2007 Volkswagen Passat Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2007 Volkswagen Passat 3.6T 280 HP from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 280 HP Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carGMC Envoy

Summary:

I would not recommend the Passat 3.6 to anyone!

Faults:

The seats (the sports package) were miserable from the very start. We took a 1,000 mile round trip, and we were squirming after the first 100 miles. The seats are very rigid and do not conform to the body.

The dash has numerous rattles and rubs, and they differ depending on the temperature outside. Part of the problem is likely the cheap plastics used on much of the dash in this $35,000 + automobile, and where they meet the polished aluminum, the results are horrid.

We are bitterly disappointed in the vehicle. My husband and I have both owned VW products in the past and have been very happy with them, but we would not recommend the 2007 Passat with the sports package to our worst enemy. The dealer tried to fix the problems, but it was too much for them, too.

General Comments:

This is a wonderful car as far as handling, speed, and the steering is fabulous, but when the driver is uncomfortable and being bombarded by rattles and squeaks, it overrides the pluses.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th April, 2008

14th Jun 2009, 07:13

I bought a 2006 Passat 3.6 Sport package about 2 months ago, and so far we love this car. I haven't had a single problem, and it rides so good and comfortable.

2007 Volkswagen Passat 2.0T 2.0T FSI from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0T FSI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired17 kilometres
Most recent distance5850 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

You can't go wrong with a stick shift B6 Passat

Faults:

Airbag fault light came on at 1200 km - this was due to having one of the front trim panels out and disconnected from the rest of the car.

General Comments:

I special ordered this car just before the cutoff for the 2007 production year because VWoA was doing away with the sport package for 2.0T cars. The 3-month wait was well worth it! The 6-speed manual transmission paired with the 2.0T FSI 16-valve inline 4 really makes this car GO! The seats that come with the sport package keep you well supported when you are in curves or making turns.

The electronic parking brake and the push-in key fob are the two features that you will have to get familiar with quickly, since they work differently from those found in most other cars. There are many other features that you will need to get familiar with, but you get a DVD that outlines these once you pick up the car.

You will have to spring for premium fuel and synthetic oil for best performance. Also, with the standard tires found on models equipped with the sport package, you can spin them without too much effort.

If this car is built as well as my previous 1986 Golf was (22 years, 460 000 km), I will be driving my Passat for many years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2007

2007 Volkswagen Passat 2.0 turbo from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance2400 miles
Previous carSAAB 9-5

Summary:

Never again... back to Saab or BMW

Faults:

1. Rattles in dash

2. Poor design - cruise handle and directional lever same size shape - confusing, chrome interior parts - reflection from sun is blinding

3. Engine stumbles and has HUGE turbo lag

4. Tires are noisy and have poor road feel

5. Poor headlights and high beams.

6. Lousy vent locations and adjustability, especially for Phoenix

General Comments:

Nice at first glance, but the warts come out fast..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th September, 2007

9th Sep 2007, 17:19

To say that the 2.0T motor in the Passat has turbo lag is to insult true turbo lag, unless your car isn't running well.

The 2.0T has little to no turbo lag, certainly much less than any SAAB. I would know, I have one, and have driven both.

20th Sep 2007, 09:16

I have to agree with the first comment that something must be wrong with your Passat if it has "HUGE" turbo lag. VW's turbo four was designed not to suffer from turbo lag. This is still a new car, take it back and make them do something about it!!

2007 Volkswagen Passat 2.0T 2.0 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance6500 kilometres
Previous carFord F350

Summary:

Awesome car

Faults:

Nothing yet!

General Comments:

When I tried the car, I fell in love with it and bought it. I loved the acceleration. It is extremely quick and handles extremely well. I pushed it to the limit on the highway and got a maximum speed of 215 km/h or 125 mph.

Even at that speed, the handling was fine. I even drove 14 hours with it, and did not get any back pain and was not even tired. The sound system (6 CDs) is by far the best I have heard so far. The sound is extremely pure.

The air conditionning does a good job at maintaining the temperature even when we had a 36 degrees hot humid summer. All buttons in the cabin are easy to figure out and are well placed. I have not experienced a breakdown yet (touching wood!). I have read in other reviews that there is wind noise coming from the driver's side mirror. I have to admit, there is a noise coming from there, but barely noticeable. Design problem? doesn't bug me anyway. And I love those LED lights!!!

Overall, it is a lovely car to drive, and it is well equipped for a fair price.

More comments to come in 6 months

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th August, 2007

22nd Jan 2008, 10:02

Update on my initial comments. The car is now at 20000 km (12,000 miles) and is still awesome to drive. I drove a pontiac as a rental for two weeks and it wasn't too bad. Once I got back in my passat, oh my god, the pontiac was suddenly crap. This 07 passat is a jewel to drive. So far, I did not experience any problems with the car, except a airbag light coming on once a week for a couple minutes. I'll get it checked out at the next oil change. Overall, I do not regret my purchase and definitely recommend you to buy one!!!

17th Jan 2009, 13:28

Another update on my Passat.

Well, it's been a year since my last update. The car is now at 36,000 kms (22,000 miles). Had a small problem with the airbag light, which the dealer found that the passenger seatbelt mechanism had to be replaced. Beside that, I still love the car. Climbed a big mountain last week to get to the ski resort. While everybody was putting chains on tires, hey I'm Canadian, I thought I'd give it a try without the chain. Well I made it to the top, the car performed very well going up, the computer managed to control the slipping wheels and send power to the other... on the original sport tires!!

Overall excellent car. So far...

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews