2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8 T from North America - Comments

5th Jul 2006, 14:47

I have a 2000 Jetta V6 that's been a nightmare. Last year I went in to the dealership for a small fix and walked out with an $1,800.00 tab. Not fun! Now the car is stuck in park and I've tried every possible runaround just so I could get it into gear in order to take it in to get it fixed. If I ever do get it going, it's up for sale immediately, and no more VW's for me. Transmission problems, window problem, cooling system problems, horrible service at dealership service center.

Never again! I'd ride a bicycle before buying another VW.

28th Aug 2006, 17:39

My 2001 VR6 automatic transmission needs to be rebuilt or replaced according to the dealer. It only has 113k km (about 70k miles). According to the diagnostic code, there's a malfunction in torque converter. This car has had all the scheduled maintenance. How can an investigation be started to determine whether this is a materials/workmanship defect? My car just hestitates or jumps while accelerating. This is safety hazard if I'm in traffic being followed and the car just suddenly jumps.

7th Sep 2006, 15:15

I have a 2002 VW jetta with a 1.8L Turbo and I was recently told I also need a new transmission. I have treated this car so great and it has given me nothing, but problems. I am convinced it is a workmanship defect. I also wonder if we could all file some sort of complaint. Does anyone know how we could go about doing this?

8th Sep 2006, 15:36

I have the same problem with my 2002 Jetta 1.8T with it's triptronic transmission. Been told a new transmission from the dealer is $6K! Anyone know a reputable cheaper source?

9th Oct 2006, 09:57

My 2002 automatic jetta has had intermittent jerking problems since I bought it with 12,000 miles. Hard downshift between 2nd and 1st while braking. In the past week, it is now doing the same thing while accelerating, also between 1st and 2nd. I'm just not sure what to do - I have been complaining about it to the dealer for two years and they can't reproduce the problem and tell me it meets the specs. I like the car despite this problem. I feel like I'm between a rock and a hard place with this car. Give me a good 'ol Buick next time!

18th Oct 2006, 13:15

Oh no!

I went to this site looking to see if the problems we are having with our 02 1.8T were commonplace. We have experienced many of the problems listed by others on this forum including: the window falling, console latch, leaky passenger side door, engine light, host of small issues and now BAM auto transmission won't shift out of 2nd gear or something, just slips into neutral.

Dealer (sub-par service in general throughout our maintenance there) says we need a new tranny (45k miles) for 6 large.

I've taken the car to an independent mechanic to see if we should bother repairing this thing or cut our losses and move on.

My original thought was that it must be pretty rare for a tranny to go in just 45k miles. Obviously it isn't. Sorry for all you guys out there like us, I feel for ya.

25th Jan 2007, 18:07

My 2002 1.8t is generally had an abundance of problems since the first month I've had when the radio died and needed to be "reset" by the dealer. This car is the biggest headache with the following issues:

-Windows dropping in to door (while riding on a highway on the coldest day of the year)

-Consistently overheating due to fan motor failure regularly (replaced 3 times -$300/per incident... and everytime was just past the warranty of mileage)

-Electrical problem with blinking overheating light regularly (I've given up going back to the dealer on this one because they can't seem to correct it)

-Brakes and rotors frequently fail

-Dealers seem to be the only service providers who can fix these vehicles as VW restricts access to parts and information.

I could go on longer, but my car is in the shop and I have to pick it up again!!! Just pure CRAP.

5th Mar 2007, 22:39

OK, looks like the same old problems with the 2002 Jetta. My fiance bought the car in February 2002 and has put just over 50k miles on it. She has had her routine oil changes and, for the most part, has followed the suggested maintenance schedule. She drives it like she's carrying eggs (i.e she really babies it). Just this week, she had a problem with the automatic transmission not going into its version of an overdrive (it's called something different), causing the RPMs to be very high on the freeway. The warranty covers 60k miles or 5 years - unfortunately she's owned the car 5 years and about three weeks. I wonder if I can get VW to pro-rate the warranty. It's kind of stupid that it's "full up warranted" and then completely gone. Shouldn't there be a "die-down" period?

6th Mar 2007, 14:13

If VW doesn't warranty the above repair, take it to an independent.

2nd Apr 2007, 17:51

My 2001 1.8T is in the shop for a regular checkup and oil change. I had mentioned to the service manager that the turbo is a bit slow to 'kick in'.

Just got a call that I need a new transmission at $5.000.!!

How can I be sure? I never felt any transmission problems, (knock on wood) and was never stuck in reverse or any other gear. Any advice to give me? Will get a 2nd opinion as well.

29th Jun 2007, 17:55

In addition to all of the numerous problems mentioned by others the Transmission in my 2002 1.8 Turbo Jetta needs to be replaced at 63K. I tried to have the Transmission fluid changed at 30,000 miles to prevent problems and was told that the Transmission is a sealed unit and the fluid cannot be replaced. I called Vw customer service to ask for an adjustment and was offered a $1,000 coupon toward the purchase of a new VW. I am trying to find a source to see if a class action suit can be brought against Vw.

17th Jul 2007, 21:28

I have a 2002 Jetta 1.8T with 72K miles on it and was told today I need a new transmission. I couldn't believe what I was hearing! After reading all of these comments about the similar situation I am too wondering if a class action suit can or has been pursued. Does anyone have any info on that?

21st Jul 2007, 14:25

Hi. I have 2002 VW 1.8T Jetta with 64,000 miles, and my automatic transmission recently also went out! The reverse stopped working and the car became extremely jerky on the road. There was also no engine light or warning light that came on in the car to warn me of transmission issues. The dealer charged me for parts in the shifter that were not related to transmission failure, and told me it would be an extra $6000 for a new transmission. They did not tell me why it failed, but only that the fluid smelled burnt, even though the fluid level was still okay. They only told me they did not find any stored faults in the diagnostic test to indicate transmission failure.

I called VW customer service, and made several complaints about this, and they were completely unwilling to help, even though there is a 60,000 mile Powertrain warranty that covers the transmission.

Not to mention I have had most of the same issues as other 2002 Jetta owners when I bought the car brand new.

2 separate ignition coil failures, 2 radio replacements, 4 coolant issues, engine oil leakage, and replacement of engine/coolant parts, pumps and hoses. AND MORE! My car broke down 4 times on the road in 5 years.

I suggest all of the people here who are having issues with their WV 2002 Jetta, to call VW and put in a complaint so that have a record and keep track of how many people are having these similar issues.

You can also check service reports, recalls, and complaints on the government website, http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/problems/complain/. I am not giving up and continuing to do more research about VW. I do not think it is fair that VW does take any responsibility for such poor manufacturing and faulty products. I expected this car to last at least till 100,000 miles, yet I have constantly poured money into fixing it.

Don't expect German engineering; most of the 2002 Jetta's were made in Mexico. I know mine was.