2002 Volkswagen Jetta Reviews - Page 54 of 81

2002 Volkswagen Jetta TDI 1.9 turbo diesel from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.9 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42915 miles
Most recent distance44595 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

When this car randomly blows up tomorrow, you'll have to pry my cold, dead hands from the wheel

Faults:

After one week of ownership (bought the car 12/22/2004), my hazard lights and blinkers began working intermittently. The first time they stopped working, it was for two days. I managed to fiddle with the button and make them work.

Today, I almost got hit from behind. My car stalled and I couldn't get my hazard lights to blink.

It turns out, it is supposedly coming up for recall in February, 2005 (see http://www.recalls.gov/rrnhtsa.asp).

Three out of the four tires on the car have deflated on me.

When my boyfriend tried to replace the first tire that went flat with the spare tire, we realized that there were no tools with the car. I then called the Volkswagen (VW) Roadside Assistance number.

The VW Roadside Assistance sent for a tow truck. The driver was unprepared to change a VW tire; they sent me a tow truck driver equipped only with the ability to empathize, which I can certainly do fine on my own.

The tow truck driver that VW Roadside Assistance called proceeded to back my car up and drive my car onto his flatbed. I promise I would have thought it much cooler if it had not been my car.

We can only guess that the super handy valve stems are the reason for the other two tires to suddenly decide not to hold air. We were in Maine at the time, making what turned out to be a vain effort to go skiing.

I called VW on the one week anniversary of purchasing the vehicle in regards to the first tire going flat. They told me the tires weren't their problem.

I am hoping that these problems will be resolved on Wednesday, when I take my car in.

General Comments:

All that is listed above comes after waiting an extra day to take delivery of the car, because there was no title.

I was also required to pay $500 for the warranty for this car (although it was listed as included in the price in the advertisement). This included the 112 point inspection that gives the car the 'certified pre-owned' tag, which mine has.

I must drive 120+ miles per day in two states. I paid the money so I didn't have to deal with haggling over the price of the car, and so that I could be as certain as possible that I would be okay to deal with a long commute.

The real kicker is that I stopped driving my Celica because it had one expensive yet bad rim, and a flat spot on the starter.

Actually, the real kicker is what I am about to write. I really enjoy the car and how it handles. The car gives me an ego trip, and I am finding it wears like a glove. Aside from this doomed feeling I now have, I am perfectly okay with the car. And I like being the smelly one on the block, so there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd January, 2005

5th Jan 2005, 09:01

You're the only smelly one on the block?

Well, maybe when they pry your cold, dead hands off the wheel, they'll give you a bath!

22nd Mar 2005, 04:04

One BIG suggestion for flat tires... GO MICHELIN!

I've put 1000's of miles on my vehicles... I've had tire problems before... but put the investment in the Michelin's and NEVER had tire problems. I take that back. I had to replace the tires on my Jetta... only 65,000 miles on the Mich's. Just didn't like seeing the metal!

11th Mar 2006, 12:14

My son has a 2005 Jetta. Just turned over 34000 miles. Tires are cupping, and wearing on the inside. Put 2 new ones on and aligned. ($445) They said the alignment wasn't that bad. It's built with some negative camber they can't take out. So it will always wear the inside of the tires... Great.

4th Jul 2007, 06:35

(I think the smelly comment refers to the diesel gas, not the smell of dead hands)

12th Apr 2011, 21:41

Well I guess some people find it easy to blame on others than learning to do it right themselves. Any car (on this planet you drive) would require a regular check up. You don't know to do it yourself and totally dependable on mechanics, you'll always write negative comments on no matter what car you drive.

I've owned 4 Hondas and 2 Volkswagens. Both have some issues, but VW still has far better performance, handling and durability.

2002 Volkswagen Jetta GLS 1.8T from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8T Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

Worst car ever

Faults:

Ignition Coils.

Seat upholstery is cheap and pills up.

Transmission replaced at 20,000.

Engine Coolant sensor failed. (2 times)

Heat Shield came loose.

Excessive electrical draw from cooling fan. Caused battery to discharge. This took over 3 months to fix.

ABS EPROM lost programing.

Back seat rest came lose.

Washer Tank leaked.

Coolant Tank Leaked.

Center Armrest Broke.

Engine damage caused by problem with oil pump. Engine needs replacing. I am still trying to get VW to cover this. Car is still under warranty.

General Comments:

I was excited to get this car. My previous VW, a 1998 GTI had over 80,000 miles on it with no problems. We needed a car more suited to a for family use so I picked the Jetta.

It turned out to be a big mistake.

Numerous problems, big and small have made me loath this car.

Car handles more like an American Car than a German Car.

The interior turned out to be cheap and ugly. (Seat pilling, lint sticks to almost everything in the car.)

AM reception on the radio is awful.

The only good thing about this car is the size of the trunk and the full spare. Which is really sad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th December, 2004

27th Dec 2004, 12:33

I agree with you about the VWs. I have a 01 VR6 and I had nothing, but problems. I had to have the engine rebuilt because of the cams grinding through the engine and a few other problems. I had to get the alternater replaced, oil pump replaced, and brake pads were replaced a numerous of times. I had a lot of other little problems with it as well. Also I have friends that have newer Jettas and one with a beetle and they have nothing, but problems with it. My car goes into the shop at least 3 times a year for major repair. I hate the newer VWs.

Average review marks: 5.6 / 10, based on 265 reviews