2002 Volkswagen Jetta 1.8T from North America


Worst car made


Let's put it this way, I bought a brand new Jetta in 02', and I've spent about $10,000 US dollars fixing this piece of garbage. This is the most unreliable car I've ever had, including used cars!

Last week, it was the power steering, literally three days later, now my transmission is out. ENDLESS PROBLEMS. I mean ENDLESS. DO NOT BUY THIS CAR, TRUST ME. LEARN FROM MY EXPERIENCE. VOLKSWAGEN does not know how to make a decent car, and is the biggest rip-off ever. Their customer service is horrendous, and my experience nearly made me cry and I'm a 37 year-old man who doesn't cry. I've considered litigation it's so inexcusable.

Literally three months after it was new I started having major problems, not to mention all the little problems that cost me days at work like brake lights. I've replaced my brake lights 8 times, the wheel base had major issues, starter problems, exhaust, engine stoppage, brakes, power steering, stereo!, cd player, the speakers, I can't think of much that hasn't gone wrong. I previously owned a USED Acura and spent maybe $300.00 fixing something minor over SIX YEARS!

This purchase really hurt me financially, don't let it happen to you. After not being listened to at all, I promised myself I will let as many people as possible know the dangers of buying this car. It is a pitfall of cash. And that's not something you should experience when buying a new car.

General Comments:

I can't imagine a car that's worst, I can't see it being possible. I MEAN IT.



Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th February, 2006

11th Feb 2009, 13:30

I 100% agree. You should BLOG IT!

Volkswagen SUCKS.

29th Apr 2009, 18:38

I can feel the pain, I was looking an ad for a 2002 VW JETTA GSL, TURBO and decided to check out the reviews, but now you change my mind, thanks man, better luck in the future...

7th Jan 2010, 15:53

I have heard of people having trouble with Jettas, but my experience was just the opposite. My 2000 Jetta 1.8t was THE most reliable car I have ever owned! (and I have owned a lot of cars - ask my wife!)

It had a 5-speed manual trans. It averaged about 30 mpg, had great passing power (a lot of torque) and virtually nothing ever went wrong with it. I just sold it last summer, after having owned it for 8-9 years (I bought it new) I don't know if I was just lucky, or what... but I seriously LOVED that car!

7th Jun 2010, 18:14

You were lucky.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GL 2L from North America


My 2002 Jetta's transmission broke at 75K miles. Warranty covers upto 50K miles. It is too early to have a problem like this when the car is regularly maintained by the VW dealer.

VW America told me to call the dealer, the dealer told me to call VW America. I'm very disappointed in the quality, customer service of VW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2006

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 2.0 from North America


Drives well, great gas mileage, worrisome...


I have had my Jetta for about 5k. I drive it often for work and I sometimes drive it hard. I have really liked it, except recently I checked the oil. I checked it about 2,000 miles after my last oil change and there was barely any oil on the dip stick! After reading these reviews, I am learning that this is not uncommon. Also, I got into my car this morning, started up the engine and my car began rocking and the engine sounded like a rock could have been thrown in there. The check engine light was also flashing. Scary!!! Other than the most recent events, the car has seemed to be reliable. I know that the previous owners had to replace the arm rest (another common prob), but no serious problems have been reported.

Other complaint I have is the velour interior is like a lint brush and EVERYTHING sticks to it.

General Comments:

This car handles well.

Comfortable seats.

Nice, solid, heavy doors.

I like that I am surrounded by airbags.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2006

13th Oct 2006, 16:32

I agree! I keep a lint brush in mine to clean the valour seats. I've had lots of trouble with mine.