2004 Volkswagen Jetta 1.8 TDI from North America


I kept it partly to see if it could possibly be true that a car can be this bad


Turbo started leaking and was replaced.

Clutch blew while downshifting and was towed.

Water pump and radiator fell out on highway, and it was towed.

Engine started clicking, so the camshaft was replaced.

Shocks broke while driving.

Trouble lights were on at least 4 or 5 other times.

Steering rack recently failed.

Emergency brakes needed to be replaced.

We had this car serviced religiously, did not drive it hard and kept it garaged. Have spent 14000 on repairs. Would have been 4000 higher, but I used a local VW guy. The car rides well and the mileage is great.

Overall the worst car imaginable. Have spent more on repairs than the last 12 cars I have owned or own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th November, 2013

8th Nov 2013, 18:30

Of course it can! If it was designed and built by VAG.

27th Jan 2014, 09:09

Better check the skills of "your local VW guy"... I have several VWs (and several in the past), serviced them at the authorized dealer, and have NEVER had parts falling off, etc.

2004 Volkswagen Jetta TDI turbo diesel from North America


Best car... so far


Never had a problem with this car. Good for a first car.

I just had to buy a new turbo at 122K. Now my check engine light keeps turning on. I think it has something to do with my hose. It also makes a "pssssssss" noise behind my front right tire side. I think it may have to do also with my turbo hose/leak?

General Comments:

This car is really good for a first car. Good on diesel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2013

2004 Volkswagen Jetta from North America


Would not buy another VW


Multiple problems - different problems each time. Hoping this last repair will keep it running for a while, but I have my doubts...

Sometime in the Summer of 2010 - alternator replaced.

9/18/10 - Check engine light comes on. Mechanic diagnosed multiple codes that were related to a TSB. Performed the fix for $278.81. Said he hoped that would also clear out some of the other codes, but wasn't completely confident that it would.

9/22/10 - Making a whirring noise. Replaced 2nd air pump, hose and other related parts. $788.66.

9/25/10 - Check engine light back on again. This time, converter, 02 sensor and related parts. $1241.28.

10/06/10 - My repairmen starting to think I have a crush on him! More problems, timing belt, water pump, and tune-up to the tune of $1175.00.

12/22/10 - I stayed away for almost 3 months before returning to give the shop more money. Error codes again. Light cleared by the time I got to the shop, but ended up getting more work done over new year's holiday. I believe it was a fuel injector pump - can't find the receipt, but at least a couple hundred.

7/5/11 - Wow, almost half a year went by with no repairs. I missed giving my money away to mechanics, so I was delighted when the check engine light came back on. This time, they say it is the throttle body. $1100.

My boyfriend tells me it would be cheaper to buy a whole car than to buy one part at a time. He may be on to something. In the meantime, hoping this is the last repair for awhile. Keeping fingers crossed. when I do buy a new car, it sure as heck won't be a VW. Also lots of minor problems. These were just the biggies.

General Comments:

Running poorly for the past year. Numerous fixes later, and it's still running poorly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th July, 2011

2004 Volkswagen Jetta GLS from North America


My car shouldn't have been this problematic, being a VW


Transmission slips going into 2nd and 3rd gear. When I brought it to the dealership, they said they couldn't replicate the problem.

The catalytic converter has gone out, and even though my car is a 2004, for which there is a catalytic converter recall, the dealership won't give it to me, because they said it's a 2003 and a half.

General Comments:

I really wanted to love my car, but there has been big problems from the beginning. It's a shame.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st February, 2011