Volkswagen Karmann Ghia Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1960 Volkswagen Karmann Ghia Convertible 1.2 36 hp from North America

Model year1960
Year of manufacture1960
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.2 36 hp Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired225000 miles
Most recent distance235000 miles

Summary:

The perfect auto, and the poor man's Porsche

Faults:

The car is old but beautiful... fuel pump, distributor, battery, tranny mount, brakes, new carb.

General Comments:

One of the most beautiful and economical cars ever produced. The Ghia is a gem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd May, 2011

1973 Volkswagen Karmann Ghia from North America

Model year1973
Year of manufacture1973
First year of ownership1973
Most recent year of ownership1976
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles

Summary:

Best first car a college kid could want!

Faults:

Body rotted out.

General Comments:

A great car! The engine RPMs were about as low as you could get... but, other than horrible body-build quality, a real looker and a fun drive!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2010

25th Nov 2010, 22:42

In my opinion you are wrong to say that the Ghia has "horrible body works". The Ghia is known to be one of the best built hand built bodies in the world! PERIOD!

21st Oct 2013, 17:33

I agree they are great... BUT they did not do much to protect against rust.

27th Oct 2013, 05:30

Even with 60 HP it's not fast. My first was only 30 HP; a 1963 Karmann Ghia. I also had a couple of Bugs, a 69 and 74. I tripled my money on my only Karmann Ghia. I also had a 75 Bug, which was junk, that I picked up later. In that era, the 73 and 74 were the best in my opinion, between the ones I had and my dad's 73. I would rather have the straight Beetle vs any of them. The Super Beetle had a longer wheel base, but it was expensive to fix the front end suspension. It was good to have a heater blower. Took a while to stay warm in the winter. These cars were great in snow and did not overheat in the summer with air cooling. They were reliable, but needed to go in the dealer for various small things and clutch adjustments.

1969 Volkswagen Karmann Ghia Convertible 1.6 from North America

Model year1969
Year of manufacture1969
First year of ownership1979
Most recent year of ownership1981
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Previous carTriumph Spitfire

Summary:

A non-stop action-adventure car

Faults:

Most of the problems were due to accidents: rear-ended, hit a curb, front-ended (light) and rusted floorboards.

Typical maintenance issues.

General Comments:

Got this car when I was nineteen for $1000 in 1979 from a musician who had spent a lot of money fixing it up. It was my most memorable car and a favorite of friends and family.

The convertible top and doors had been upgraded to a later model Ghia with the glass rear window.

Had a two-barrel carb said to be from a Ford Pinto. Dual-point distributor and header exhaust. Porsche 914 style wheels. The engine was rebuilt to 1800cc. Hurst shifter.

This car was a blast to drive and very, VERY easy to maintain. It was surprisingly fast with an unofficial 0-60 in 8 seconds.

I was young with limited funds and resources and made a lot of dubious "improvements" - wood dash, padded door panels, ordinary house carpeting. I bolted in newer seats from a Japanese car. It probably looked awful but I loved it.

I drove this Ghia all over the United States in all kinds of weather - 22 of the 50 states.

The convertible top made it for me - the hardtops never had the same appeal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st December, 2009

13th Feb 2010, 18:53

I'm the original poster. I don't know how my review got a blue, "frowning face." It should have been a yellow smiling face. Owning this car was a very positive experience.

1968 Volkswagen Karmann Ghia 1.5 from North America

Model year1968
Year of manufacture1968
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired168000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles

Summary:

A well used Ghia

Faults:

The car was purchased from my aunt who bought it new. The car was driven 350 miles get it home.

The body was cancer (rust) ridden and the floor hung down on drivers side. The car was taken to a mechanic who specialized in older VWs. The mechanic recommended replacing the engine - upgraded to a 1600cc engine. The automobile was really in need of a total restoration and possibly only good for parts - but my sister who purchased the car sight unseen continued to spend money on it. It was later found that someone took a cutting torch to the drivers side heater channel and cut it out completely, thus taking away most of the structure strength on the drivers side.

Eventually the car became a money pit and was sold to a young neighbor kid who kept it a very short time and traded it in on a Jetta. Hopefully someone with an interest in restoring it bought it.

General Comments:

Considering its age and condition, it managed to drive a seven hour trip without incident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2009

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 12 reviews