased a 2004 Jetta GL and I've got to say I was VERY impressed with the quality of the car for such a reasonable amount of money. My car is quiet and handles very well. I think you may have test driven the one that fell off the car carrier! My advice is to drive one more before you give up completely. Best of luck!

2004 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.9 TDI from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 TDI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13 kilometres
Most recent distance2500 kilometres
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Best economical sports car there is

Faults:

Minor problem with the driver's side window (linkage became disconnected), dealer fixed promptly.

General Comments:

The 04 has the new PD type diesel engine. A big improvement over the old type in terms of noise, torque and vibration. Unfortunately mileage has gone down a little.

The new dash with the chrome is awesome especially at night with the blue lighting.

Very impressed with the handling and sportiness of the car. Can't beat the heated seats.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2003

27th Dec 2008, 15:23

Wait until you get to 150,000 mark!

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 50 reviews