2002 Volkswagen Jetta 1.8 T from North America


It sucks!


Within a week of owning the car the check engine light came on and it ended up being the battery. Then the glove box broke, then the driver side door was wobbly, then the antifreeze light came on I called the dealership and they were AWFUL to deal with. So I took it to a family mechanic who told me it had an antifreeze leak and the antifreeze they used was eating my electrical system. Now it rained and somehow my car got wet inside and my air stopped running, my brakes squeak and today it over heated and it on the side of the road. All this in just one year of owning it!!! This was supposed to be a "certified vehicle"

General Comments:

I just want to make sure people think twice before purchasing this car. It has given me nothing, but problems. I had a 1007 Toyota and traded it in because it was "ugly" I WISH I never did that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th September, 2005

4th Oct 2005, 09:50

I think VW might be giving some $$ assistance to people that have 'coolant migration'. This has been a problem since the Golf/Jetta III. Have you talked to VW customer care?

15th Sep 2006, 16:52

Has there been any developments regarding the last post on VW giving $$ for the repair of coolant migration?

17th Aug 2007, 22:25

My car had a coolant migration problem which cost 3500 dollars to repair at a dealer. it was a VW jetta 02 TDi. VW said that they couldn't help us.What recourse does a person have ?

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLX V6 from North America


I love it!


Having owned the vehicle for 2 years, I have had to replace the battery 2X.

I was advised by the dealer that this vehicle draws a lot of juice.

General Comments:

This car has lots of 'get up n go'

It is a speedster for sure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th September, 2005

30th Sep 2005, 09:24

The dealer is lying to you. This car uses no more 'juice' than any other comparable car on the road. You probably have a problem the dealer doesn't want to fix under warranty (it pays less) or doesn't know how to diagnose/fix.

VW's O.E. batteries have been for years, and still are low quality. Many VWs also suffer from parasitic drains, sometimes from a malfunctioning alarm/immobilizer, ignition switch, or other electrical gremlin.

FYI, I just sold a 2001 Jetta I had since new. I was lucky and the O.E. battery didn't die on me... but virtually everything else broke. I do feel sorry for the new owner, though, because the car had the most repairs I had ever experienced with any car I ever owned. It was an over-priced unreliable shiny turd.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLI VR6 from North America


It is an awesome car!!!


I have had the AC drain plug back up, and water came into the passenger side, but after that I have had no problems.

General Comments:

This car has been one of the best cars I have ever had. I have had 14 cars since I was 15, and I'm 28 now. I think that if you have had problem, it was probably your fault. All car makers have their share of problems.

This has been a strong car and was raced in auto-cross for two years, and still runs as good as it did when I bought it!! It handles, rides, and is faster than the day I bought it. Go VW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2005

22nd Sep 2005, 12:03

I would have to say that this review is NOT 100% true/accurate.

I have never seen a car delivered with "0" miles.

I have never seen a car with 103k miles that was in BETTER condition than when it was new... especially after ANY auto crossing.

By now the front suspension bushings and shocks are worn, the engine needs substantial maintenance/repairs, and the brakes, if not been serviced, need to be serviced all around...pads, rotors, etc...

8th Jan 2007, 11:17

I do not agree with this person's comment at all! He states that it must be your own fault if the car has problems. Obviously this guy hasen't owned his VW long enough!

When a window regulator goes... its the car owner's fault? COME ON!!!