1999 Volkswagen Passat S 1.9 TDi from UK and Ireland


A class above most others


Passenger seat belt is holding occupants tight in their seat and refusing to release.

Separate radiator fan for air conditioning is noisy.

General Comments:

I love this car.

After having a succession of lower quality company cars circumstances forced me to buy my own.

I brought my Passat without hesitation and although I have only had it for a short time it has proven to be the best built, quietest, best made and generally nicest car I have ever owned.

One of my favorite features is the blue dashboard lights which I cannot understand why other manufacturers haven't picked up on yet.

I do not know much about the service costs as the car was fully serviced when I brought it, but I don't think it will be particularly cheap, so I will be looking for a Volkswagon specialist.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2002

22nd May 2003, 04:24

VW hold the rights to the blue lights design for a number of years so until their designated time is passed nobody will be rip off the design.

23rd Oct 2003, 12:21

I have just completed 92,000 miles in it.

I still stand by the fact that it's a great car in every way.

A couple of things have gone wrong in the past year, but nothing serious and most of it was self inflicted.

I have found out that its not a good idea to hit fully grown deer at 80mph, they tend to cause a lot of damage!!!

1999 Volkswagen Passat GLS 2.8 V6 30 valave from North America


The could be a great car, but it lacks fit, finish and reliability


The power window switches don't behave properly. Press the down direction and the window goes down... or up... or nothing at all. Volkswagen says there's nothing wrong with the switches.

The vacuum hoses have gone bad. I paid to have them replaced, only to find out that they had been recalled. Refund was hard to get.

At 60,000 the engine jumped timing. Luckily, I had purchased an extened warranty (can't recommend this enough). The repair cost me $25 but was over $5000 dollars worth of work. The car was in the shop for 7 long weeks.

General Comments:

The engine has lots of power especially with the manual transmission.

The car looks good and is very quiet in the cabin.

Lots of room.

The blue and red dash board are very cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2002

8th Nov 2004, 09:07

My 99 GLS has the same problem with front electric windows. Service says it's just touchy.

1999 Volkswagen Passat LS 2.8 V6 from North America


Outrageous value for the money


Minor squeal from steering wheel, especially when turning it to the right. Dealer unable to fix.

Minor brake squeal.

"Check Engine" light came on at 5000 miles. Dealer reset it, came back on the same day. Dealer eventually replaced most of the ignition system, including the computer (under warranty) and the car has been trouble-free ever since.

General Comments:

The Passat is a well-engineered premium family car: reliable, comfortable, fast and fun to drive. The trunk is surprisingly large (much larger than you'd think from the outside).

If I were to do it over again I'd choose the manual transmission -- the TipTronic is a nuisance, not worth the price premium.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2002

5th Jan 2003, 02:09

The squeeling only comes from the steering wheel when it's hot, this also happens in my mums Golf.

12th Feb 2003, 13:47

I bought my 1999 Passat wagon (5-speed manual trans) in 2001 with 16k miles on it. It now has 35k. It has always made a squeaking/grating noise when in reverse - in particular when turning the wheel while in reverse (parallel parking). Very loud and annoying - dealer cannot fix it. Don't know if its the brakes or transmission. Anyone else experience this problem? Besides this, it's a great zippy car, especially for a wagon. And the 5-speed rocks.

1999 Volkswagen Passat GLS V6 from North America


A beautiful headache


24,000 CV Boot

32,000 Water Pump

52,000 Front Rotors

64,000 Vacuum Hoses.

General Comments:

Well, I do like my car, but there is no doubt that it is fairly expensive to own. I baby my vehicles, take them to the dealership every 5,000 miles (well, I USED TO, but I'll get to that later). Do all the scheduled maintenance, and things still seem to go wrong. The front rotors are atrocious. I was told that they were made to wear to make them quiet, which is utter BS. Mind you, 80% of my driving is highway. So instead of putting more crap on my car, I went with aftermarket, which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Consequently, I have had no problems.

Second, the car seems to creak a little more than I would expect. The armrest has creaked since the 12 month mark, and the console makes annoying rattles whenever going over the slightest bumps.

Also, the steering wheel makes a funny noise only when turning to the right. Finally, the engine makes a clicking noise that I think was caused when the water pump went bad - but I can get not affirmation to this.

Third, the dealerships are horrid! These folks are plugging bubble gum in every leak they possibly can because they realize they are selling crap, they just don't want to admit it. They also are a complete ripoff. Read your owners manual to see what "Work" they are doing. Check this, look at that, replace a filter, oh that will be $350. Excuse me, no thanks. Good bye, Mr. Dealer. You can do most of the work by yourself with just a little information, and a flashlight. The rest can be done by a reputable local mechanic minus maybe engine work.

Well, I warn you, this is a beautiful car, but I cannot recommend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th June, 2002