2000 Volkswagen Passat GLX V6 from North America

Summary:

Not worth the trouble and expense

Faults:

At 80K and 9 years, everything is falling apart.

General Comments:

This car is a money pit. It was a steady list of expenses for the first 80K, then the car seemed to completely fall apart.

I had hoped in 2000, VW had corrected their quality issues, but I can see from this years reviews they still don't have it right.

This car has turned out to be as reliable as a Chrysler, but more expensive to fix. I'm sticking with Honda and Toyota from now on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th August, 2009

2000 Volkswagen Passat Wagon 1.9T from North America

Summary:

Never again will I own a VW

Faults:

We averaged about $2000US annually on "fixes" for this car until the most recent problems - the timing belt going out at 91000. If I was the original owner, VW would have been responsible for fixing the car (up to 100K miles) - but since I was the second owner - my only recourse was putting a new engine in it at my expense - nice little $5K fix.

General Comments:

I would not purchase a VW in an area that only has once dealership and limited "experts" in the area. As with most German cars, they are great feats of engineering and very fun to drive when they are working - but also very costly to keep them running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th June, 2009

12th Oct 2009, 15:46

You waited too long to replace the timing belt. Most experienced VW mechanics recommend replacing the belt between 60-80K miles.

31st Jul 2012, 12:43

Timing belt in my Toyota was original, and was replaced at 225k miles.

2000 Volkswagen Passat 1.8 turbo from North America

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Small tube that burst due to wear in the engine, caused the "Check Engine" light to go on. $80 dollar repair for a plastic tube about 6 cm long.

Headlight beam is off, headlights not very powerful overall.

Faulty dash lights.

5/8 speakers actually work.

General Comments:

Car is very comfortable, has very good suspension.

The very basic dashboard has everything I could possibly want on it, and it is very easy to find what you're looking for without being distracted.

1.8 turbo engine may be slightly underpowered, however it has more than enough for highway+city driving. Tiptronic also helps.

Attention to detail is nice, metal door handles and every occupant has his/her own headrest, reading lamp.

Heated front seats and has four standard airbags.

Speakers sound great, even if only 5 out of 8 actually work.

Some dash lights don't work, I don't really mind.

Multi-function trip computer comes in use, shows instant consumption, average consumption, average speed, driving time, driving distance, outside temperature, and gives warnings as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2009

2000 Volkswagen Passat from North America

Faults:

Our 2000 VW Passat has 96,000 miles and the engine just blew. We always took care of it and brought it in for regular maintenance and tune-ups. Of course, VW won't stand behind their engine.

We highly recommend staying away from this vehicle!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd March, 2009

2000 Volkswagen Passat 20v turbo from North America

Summary:

Headache

Faults:

The emission workshop popped out when my transmission wasn't working well. I've already got it fixed but the light (emission workshop!) is still on... will my car break down sooner or later?

The rear right brake has problems... the brake is loose.. How do I tighten it? Do I have to take it to a shop or I can do by myself?

General Comments:

It's pretty fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th January, 2009

2000 Volkswagen Passat GLS 1.8 turbo from North America

Summary:

A sporty family wagon that will protect you in a crash better than a dump truck

Faults:

Emission Workshop... Secondary air pump.

General Comments:

I think the 1.8T engine is the best engine I have ever seen. Great power and torque. The handling is super nice, comfort is OK, The electronics in the car are the weak point. Generally tho, I've put over 70.000 KMS on this car and I'm sure I will get another one after this one dies. Also I think the Tiptronic 5spd automatic is a great transmission. If fuel prices weren't so high I'd stick with this forever but I'm looking for a diesel one now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2008