2007 Volkswagen Rabbit Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2007 Volkswagen Rabbit from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Love it!

Faults:

Nothing wrong so far as the car is new.

General Comments:

I like the style of the Rabbit - it's classy and purposeful without being overwrought.

The ride and handling are great and it is totally comfortable for me (I'm 6'6").

It just seems to be such a well-thought-out design. The interior fit and finish, controls and instrumentation are perfect.

But hey, it's new and we'll see how things go.

It's also a dream to drive on the freeway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th May, 2007

15th May 2007, 12:08

Yes, please give us periodic updates. Once every couple of years should be fine.

13th Sep 2007, 09:20

If you're pleased with the car, why the neutral face instead of the happy face?

2007 Volkswagen Rabbit 4dr 2.5L I5 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L I5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles

Summary:

Great car for the Money!

Faults:

No issues except wish it had more storage compartments in the front.

The radio reception not strong, but not bad.

General Comments:

The Rabbit is a great car in this price range. I drove some of the Japanese imports and this car beats them all as far as power, handling and ride are concerned. It's very solid and well planted as most German cars are. It's not "tinny." For the options you get, the price is right! I bought this car as a commuter car and have not been disappointed. It fits you like a glove when you drive it! Some are complaining about the gas mileage... but you can't compare it to Civics, Mazda3s, and the Yaris... etc as the horsepower and torque blow those all away. They are not in same class! You want to drive a lawnmower... then buy a Yaris or Fit!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2007

17th Apr 2007, 17:28

I just bought my Candy White Rabbit on March 31st 2007. I love this car! However I want to wait after one year to give a review.

18th Apr 2007, 07:14

I'm not saying the Rabbit is a bad car, but AutoWeek just did a review of it including owners' input. The Rabbit was beaten in all categories (handling, gas mileage, acceleration, etc.) by the Mazda 3s. The Rabbit has a nicer interior, but that's about it. It's also heavier. And its reliability is unproven, although it thankfully is made in Germany instead of Mexico. Plus, the euro is killing its price - this car really should be priced from $13k, similar to the Civic.

I hope VW has turned a corner with this car as far as reliability. If that is the case they actually may have a winner for once.

2007 Volkswagen Rabbit 2-Door 2.5 Litre 5-Cylinder from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Litre 5-Cylinder Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance6800 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Wed Wabbit

Faults:

My 2007 Volkswagen Rabbit is a superb car. It handles great, the brakes are strong, and it has enough pep to get it going. One problem that I did have that forced me to go back to the dealership was the brakes. They began to squeak extremely loudly at around 4000 miles. So I took the car to the dealer and they said that it was just normal brake noise, a problem common to Volkswagens'. I took the car back a week later because the noise continued. They then realized that my rear pads had only 50% of the pad left! They came to realize that the rear calipers weren't releasing enough from the rotor when I applied the brakes. Even when I was accelerating, the pad would be rubbing against the rotor. They ended up replacing the brake pads, rotors, and calipers, and for now the problem seems to be fixed...we will see. They said that this was a problem with '06 & '07 Rabbits, and that it is still an ongoing issue. I hope this helped anyone out there.

General Comments:

This car drives great. It handles nicely and feels like a true German car. These cars are very inexpensive too. With all the standard features they come with, the price is still under $20K. My '07 tornado red Rabbit, with upgraded 17" Vision alloy wheels, mudguards, Monster mats, and darker tinted windows and still came to only $18,680! I would definitely recommend buying a Rabbit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2007

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 11 reviews