2002 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 49 of 81

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS VR6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission VR6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carJeep TJ

Summary:

Won't buy another VW anytime soon

Faults:

I have had the radio replaced 3 times. in 26,000 miles. There have been numerous recalls including the driver and passenger heated seats. A spring came off the passenger side seat. The window controls have been replaced once. The temperature coolant tank and sensor had to be replaced. The check engine soon light has been on numerous times. The front muffler bracket was broken. The rear hatch has a leak. The moon roof had a leak.

General Comments:

The car performs well, but I think I bought a lemon.

I have never bought a car with this many problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th December, 2005

2002 Volkswagen Jetta 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles

Summary:

Fairly high maintenace

Faults:

Bad "waxy" smell began after 40K service. Comes out of side blower dashboard vents - really lingers on outside of car and garage also on belongings when taken out of car after long drive.

Trunk lock defective from the start, had to come back repeatedly until it could malfunction at dealer's, then was replaced.

Thin wheel rims sensitive to potholes, have replaced 3 times in 3 years.

General Comments:

Smell problem isn't being taken seriously by dealer. Coils were replaced in 40K service - could this be causing the smell?

Concerned this points to something more serious in the car. Not happy this isn't being dealt with by dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd December, 2005

27th Dec 2005, 07:43

The ignition coils aren't causing the smell.

Some say it is the rust-inhibitive wax the car is dipped in. Some say it is the sound deadening material under the carpets. It is probably both. A Honda or Toyota dealer probably knows how to fix it.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8 T 1.8 Turbo 20V from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Turbo 20V Automatic
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance109500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Tracker

Summary:

Automatic Transmission Problems

Faults:

I've got my Jetta in September'05 with 108000 miles on it and after couple weeks I changed water pump, t-belt and tensioner, because I believe it was not done before. After 2 month transmission (tiptronic) was out - it started jumping when the gears turns. I took the car to repair shop and it took more than 1 MONTH!!! to fix that problem. The repair cost was!!! $4800!!! - it is actually half price of this car. It has also very complicated computer system. I stocked with this car because I got loan for it in a bank just couple months ago... and also spend a lot to fix with my credit cards. I will never ever buy Jetta again.

General Comments:

No more Jetta for me...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th December, 2005

14th Dec 2005, 07:55

On the bright side, you only have to worry about the engine sludging up and causing turbo & oil pump failure, leading to total engine seizure! This will only cost about $6000 to fix.

27th Dec 2005, 10:06

*sigh*

Another person complaining about a car that has over 100k on it, well 108000 miles. You can't expect a car with over one hundred thousand miles to be problem free. Most of the time, this kind of mileage shows that the car is at the end of its useful life. Now I know many cars go beyond the 100k mark, but you can't expect everything to last, like transmissions. Those who complain just don't understand what they are doing.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC

Summary:

Mediocre

Faults:

Front passenger side window wouldn't come up. Front passenger side vent broke. Something wrong with automatic transmission--car periodically jerks when shifting between first and second gears. Rain leaks onto floor on front passenger side. Engine light wouldn't go out.

General Comments:

The car handles reasonably well and is reasonably comfortable, especially given the low purchase price of the car. However, I have had things go wrong with it at least twice a year that have necessitated a trip to the dealer, and my dealer cannot seem to fix the problem with the (jerky) transmission despite re-setting the computer twice. Given all of this, I do not want to own the car after the warranty expires and don't think I will be purchasing another VW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2005

5th Nov 2005, 20:21

Yes, VW's have that kicking into second gear problem. Listen, about your leak, it's resulting from a clogged sunroof drain. All you do is open the passenger door, there will be a 1 inch long piece of plastic tubing near the door hinge. It is pinched at the end. Clip it with scissors and problem solved. There's more than likely a ton of dirt and debris in there. When that gets backed up, water leaks into the passenger floor (I know, I just fixed it myself) Hope this helps, don't give up on vw's, you'l have the last laugh when that 16,000 dollar car lasts to 300,000 miles.

13th Apr 2006, 09:28

Does anyone know why the transmission occasionally kicks when going into second gear? Mine has done it since I purchased the car and now has 68,000 miles on it.

31st Dec 2006, 09:56

My 2005 VW jetta transmission has jerked when cold from mile one. Dealer claims it's a safety mechanism. Sounds like a crock. Has anyone had success having VW address the problem under warranty?

2nd Jan 2007, 14:11

I have a 2002 Jetta GLS 2.0 litre and it just went in for Main Valve Repair " Due to the Jerky shifting " took VW 3 days to fix and a total Warranty Bill of $2000... also they had to repair some Electronic device for the Transmission. I really hope this is the last time in a long time I have to go there! I cannot really complain about anything else related to the car, it rides solid and since the repair the shifting is flawless and quite fun!

7th Sep 2008, 02:10

I have a 2002 Jetta GLS 2.0 liter. I've been chasing a check engine light for quite a while now. I've replaced parts it said were wrong, but when the last reading said bank one was running too lean, and running too rich at the same time, I knew something must be wrong. Anybody ever deal with this?

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 265 reviews