2007 Volkswagen Rabbit Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2007 Volkswagen Rabbit 2.5L from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired174 miles
Most recent distance1750 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

I am really enjoying it!

Faults:

So far nothing has gone wrong with this vehicle. I have had it less than a month.

The gas mileage is okay, but not great. I average 25 mph mixed city/highway

General Comments:

The car handles nicely. This engine is certainly no dog.

So far in snowy conditions the ASR (anti slip reduction) braking element have been helpful in slush and ice.

I am enjoying the heated seats at minus 32 degree F weather conditions, as well as the heated window wash nozzles.

I love having a sunroof. The sunroof has many settings. It opens to several degrees. You can just crack it to having it completely wide open, and any combination of tilt up and open. The sun screen below the window also has a vent opening if you want the window open, but wish to have the light blocked or more privacy.

I love the lighting in the instrument panel.

The stereo is decent (6 CD in dash), it doesn't sound too tin can like or muffled.

I feel that it has a good safety record and plenty of airbag support for a smaller car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2007

18th Feb 2007, 21:20

Nice to hear you're enjoying your new car. Please keep up posted with periodic updates.

2007 Volkswagen Rabbit 2.5 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13 kilometres
Most recent distance4000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

This car is a winner

Faults:

So far, there has been nothing wrong with the car since I bought it in November 2006. Everything is working as it should.

General Comments:

I love this car. The handling is great.

Driving with the Tiptronic transmission is lots of fun and it allows freedom to switch back to fully automatic if desired.

The seats give a very comfortable ride. Not too stiff and not too mushy.

The hatchback is great. With the rear seats folded down, lots can be put in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2007

2007 Volkswagen Rabbit 4 Dr 2.5L Gas from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5L Gas Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired24 kilometres
Most recent distance5100 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Love the car and would buy another one without hesitation

Faults:

Nothing yet.

Plastic is a bit soft in the car and marks easily.

General Comments:

Love the car. Fit, finish, noise, are all excellent.

I have never driven a better car. The acceleration and handling is amazing. I am more and more impressed every day I have it. I get lots of comments on the car and people asking me how I like it.

Cabin has ample space even for tall people in the back seat.

Feature-loaded. I added wheels and a sunroof; that's it. The wheels make the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2006

25th Sep 2006, 11:27

Please give us periodic updates to state how your car's been holding up. Once every couple of years should suffice. Thank you.

2007 Volkswagen Rabbit 2 door 2.5 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance960 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Sexy

Faults:

I purchased the car July 31, 2006. Nothing has happened to the car.

General Comments:

The car is quick, smooth, has a comfortable ride, and a great sound system. It blocks out city noise and especially the cars next to me. At night the dash lights are awesome. I get more compliments every day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th August, 2006

15th Aug 2006, 12:22

Keep us informed as your car racks up the miles. I'd like to know if VW is addressing recent quality issues (and I like to hear how the new 2.5 engine is).

8th Jan 2007, 13:20

Jan 8/2007, My friend just received his VW Rabbit 2 door (Sage Green) on Jan 5/2007. This is a beautiful automobile. He has a 5 speed manual transmission and all of the toys except a leather interior.

The car's colour is cool. It's a slight green in the daylight and at night, it looks like it's dark grey. The car is very quick with a lot of torque. As a passenger, I didn't notice him struggling with torque steer.

The trademark VW blue and red lighting is there. Very nice.

He has the 2.5 L 5 cylinder engine. Very smooth and quiet. I didn't even hear the car start!

High quality interior assembly and comfortable seats. When I tried sitting in the back seat, it felt roomier back there than it does in my 2003 Pontiac Grand AM.

Let's see if VW has addressed it's quality issues though. My dad has a 2006 Jetta TDI which has had a few electrical malfunctions, burned out turn signals, tail lights, etc.

Very nice looking car.

16th Feb 2009, 13:52

The Jetta and Golfs (current ones that were launched after the rabbit for NA) are all still being produced in Mexico, hence the problems.

The rabbits are the only ones currently (as of 06) being produced and shipped from Germany, and will be as reliable and perform as a German car should.

I had an 84 Rabbit L and after that car I swore off VW's. This past weekend I test drove a new Rabbit and was amazed at the performance and fit & finish. Easily a car I'd buy over the Golf or Jetta.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 11 reviews